We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent setting and accomodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelter from the Storm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent setting away from main road. Beautiful private villa. We had a family medical issue and Daryl was very helpful driving us to doctor etc... Thank you Daryl. Jan 2010. We took horseback day trip up stream to waterfall. Fantastic coastline.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a relaxing week stay while taking a break from our Inn in Santa Ana. We stayed in Villa Las Rocas Arriba for the full time. Our partners came in for the weekend and stayed in Abajo. The Villas are wonderfully equipped with many little extra touches. Daryl and Donna were great hosts and one of the hotel dogs, "Little Ricky", would come and visit our dog. SFTS would also serve as a great base for a more active vacation. The beaches of Dominical and Uvita are near. For a secluded stay with amazing ocean and jungle views, this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davesnothome56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Donna and Ron have created a special place where elegance and grace and all the comforts of home meet the Costa Rican jungle, ocean, and wildlife. I was there 3 or 4 days and after visting the local beaches, my friend and I didn't want to leave Shelter from the Storm as we could enjoy the pool, our porches, the mild weather, and even a rain storm at night that was so intoxicating that I recorded it on my cell phone. Ron's suggestion of eating at Restaurant Exotica was fantastic as Donna's was to go to Lentana Playa beach. Dominical has many beautiful beaches and fresh foods to buy and create in your own fully appointed kitchen or find at local eateries. I will go back as soon as time allows. There is alot more to explore in Dominical and by spending more days at Shelter from the Storm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manocarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time while staying in the monkey house at Shelter from the Storm. Daryl and Donna are great people and were a great help in planning out our activities while staying with them. Donna even took care of making reservations for us when we needed them. They have a beautiful place with a fantastic view of the ocean. We did not actually get to see any monkey's during our stay, but did get woke up by a Howler monkey a couple of mornings. Their gardener, Alvin, also took us out for a hike in the surrounding jungle area. We greatly enjoyed it, but it definitely is not an adventure for anyone not enjoying a good hard workout; the trek is a tough one, plan on getting your feet wet.

Room Tip: Great location, but advisable to have a 4-wheel drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerTripsRFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is the perfect place to get away from all of your stresses. We were 10, of which 4 were children 7 and under, and we had all the amenities needed to keep everyone active & happy. The property is high up in the mountains, away from everyone, with incredible scenic views of the Pacific Ocean and Rainforest. This is a highly suggested place to stay on your first or next trip to Dominical, Cost Rica for couples and/or families.

Thank you, Daryl & Donna

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabePelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a perfect place for every body!!!!! Wonderful place magnificent views!!! A simple and true PARADISE!!!!!!
Donna and Daryl are the perfect hostess! and we can not forget Ricky!!
Thank you very much!!
We can not wait to come back next year!!!!

Room Tip: La Cuesta Arriba is perfect for a family very quiet (kids can sleep a little later)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilipel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and were truly blown away by the stunning location, luxurious villas, amazing wildlife and Darryl and Donna's hospitality.

We could see Toucans and monkeys from our balcony, didn't have to cope with mosquitos like other parts of Costa Rica and had great , uncrowded waves at Dominicalita down the road.

Daryl was great company and the kids loved hanging out at the Rancho eating his popcorn.

We loved Don Lulo's horseride to the waterfall and eating out at Exotica, half an hour away but well worth the effort.

Thanks Daryl and Donna, you deserve your top rating from Trip Advisor

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
4.5 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
215 reviews
3.6 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
6 mi away
Edge of the World Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
532 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter from the Storm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter from the Storm

Address: San Martin Sur, Dominical 80000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range: $110 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelter from the Storm is a group of 2 villas perched on a 5 acre mountainside point, 60 meters above the Pacific, high enough to give dramatic views of the coast to the Osa Pennisula, but low enough to hear the waves breaking on the rocks below. Hotel rates for your own private place! Ammenities: Shared pool adjacent Entertainment Rancho with honor bar, BBQ,satelite stereo tv & dvd, washer/dryer, & much more.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelter From The Storm Hotel Dominical
Shelter From The Storm Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing