We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise found” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelter from the Storm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelter from the Storm
Palmyra, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

The best place we have stayed in Costa Rica (after four trips). We liked the Dominical/Uvita area more than any other place in the country and this was the perfect place to stay. Donna and Daryl have created a perfect paradise within the sound of the waves. The views down the coast to the Osa Peninsula are spectacular.
We stayed in the upper of Las Rocas for 5 nights. On arrival, we found a basket with great coffee, Lizano salsa and chocolates, not to mention the milk and water in the refrigerator and the pantry stocked with condiments etc. From both the terrace/living room and the bedroom you can see the surf below and the beaches down the coast. The lodgings are luxurious, at a very moderate price.
Donna & Daryl are great hosts with working knowledge of the entire area--what each little beach is like, the latest on restaurants. The way they have arranged the property makes each unit feel like a private secluded villa. We could not tell when someone was in the lower unit. It felt like our own vacation home for as long as we were there.

  • Liked — View/physical environment/hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go there
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
144
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona by way of Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

Our stay at the Monkey House at Shelter From the Storm was so incredible! As we drove down the driveway, paradise unfolded in front of our eyes and it only got better. Donna, the property manager, is not only the kindest person we have ever encountered, but she also took care of every detail. Before we even arrived she and her husband Daryl gave us great advice on rental cars, things to do and places to go, food, and more. This kind of amazing service continued throughout our entire week-long stay. From the fresh flowers in the room, to candles and matches for a romantic dinner, to the high quality sheets and pillows, to a fully stocked honor bar down by the pool, Donna and Daryl had thought of every detail. The Monkey House, the studio we rented, is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed, with vaulted wood ceilings and beautiful tile, topped off by amazing views and a Llang llang tree right under the window that made everything smell fabulous. We would like to point out that this is not a resort, the pool is small and there is no room service, so if that is what you want, don't inflict your neediness on Donna and Daryl. If you are looking for an amazing get-away (particularly a romantic retreat), away from the crowds and the party scene, look no further. But bring your sense of adventure and your open mind; you are staying with friends when you stay at the Shelter From the Storm.

  • Liked — The kindness of the owners and the thought they put into providing every detail. And the views!
  • Disliked — Some of the other guests were looking for more of a resort-type atmosphere and were not as nice to be around.
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a 4WD vehicle, or strap on your hill climbing shoes and hitch hike down the road! (Taxis at night...).
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Womanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2006

Warm and Gracious Hospitality at its very finest. Donna & Darryl have created an atmosphere from which one can enjoy so much of what Costa Rica has to offer. Trust them to figure out which villa will best suit the needs of your group. We traveled with another family. Our family with children 24, 17, 12- -we never heard a complaint and everyone enjoyed a real sense of privacy. The accomodations were excellent from the beds, to the kitchens, the views, the wildlife surrounding us...Our son slept out on the porch to enjoy the sights and sounds of the wildlife, after several nights he decided the monkeys were spending too much time watching him! Donna can help arrange horseback riding to the waterfalls, zip-lining, etc. none of which should be missed. We also arranged fishing trips & snorkel trips. After long days on the beach, in the boat, on horseback, and on the zip-lines in the rainforest, we all breathed a sigh of relief when we returned to Shelter from the Storm. Trust Donna, a true Carolina Beach Girl to bring a bit of the South to Costa Rica.

  • Liked — Hearing the wildlife and waves .........No traffic noise! The privacy, the pool area....
  • Disliked — NA
  • Tips/Secrets — Four wheel drive really makes one much more comfortable!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francsico, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2006

My Mom, sister and I just returned from a 2-week trip to Costa Rica. We stayed at Shelter from the Storm for 2 nights and wished we'd stayed longer.

The owners, Daryl and Donna have a few lovely, private and luxurious villas that they rent. Everything is high-end right down to the sheets and towels. We stayed in the upper level of Villas Las Rocas. There was plenty of room for 3 of us, it was quiet, we loved the open-air living room and had an amazing view of the ocean. Although they aren't right on the beach, they are 10 minutes from various beaches.

The property also has a separate open air common area with honor bar, small pool, barbque and a few tables.

They are 5-minutes off Highway 34 between Dominical and Uvita. I highly recommend this place!

  • Liked — The location, secluded, views of the ocean.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not drive the road at night if possible. It's very steep and highly recommend vehicle with high clearance.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

My husband and I just returned from 3 weeks in lovely Costa Rica, where we found the most delightful boutique hotel 5 kilometers south of Dominical.

Shelter from the Storm is four totally separate, private units perched on a mountain bluff overlooking Bahia de Coronado. Each unit was individually designed by the American owners Daryl and Donna, and includes hand crafted hardwood trim, luxuriant baths, fully equipped kitchens, delightfully comfortable orthopedic beds, and spacious indoor and outdoor living areas, each with an amazing view of the surf pounding on the rocks below. The setting is magnificent! Manicured grounds give way to jungled cliffs, with fantastic views of the Oso Peninsula.

We rented the smallest unit, Baja Las Rocas, which provided a small but complete kitchen. (The other units are larger and have deluxe, full sized kitchens.) Our huge outdoor living area overlooked the sea, close enough to hear the surf on the rocks below. The area is teaming with wildlife, including large troops of both Capuchin and Howler monkeys, sloths, toucans, and butterflies. Lonesome George, the loner Howler monkey, wakes you each morning, and now has his own family with mom, teenager and baby! We saw more wildlife relaxing on our veranda at Las Rocas than we did in 2 weeks of trampling through national parks.

Shelter from the Storm shows an attention to detail we’ve never seen in any other hotel and an honest desire to completely satisfy the guests’ needs. Each unit has air-conditioning, as well as ceiling fans in each room, including the outdoor areas (we never needed the air-conditioning), lovely furnishings, everything from CD players, blenders, and in-room phones to free laundry and covered parking. The pool area includes a beautiful pool house with full honor bar, comfortable seating areas, BBQ grill, and audio/visual center with DVD player and Satellite TV.

The price for this lovely piece of paradise was only $75/day. They now have their own web site, but it’s not easy to find. All of the guests we met heard of Shelter from the Storm by word of mouth, and all were trying to extend their stays! Decidedly, this is the best hotel we have ever found!

  • Liked — The setting was spectacular and the room and veranda were wonderful.
  • Disliked — The driveway was in good condition, but was quite steep. You need a four wheel drive.
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan on staying at least a week. You won't want to leave!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank SnorkelGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.6 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.5 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
4.1 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter from the Storm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter from the Storm

Property: Shelter from the Storm
Address: San Martin Sur, Dominical 80000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelter from the Storm is a group of 2 villas perched on a 5 acre mountainside point, 60 meters above the Pacific, high enough to give dramatic views of the coast to the Osa Pennisula, but low enough to hear the waves breaking on the rocks below. Hotel rates for your own private place! Ammenities: Shared pool adjacent Entertainment Rancho with honor bar, BBQ,satelite stereo tv & dvd, washer/dryer, & much more.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelter From The Storm Hotel Dominical
Shelter From The Storm Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing