We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 9, 2011

When traveling in a country with many sub-par hotels, it was like reaching heaven when we found Cuna del Angel. The hotel is immaculate, the beds very comfortable and the grounds, gorgeous. There are so many extra touched everywhere you look, from the custom light fixtures to the wall murals, the one of a kind ceiling fans to the beautiful light switches. The attention to detail really sets this hotel apart from the others. There is a reason they call it a "boutique hotel" - it is small (only 16 deluxe rooms, a handful of "jungle" rooms), quaint, quiet and well kept. It has fabulous infinity pool with a great view to relax in after a day of exploring the region. Each of the bottom floor rooms have their own stepping stones through the grass to the pool! There are lounge chairs and a couple of tables with umbrellas around the pool. Bar service is available out there also. Their drink and wine menu is pretty varied...something for everyone. Try the "Tropical Ticos" drink!! The food is delicious and there is a good sized menu to chose from! We ate there 4 night - we tried beef dishes, fish, pasta, chicken - all fabulous! The meals and desserts are works of art. The staff was so easy to communicate with and were most helpful with recommendations for tours, restaurants, surf beaches, etc.The only thing that was somewhat of a problem, was the truck noise from the highway at night. But we were usually so tired at night (and we travel with ear plugs) that we were able to sleep through it. The rooms are large and include a minifridge and a safe, bathrooms are good sized, well lit, and the A/C worked great. The rooms had beautiful furniture - wall unit/armoire, desk with chair, bedside tables, headboard, couch and coffee table. All very clean. We had terrific free wi-fi in our rooms and on our patio. No small accomplishment after traveling all over the country and staying in places that claimed to have wi-fi, but didn't have connection 9 times out of 10. We stayed at the hotel in mid Aug. and had no problems with bugs - really enjoyed the open-air dining and seating areas. Breakfast came included with the cost of the room, a great buffet that always included 3 kinds of fresh fruit, juices, great coffee, muffins or danish, and changed daily to various things like rice, sausage, eggs; french toast; waffles; etc... And again, the staff was there, everyday, morning until night, with a smile on their face, happy to help you. Great experience! Make sure you have the fresh fruit crepes, made at your table! Wow! We'd definitely go back there and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Pick the "deluxe" rooms - pricier but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SDSue55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 516 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

For clarification this is not a four star hotel by European or American standards but saying that it is a nice hotel in the Dominical area (and considered by locals as the most upmarket hotel in the region). So actually it was neither 'Very good' nor 'Average' as it depends on how you judge it. I would just say it is 'Good' and it's important to note that we stayed in an angel room within the main building not the jungle rooms which are a walk away from the main building and in the vegetation! (would not want to be making my way back to one of these after dark!)

The room was adequate, it was clean, spacious, the bed comfortable, it had a fridge and air conditioning (which was loud), TV with satellite channels but they seem to get switched off at some point in the late evening sometimes midway through a film, the bathroom was a bit disappointing but again everything was clean and adequate. The hotel is friendly, the staff helpful and easy to converse with and the lobby layout is nice with an open air feeling. Both the restaurant and lobby are open this means that insects can access these areas but we only saw a few in the nights we were there - even with an insect phobia I was ok sitting using the internet in the lobby for a short while. The wi-fi service is not available within the bedrooms but speed is good in the lobby and restaurant.
The location is about four kilometres from Dominical which itself is a little village (4/5 restaurants and a wonderful ice cream shop - Ruby's which gets a huge thumbs up, Bryan the owner is warm and friendly and will let you try the flavours first!). The road from Quespos is now paved and is very fast if dull - giving you two choices of how to get there from San Jose, it's probably best to do one on the way there and the other on the way back (over the mountains of death!!) to see both as they are hugely different; the intercontinental highway is shorter but twisty and can be slow due to lorries negotiating the mountains twist and turns. We believe it is worth a day trip to Manuel Antonio national park - get a guide as you arrive as without one it is extremely difficult to spot all the amazing wildlife which you know is watching! A day trip to San Isidro is also a suggestion as they have a nice farmers market on Thursdays and it gives you a sense of the life lived by the locals.

The hotel offers 'spa' services, but you have to book an appointment with a therapist who comes in from outside, if they're not busy. There is no 'spa' as you would expect it but there is a decent pool. This hotel is nice and makes a great base for exploring this interesting and pretty area of the country, however it is pricey for what it is so unless you want the safety and security (especially regarding the bugs!) you might want to look elsewhere for a better bargain.

Room Tip: Stay in the main part of the hotel if you don't want to be in the jungle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank uktraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

the noise from trucks that were downshifting during their descent down the highway was really bothersome. as was the minifridge that was in our room.

that said, the hotel was very beautiful, our room immaculate, and the staff extremely hospitable. we dined at the restaurant one evening and was very impressed by the quality of the food and level of service. front desk was very helpful in arranging the day's activities by offering recommendations and calling various guides.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank bob_dobolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I knew I'd be alone for three days between the end of my bus tour and the arrival of my friend's wedding party. To make it more enjoyable, I decided to splurge and book myself into a spa. Unfortunately, I was unable to get one single spa service while staying at Cuna del Angel. The staff tried, but they were unable to reach the masseuse. The hotel itself was was beautiful. Every room was named for an angel, unfortunately it made it difficult to find your room. The hallways were dark. The food was DELICIOUS! Some of the best food I ever had. The chocolate cake was to die for! The service great! I'm a New Yorker and did find the prices high.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryEMatuszak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed here 2 times for 2 nigths. The hotel is great for relaxing (infinity pool is great). Very much value for money! Extra kudos for the restaurant which is excellent and has outstanding service.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casvancalsteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I hate writing reviews, but will extend my words of experience because I relied heavily on the reviews of others to plan my trip.
Face it, you go on vacation to get away from your busy daily and to relax. You want to leave all cares away and simply live in the moment and think of nothing but the fun you intend to have. Cuna Del Angel knows this and insists that you do by first slowing you down right from check in. After checking in, and before you go to your room, they ask you to have a seat while your room is prepared. This is not a time to get upset that you have to wait. You are overlooking the jungle with the ocean in the distant. Thats when they hand you a local fruit drink and you start to realize that you are unwinding from the flight...you are cooling off and taking a breath. This, is how you are treated the entire time.

The rooms are beautiful and extremely clean. They are furnished with proper furniture, not typical hotel cut-outs. There is attention to detail everywhere in this hotel.
The grounds are well maintained and the pool has a view to get lost in.

You cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kablers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We loved Cuna del Angel. The spa is so convenient (especially for last minute pedicures and massages) and the receptionists are very accommodating as far as setting up tours and activities. We scheduled most of our activities the night before after 6 p.m. and we were still able to make snorkeling, zip lining, fishing the next morning around 7 a.m. No need to stress out ahead of time about planning your trip if you stay here. They will make it happen. Alana in the spa is so sweet and she is a physical therapist as well so her massages are very good. The drinks in the restaurant can add up quickly $$. The food is very good and the atmosphere is perfect. Great music, dim lights, and a sweet waitstaff. They also have Air Condition which was very nice after a long day of being outside. You must set up a day of snorkeling...don't forget to wear a lot of sunscreen on the back of your legs! The snorkeling was by far our favorite day. We saw sea turtles and tons of colorful fish. The guides were great. One other thing about the hotel....I wanted to walk to the ocean from the hotel because it is sitting on a hill and you can see the ocean. We found a hiking trail to get to the ocean-the hotel doesn't tell you about it. Take the road by the pool up the hill past the parking lot and then it forks off to the right. Then you will see a trail into the jungle. It's only about a ten minute walk. It was beautiful. We spent our last sunset there. It is a little steep, but well worth it. We wanted to be on the ocean, but it was fine. We heard monkeys from our room and saw lots of birds. We had a great time at Cuna del Angel. It was a perfect ending to our honeymoon after spending the first week on the Carribean side of C.R. cheers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinaswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
421 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
5.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $95 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing