We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Vista Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dominical
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Villas Alturas(Dominical)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cuna del Angel(Dominical)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Paraiso(Dominical)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Verde(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Domilocos(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfall Villas(Dominical)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
71
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
8
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 79 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here last weekend and didn't want to leave! The place is a rustic lodge with huge wrap around porches and a million dollar view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Bert the owner is a wonderful host. He was hospitable, kind and very accommodating. We wanted to swim in a waterfall. He gave us instructions for one nearby his place and it was amazing! You will need 4X4 to get to his lodge and it is a true fun jungle trek! It Just adds fun to the adventure of being in Costa Rica. We can't wait to return Bert!

Room Tip: For more privacy ask Bert about the cabin below the lodge.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was lucky to spend two of my best nights in Costa Rica at Bella Vista! The place has a breathtaking view of Dominical, surrounded by beautiful nature, animals, and of course the beach. Very welcoming lodges, cozy, and the owner Bert gives it the perfect final touch! He is very friendly, attencious, and the food he cooks at night is DELICIOUS. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Bert is very helpful and friendly, talk to him and he will take good care of you! all rooms have a great view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Belle Vista. Bert the owner was very accommodating. He knows how to treat his guests. Bert is very familiar with the lay of the land and all it has to offer(and that is a lot). the lodge is rustic, well equipped, and Bert cooks dinner for you every night if you want. Each morning we woke up to the sounds of wild birds and howler monkeys the kids loved it! I strongly recommend The Belle Vista if you are planning a trip to dominical. P.S. Bert knows everyone in town and will help you to find your way around.

Room Tip: Lower cottage was great!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camperpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Bella Vista Lodge.

The lodge is up on a hill and has a view over green trees, the beach of Dominicalito and the Pacific. The road to the place is steep, but easy to reach with a 4wd. The owner, Bert, seems also willing to pick guests up from Dominical or Dominicalito. If you want to get there with your own wheels, just drive up the hill at the crossing Dominicalito/Costanera del Sur.

Imagine a large wooden lodge with three rooms, huge veranda/porch with rock chairs and hammocks, excellent views, birds all around and howler monkeys in the trees to wake you up. Two dogs and two cats running around, and a couple of horses around in the garden/boxes. Down on the hill there is at least one other lodge/cabin.

Our room was spacious, cabinets for clothes etc, a very very nice bed (comfy), private bathroom. No AC but a fan which works properly. Evenings are relatively cool... No mosquito nets needed. Everything was clean. We slept very well.

The communal area, the huge porch, kitchen and living/bar, was very nice. Good place to have a talk with the other guests. The owner, former restaurant owner, prepares dishes for breakfast and dinner. The food is excellent, but be prepared to wait... You can join in at the large kitchen for some drinks and stories. Dinner is served around 8.30 (while prep starts at 6). Dinner is served for all guests on the porch at the same time. Drinks (soft, beer, wine, spirits) are available, but you are also welcome to bring some of your own. On the white board, you can write down the number of drinks you had and pay for on checkout.

In the area you can do some horse back riding, visit waterfalls, sunbathing, fishing, surfing, hiking and - still don't understand why people like it that much - ziplining ;-). Dominicalitos beach (short drive down the hill) is a beautiful, but just not that, not for swimming, not for surfing, not for sunbathing. Maybe just to wander around a bit.
Dominical, 4km down the road is a safer choice. Here you have some restaurants, you can rent surf boards and you can chill out at the infamous Tortilla Flats with a cocktail. Surfing tends to be difficult over here, stong currents/rips, nice waves. Except to be tumbled a few times :-) There are life guards on the beach.

The Bella Vista Lodge is a very nice place and a good choice if you want to stay near Dominical... Recommended.

Latest version of Lonely Planet mentions the Bella Vista Lodge, but there is a new owner right now.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KingJulianNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you're looking for awesome views, quiet and fantastic food, this is the place! Arriving here isn't easy, but worth it. The night we arrived was stormy and I had been driving for quite a while, and didn't want to go back out for dinner. When we called Bert for directions, he was kind enough to ask if we had eaten; we said no and he instantly said he was making pasta and would include enough for us. In addition to great food, Bert was very helpful with local activities and information about the markets. The atmosphere is very laid back and Colt and Echo, his dogs, were very friendly. Grab a beer or wine, keep a tally and make yourself at home! Definitely on our 'visit again' list!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews