We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best of all CR offers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bella Vista Lodge to your Saves list
Bella Vista Lodge
Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best of all CR offers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Bert and the staff at Bella Vista are the best! I have been to CR many times and have yet to find a place with such views. While it is very private, you are super close to downtown Domincal and numerous great beaches. Not to take a back seat to the view is Bert's cooking and cocktails. This was truly an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We loved Bella Vista and Dominical so much, we plan on moving there by the end of this year. Bert is an awesome host, chef and friend. He creates a lifetime experience for each guest. The views of the Pacific are incredible, the closeness to Mother Nature and all her exotic creatures is EXTREME! We would recommend BellaVista for adventure, romance or family retreats, a wonderful celebration place!

Room Tip: All the accomodations are excellent, the pool is actually a waterfall just down the road, can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sliv1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I ended our 2 week honeymoon at the Bella Vista Lodge. We spent 3 nights here and it was a great way to end our trip in Costa Rica. Bert is a wonderful host and will take care of you real nice. He can set up a horseback riding trip to a beautiful and refreshing waterfall nearby (Nauyaca Falls). The lodge is high up on a mountain (4WD required to get up there) and you have beautiful view (Bella Vista) of the ocean. The sunsets here are MAGNIFICENT. Bert, Joao, and Max prepared us a fantastic dinner and dessert every night (strawberry and mandarina lime pie was DELISH!). It was great spending time with them and other travelers staying at the lodge. If you like a chill, laid back, and rustic environment, this place is for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estahwhaddup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Although not advertized as such, Bella Vista is an amazing place to stay to watch nature. Without leaving the porch, we were able to identify 44 species of birds in 4 days. Fiery-billed Aracaris, Chestnut-billed Toucans, Yellow-throated Euphonia, Baltimore Orioles, Red-legged Honeycreepers, Blue Dacnis, Golden-hooded Tanagers, and King Vulture are examples of some of the beautiful birds we saw. Bert is an AMAZING host, compassionate and thoughtful, and goes the extra mile to be sure you enjoy your visit. As mentioned by others, he is also a gourmet chef, and the meals we had there were fantastic! When not watching birds, the views of the Pacific Ocean, particularly at sunset, are not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spectacular sunset’s, great food and hospitality. Your host Bert can arrange horseback tours to the waterfalls, hikes, and anything else you need in the area.

The lodge has amazing fresh local food prepared by young chefs who area masters already. Meals are served up on the porch overlooking the Pacific @ about 1100’ elevation.

Room Tip: Be sure to rent a four wheel drive car for getting to the lodge and for your local adventures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCH-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here one night on the way to another destination having met the owner previously who handled the horseback rides to Nuyuaca Falls. We arrived around 4pm in time for a killer sunset and the sound of howler monkeys. The property is on the side of a mountain with incredible views of the ocean. There are tons of toucans, parrots and other birds. The dinner and homemade banana cream pie was excellent and coffee was ready when we got up in the morning. The property has some friendly cats and dogs. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first time travelling to Costa Rica and what a pleasure it was to stay at Bella Vista with Bert and crew. We were in the main house with a view of the Pacific from our room. Had the unbelievable pleasure of riding horses with Bert, Brad from San Francisco, and our guide, Carlos, down the mountain to the beach, picked up a just caught red snapper, which was dinner. Bert is host, chef as well as concierge here and he does it right!! This place is a do not miss for travelers while in Dominical.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeidiAnneSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#5 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#2 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Lodge

Property: Bella Vista Lodge
Address: Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Lodge is perched 1200 feet above Dominical with panoramic Pacific coastal views of Manuel Antonio to the north and the Osa Peninsula to the south. There are 4 guest rooms with private baths in the Lodge as well as the dining deck. Cabins are also available equipped with small kitchens as well as private decks. A truly authentic Costa Rica experience! Horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, white-water rafting, surfing, sport fishing, hiking, zip lining, birdwatching, whale watching, scuba and snorkeling--all within minutes away. Restaurant by reservation only. Fresh ingredients are gathered at the local markets -- fresh, fresh, fresh. Groups welcome! Family reunions, weddings, photo, music, cooking, and art seminars, yoga/spa/massage, and birdwatchers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bella Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Dominical
Bella Vista Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing