We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, serene, beautiful and perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelter from the Storm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelter from the Storm
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful, serene, beautiful and perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

The three homes for rent at Shelter from the Storm are beautiful, perfectly appointed, immaculate and situated for privacy. The hosts, Donna and Daryl are a delight... Engaging and informative... Available but not intrusive. Interesting people who have made this complex their life and work. We stayed at La Cuestas... ate in every night by grilling in the shared facility after a day of touring or hanging out by the shared pool or on our beautiful deck. Comfortable beds. Air conditioning if you need it. There was nothing more we could have asked for in terms of amenities, furnishings, equipment, cleanliness or hospitality. We recommend staying here without reservation! You'll love every minute (unless you want a hectic, nightclub-filled and "hot" location). Search elsewhere for that... come here for peace and relaxation and beauty.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
144
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

Myself and nine friends just returned from an unforgettable stay at Shelter from the Storm. We rented all three houses (which gave us exclusive access to the pool house) for a week and all agreed it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. Every room is beautiful and unique, and there are plenty of porches for lounging and hanging out. There are kitchens in each house and we had a lot of fun shopping for food and cooking big meals together (there's also a gas grill up at the pool house which we made use of).

Darryl and Donna were great hosts–we felt at home immediately. They are extremely helpful as far as recommendations and helping to organize tours. They booked a fantastic horseback riding trip for us (Don Lulo's Nauyaca Waterfall trip) and it was one of the highlights of our stay. We also took a beautiful and relaxing kayaking trip through the Mangroves with Pineapple Tours, which I definitely recommend.

If you have a large group and want to reserve the whole place (which I think can sleep up to 12) book well in advance. We booked about nine months in advance. Cars with 4WD are definitely needed, since the short drive up the hill is very steep–but you're rewarded with great views once there!

  • Liked — Felt like home, but with better views and a pool!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Uccella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

Wonderful hideaway in the Dominical region of Costa Rica. Not visible from the road, but when you get your directions from Daryl and Donna - you'll find it very easily.

We were more than pleased with the beautiful compound that these two have built for themselves and to share with others. Casual elegance with a view of the Pacific that you will never forget. This beautiful
compound of Villas offers all the drama of this jungle region.

An abundance of natural wildlife, friendly pets, and hospitality that
is unrivaled. You will simply love the host and hostess!

Both Daryl and Donna have a vast knowledge of the area and of Costa Rica - a true wealth of information and can book guided trips for you
right from their villa.

We stayed in the Monkey House which was just beautiful and had every amenity that we could ever want. The views, the tranquility, and of course, the visits by Ocho the gray tabby made this a very memorable stay.

Book a trip to Don Lulo's for a horseback ride to the waterfalls - you will NOT be disappointed and you will defintely be AMAZED!

Highly recommended - seeing is believing!

  • Liked — The beautifu location and convenience to the small villages of the region
  • Disliked — The driveway is steep and a little intimidating - but once there you forget about it!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank csgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

We have just returned from two weeks at the most beautiful and amazing vacation spot we have ever encountered. I'm talking about Shelter From The Storm, which is a little piece of heaven tucked right in between Dominical and Uvita, Costa Rica. From the online photos, our expectations and anticipations were very high, but sometimes the actual place doesn't quite measure up to the photos. However, Shelter From The Storm more than delivered in every way.
When we arrived at our villa La Cuesta, it was more spectacular than either of us imagined. Every room had fresh flowers, the towels were sumptious and the sheets were soft as clouds. In the kitchen was a gift basket filled with wonderful Costa Rican coffee and many other condiments that added a special touch. The kitchen was equipped with any cooking appliance you might need.
The view is breathtaking. Nestled amongst the tree tops,
we sat on comfortable furniture (there is even a hammock) on the veranda and looked out at the magnificant ocean, listened to the music of the jungle, watched the butterflies and enjoyed glorious birds. The monkeys and sloths were so comical. This is where I spent most of my time, watching, reading, writing, napping...enjoying the peace. My husband is more of an adventurer, and he had no problem finding plenty of opportunities to get out and explore the area.
The gardens are beautifully maintained, the pool is just the right size, the grill is there for your use, and there's even an honor bar.
If you're looking for a place for some serious R&R, this is your place. This truly is a shelter from just about anything that ails you...it offers the peace and privacy your soul craves. And, if you're needing a little action, just drive down the mountain road a bit and you're just a few minutes away from shops and restaurants in Dominical or Uvita.
I do have to tell you about the owners, Donna and Daryl. You will be absolutely awed by their kindness and thoughtfulness. They went out of their way to make our visit as perfect as it could possibly be. After two weeks, we felt like we were leaving friends we had known all our lives.
Pura Vida!
Lynn and Dave

  • Liked — opportunity to unwind and relax in beautiful and quiet surroundings
  • Disliked — There is no least...loved it all
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Winnie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

Once in a while, we stumble across a place so friendly it feels like home – albeit a particularly stylish home with pool, private terraces, open-air living and dramatic jungle or ocean views. Shelter from the Storm is such a place.

After many years of vacationing at either the cliffs of Negril in Jamaica or the Beaches of the Yucatan we found an unexpected piece of paradise just south of a little surfing town (Dominical) on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica.

Shelter from the Storm is a group of intimate villas where the mountains meet the sea. The boutique resort is set amongst a couple of acres of tropical lush gardens complete with swimming pool and rancho.

My wife and I stayed in La Cuesta, a Villa offering bedroom, living room & full kitchen plus a spectacularly large wrap-around outdoor patio/living area. Nestled just below tree top level but high above a jungle ravine we viewed a daily assortment of monkeys, tucans and other wildlife. No matter how hot the day La Cuesta stayed cool and protected in the shade.

The peacefullness and the beauty were only outdone by the graciousness of our two hosts, Donna & Daryl. Complete with the occaisional cocktail, directions to anywhere and suggestions for a wide variety of activities they could not have been more helpful.

  • Liked — views / accomodations / outdoor patio/living area
  • Disliked — I would reccomend a 4-wheel drive vehicle
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patpatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2007

We bought property in Dominical last year with plans to build a home on it. Each time we visit the area we prefer to stay at different rentals to get to know both the locals and expats. On our last trip we booked one week at Baja Las Rocas, one of the villas at Shelter from the Storm. At the end of the week we felt so much at home that we had no desire to move to another rental in the area so we kept extending our stay...until finally we had to leave due to incoming guests. Donna and Daryl went out of their way to accommodate, gave great tips about restaurants, beaches, activities, etc. in the area. The pool with rancho was great for watching wildlife, cooling off, watching television or just getting to know Donna & Daryl and the few guests. The grounds are beautifully maintained and provide a breathtaking high view of the area, yet located just off the paved coastal highway. The villa was very well-appointed (Egyptian cotton linens are a great touch...none of those coarse, scratchy linens here!), the small kitchen was well-equipped, our private, covered terrace had an awesome view of mountains, jungle, and the crashing waves of Playa San Martin. We had our coffee on the terrace every morning while watching the parade of white-faced monkeys, howler monkeys, toucans, and so much more...although the view is the same from the bedroom, thanks to large windows. Donna is from the southeastern US so hospitality comes naturally for her! We'll surely return on our next trip to the area.

We have met many interesting folks living in CR and Donna and Daryl fit right in...ask about their wedding pic...the one of them riding on the elephant! We will return to rent again, although we've learned our lesson...don't plan on moving to another rental and be sure to book the entire trip at Shelter From the Storm. All of the villas there are beautiful and unique.

Chester & Steven
Atlanta, Georgia USA

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank SEBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2007

This is the best and most " feel at home" place we have ever stayed! We were impressed by the warmth and hospitality of our hostess Donna who greeted us immediately upon our arrival.
When she first opened the door to 'Las Rocas' and gave us a tour of our new "home" for the next few days, we were stunned to say the least. The decor was beautiful, the master bedroom and bathroom are spacious and the kitchen well layed out. What really took our breath away was the covered balcony-like patio off of the vaulted great room and the expansive view ( and sound!) of the Pacific ocean below ( the master bedroom allows you to wake to this same vista!). With room for a sofa, coffee table, two chairs and a game table with four chairs, me,my wife and two twelve year olds 'lived' out on this patio! The house is nestled in the trees and we were treated to the sights and sounds of various birds and monkeys. Our kids (and the grown-ups too!) were delighted with the daily parade of a family of monkeys that swung through the trees surrounding Las Rocas every afternoon. When we weren't relaxing on the patio we were swimming or hanging out in the hammocks in the pool house a few steps away. There is so much to do and see in the area Donna was a great help in recommending and booking our two stand-out excursions (Don Lulus horseback ride/waterfall tour and a snorkeling trip to Cano Island) as well as steering us to the best swimming and snorkeling beaches ( anywhere from 5-20 minutes away). The kitchen allowed us to 'cook-in' often, but when we did eat out Donna sent us to some wonderful local restaraunts. We were truly sad to be leaving when our vacation was over and are already looking forward to a stay in Shelter from the Storm on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No weaknesses
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BBCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.6 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.5 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
4.1 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter from the Storm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter from the Storm

Property: Shelter from the Storm
Address: San Martin Sur, Dominical 80000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelter from the Storm is a group of 2 villas perched on a 5 acre mountainside point, 60 meters above the Pacific, high enough to give dramatic views of the coast to the Osa Pennisula, but low enough to hear the waves breaking on the rocks below. Hotel rates for your own private place! Ammenities: Shared pool adjacent Entertainment Rancho with honor bar, BBQ,satelite stereo tv & dvd, washer/dryer, & much more.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelter From The Storm Hotel Dominical
Shelter From The Storm Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing