We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful.Amazing.Relaxing.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelter from the Storm
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Beautiful.Amazing.Relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My partner and I spent a bit more than a week at SFTS. This is somewhere we definitely would come back to visit. Donna and Daryl and all of the pets were great! We loved spending time at the pool, exploring on day trips, sitting on the patio, and simply experiencing a simple and peaceful vacation. I have no hesitation in recommending anyone to visit SFTS. Costa Rica is most wonderful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
145
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent setting away from main road. Beautiful private villa. We had a family medical issue and Daryl was very helpful driving us to doctor etc... Thank you Daryl. Jan 2010. We took horseback day trip up stream to waterfall. Fantastic coastline.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a relaxing week stay while taking a break from our Inn in Santa Ana. We stayed in Villa Las Rocas Arriba for the full time. Our partners came in for the weekend and stayed in Abajo. The Villas are wonderfully equipped with many little extra touches. Daryl and Donna were great hosts and one of the hotel dogs, "Little Ricky", would come and visit our dog. SFTS would also serve as a great base for a more active vacation. The beaches of Dominical and Uvita are near. For a secluded stay with amazing ocean and jungle views, this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davesnothome56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Donna and Ron have created a special place where elegance and grace and all the comforts of home meet the Costa Rican jungle, ocean, and wildlife. I was there 3 or 4 days and after visting the local beaches, my friend and I didn't want to leave Shelter from the Storm as we could enjoy the pool, our porches, the mild weather, and even a rain storm at night that was so intoxicating that I recorded it on my cell phone. Ron's suggestion of eating at Restaurant Exotica was fantastic as Donna's was to go to Lentana Playa beach. Dominical has many beautiful beaches and fresh foods to buy and create in your own fully appointed kitchen or find at local eateries. I will go back as soon as time allows. There is alot more to explore in Dominical and by spending more days at Shelter from the Storm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manocarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time while staying in the monkey house at Shelter from the Storm. Daryl and Donna are great people and were a great help in planning out our activities while staying with them. Donna even took care of making reservations for us when we needed them. They have a beautiful place with a fantastic view of the ocean. We did not actually get to see any monkey's during our stay, but did get woke up by a Howler monkey a couple of mornings. Their gardener, Alvin, also took us out for a hike in the surrounding jungle area. We greatly enjoyed it, but it definitely is not an adventure for anyone not enjoying a good hard workout; the trek is a tough one, plan on getting your feet wet.

Room Tip: Great location, but advisable to have a 4-wheel drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerTripsRFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is the perfect place to get away from all of your stresses. We were 10, of which 4 were children 7 and under, and we had all the amenities needed to keep everyone active & happy. The property is high up in the mountains, away from everyone, with incredible scenic views of the Pacific Ocean and Rainforest. This is a highly suggested place to stay on your first or next trip to Dominical, Cost Rica for couples and/or families.

Thank you, Daryl & Donna

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabePelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a perfect place for every body!!!!! Wonderful place magnificent views!!! A simple and true PARADISE!!!!!!
Donna and Daryl are the perfect hostess! and we can not forget Ricky!!
Thank you very much!!
We can not wait to come back next year!!!!

Room Tip: La Cuesta Arriba is perfect for a family very quiet (kids can sleep a little later)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilipel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.6 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#6 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter from the Storm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter from the Storm

Property: Shelter from the Storm
Address: San Martin Sur, Dominical 80000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelter from the Storm is a group of 2 villas perched on a 5 acre mountainside point, 60 meters above the Pacific, high enough to give dramatic views of the coast to the Osa Pennisula, but low enough to hear the waves breaking on the rocks below. Hotel rates for your own private place! Ammenities: Shared pool adjacent Entertainment Rancho with honor bar, BBQ,satelite stereo tv & dvd, washer/dryer, & much more.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelter From The Storm Hotel Dominical
Shelter From The Storm Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing