We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Bella Vista Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Vista Lodge
Brockville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My buddy and I ended up randomly staying at Bella Vista and completely lucked out in doing so! It was the ultimate laid back lodge filled with great people and surrounded by natural beauty. The rooms were well kept, the food and services was amazing, and the sunsets each night were mind blowing!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesThomas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We arrived in Dominical in the evening. After a 10 minute 4-wheel drive up hill, across three rivers, we arrived at Bella Vista. We were greeted by two friendly dogs and two cuddly cats who led us up to the main lodge. Bert and Charlie were amazing hosts and an excellent chefs, preparing gourmet dinners for us every night. We met the other guest that evening and ended up making lots of plans in the area. We were only planning on staying 2 nights, but ended up stayed the whole week. During our time in Dominical we went surfing, horseback riding, water falling, hiking, beaching eating and dancing. It was amazing. I would love to return not only for the views and sounds of the jungle, but to visit all of our new friends!

Room Tip: If you are looking to socialize with other travelers, stay in the main lodge. If you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My 3 nights at the Bella Vista Lodge was the highlight of my Costa Rica trip. I stayed in the Lodge (there are 2 cabins as well). The lodge is a social place with a pretty open design, so don't expect to lock yourself away in your private room. Expect to socialize and party and make yourself at home. Bert, the owner, will cook for you (family style) every night, and the food is awesome. There is a well stocked bar right there, and an extremely casual vibe with the best ocean view in Costa Rica. Bert is the coolest dude ever, and will totally take care of you. He lined me up with a local guy who took me surfing and spearfishing, and all in all, it was a pretty awesome time. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If you have kids or want privacy, take the cabins. If you want to meet people or socialize, take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs_redding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My friend and I were looking for a spot to explore Costa Rica where we'd have access to local culture and activities, without sacrificing a few western comforts. Bella Vista and the Dominical area was perfect. The Lodge is paradise. Bert is the most gracious host who will make you feel like the Lodge is your home. He'll set you up with incredible local activities. An unforgettable horse back ride thru a jungle valley is not to missed. Nor the surf lessons - beginners welcome - from a local surf legend. Bert's also a great chef and will cook up terrific dinners, or you can venture into the resto's in the surrounding area. The Lodge also seems to attract some of the coolest people I've met anywhere. Everyone gets to be friends real quick: guests, locals, and ex-pats. It's really a special place. As others have mentioned, you should definitely get a four wheel. You'll want the freedom to go up and down the mountain and explore the surrounding area at will. And if you need more space and/or want some added tranquility check out one of the cabins which are situated separate from the main Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calle Liles de Poas
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Bella Vista Lodge WAY exceeded my expectation and Bert is the nicest person to meet. The personal service was great, the location was perfect and the view is FANTASTIC. 5 minutes from the beach, but still high enough to be comfortable day and night. I will defintely be going back!

Ken Wells
Calle LIles de Poas

Room Tip: The cabina is my favorite, a little more private and a view of the ocean from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

If you're reading this review then there's really no reason to continue searching for other places to stay, just click reserve and be prepared for an amazing experience. Bella Vista is nestled a short drive up from the beach in the middle of a clearing in the rainforest. Usually things that sound to good to be true are just that, but Bella Vista breaks the rule. Aside from the scenery, Bert offers a full service experience. And by "full service" I mean he'll make sure you have amazing food morning, noon, and night; he'll hook you up with the people who run the best activities from surfing to horseback riding; and he'll make sure your cup is never empty while enjoying the beautiful environs of the lodge. Perhaps the best part about the lodge, however, is meeting the other people wise enough (and lucky enough) to book their stay with Bert. It is next to impossible not to make friends for life (or at least the duration of your trip) while staying there. One recommendation though, if you are looking for a bit of respite from late night music and conversation, book one of the cabins instead of the rooms.

Bert, I had a blast and can't wait to reunite with the crew!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoleDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Absolutely one of the best locations with the most accommodating staff a worldly traveler could wish for. Bert and his staff treated me and my son with the utmost in professionalism and courtesy. I can't say enough about how great the meals were or about the absolutely stunning picturesque views worthy of any magazine cover. I will actively seek to revisit Bella Vista in the near future and I strongly recommend this lodge to all friends and family that wish to visit the Domical Costa Rica area. Thanks guys I had a great time.
Ken Russell

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krussken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Lodge

Property: Bella Vista Lodge
Address: Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Lodge is perched 1200 feet above Dominical with panoramic Pacific coastal views of Manuel Antonio to the north and the Osa Peninsula to the south. There are 4 guest rooms with private baths in the Lodge as well as the dining deck. Cabins are also available equipped with small kitchens as well as private decks. A truly authentic Costa Rica experience! Horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, white-water rafting, surfing, sport fishing, hiking, zip lining, birdwatching, whale watching, scuba and snorkeling--all within minutes away. Restaurant by reservation only. Fresh ingredients are gathered at the local markets -- fresh, fresh, fresh. Groups welcome! Family reunions, weddings, photo, music, cooking, and art seminars, yoga/spa/massage, and birdwatchers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Dominical
Bella Vista Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing