We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only 50 more weeks until we can go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Vista Lodge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only 50 more weeks until we can go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

This lodge is simplicity at its best! While recently spending a week at the Bella Vista Lodge our family was able to enjoy quality time together in what we believe to be the most beautiful spot in the southern Pacific region. The pacific ocean view from this tucked away mountain lodge is absolutely breathtaking! Immediately upon arrival we knew we had picked the perfect spot to relax from our everyday hustle and bustle.
Bert, the manager, is eager to accommodate, however, it doesn't take much to have a good time at this spot. While enjoying the view from the huge wrap around porch there are numerous birds to watch and from time to time the monkeys appear down below. The hammocks are a great spot to kick back and absorb the beauty of it all.
Bert hooked us up with a nearby Tico family who took us on a fabulous horseback adventure through the forest to a spectacular waterfall. The family cooked us an authentic Tico breakfast and lunch and provided great company. We had so much fun the kids begged to take a second tour later in the week - which we did.
Speaking of food, we were served gallo pinto and eggs for breakfast upon request in addition to fresh fruit smoothies for the kids. Thanks Bryan! (Bert's helper - and also a great help with surf lessons :)
Bert is a fabulous cook, and we ate a variety of delicious meals comprised of locally harvested seafood complimented with fresh fruits and vegetables.
The rooms are simple and comfortable - perfectly decorated for the location. The nightly breezes provided absolutely no need for air conditioning, but rather a blanket!
The location of this spot is isolated yet close enough to several fun adventures when you may want to explore.
And who needs a fitness center when there are winding mountain roads to walk early in the morning while enjoying the fresh air and amazing landscape!
There were plenty of board games and cards for some fun on a few of the rainy evenings.
Bella Vista Lodge is definitely the place to unwind and enjoy Costa Rica!
A quote from dad - "Only 50 more weeks till we can go back".
Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4travelres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Bert is the owner, but names I like to call him are: "the dude" (big labowski), dos equis guy, and Wolfgang Puck for all of these names suit with very well. I really enjoyed my stay at his lodge, as first was planning for one night, and ended up staying for four. I had a lot of fun playing with his two dogs (ridgeback and husky) along with his two kitties. The sounds of the howler monkeys were a great way to realize that I was actually in the jungle, although many times I felt like I was at a spa. Why you ask? Well the room I stayed in had beutiful flowing white drapes that danced with the breeze the flowed threw the room, the 140 degree (mas ou minus) was very hard to stop gazing off into, and the soaps that "the dude" provides and absolutely decadent, I mean the shampoo smelt like I was washing my hair with orange juice, leaving it feeling like silk, and the soap (which he has many varities of) took away any remaining stress that may have been lingering on my shoulders. I enjoyed the soap so much that I had to buy some for the road so I could continue my travels with thesame heavenly feeling as I had when in Dominical. Now there is a kitchen available, but if you are lucky, you might be able to smoosh with Bert, butter him up with some gifts of beer or rum and have him make one of his muy rico dishes he makes! Ask him about his eggplant parmesange. The only thing I would have to give a headsup about is make sure you have your own ride (4x4) or are patient, for "the dude" does head into town from time to time, but he is not a shuttle. I enjoyed this place so much that I ended up making Bert a gemtree as gratitude for such a great time. You might even see it sitting at his bar once you head up there. Thanks for the great time Bert, and I think I may just end up coming back for a visit in Aug, that is if you aren't fully booked that is. PURA VIDA!!!

Room Tip: ask about the honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilwirthit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Imagine looking out from your lodging and seeing the Pacific hit the rocks on shore. The mountain air is refreshing and exotic flowers and plants will enchant you. The rustic lodging is clean, airy, beautifully appointed. The grounds are an oasis between the jungle behind and the jungle between the lodge and the ocean. You will awaken to the sounds of holer monkeys in the jungle and see the occasional toucan fly by. I loved every minute of the two weeks I spent there and plan to go back as often as I can.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tranquility34210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Bella Vista Lodge is truly a gem. I recently took my first trip to Costa Rica and found "Paradise". The town of Dominical is such a diverse and simple community. Hidden in the lush jungle coastline sits some of the best surf, local craftsmen, food, lodging, and timeless entertainment anyone could hope for. Traveling off the coastal highway, unbelievable it did not exist as a paved road until about two years ago, the 4x4 trek up to the BellaVista is a rewarding adventure in it's self. Fifteen hundred feet or so above the coast, on a remote type clearing among the true mountain jungle, lies a luxury most would give up all material concerns for. The dark wood stained cabins blend beautifully into a view that will blow your mind. Each room equipped with on demand shower, ceiling fan, and screen only windows are the insignificant amenities that just create comfort. White cotton drapes align the bamboo rods to the floor, cool mountain breeze just blows through each room as if you're watching a "Corona" commercial. The quiet is library-esque, until you realize the howler monkeys, toucans and thousands of species of jungle wildlife are completely surrounding you. The view is astounding! Weather, sunrise, sunset, and sea swell are all as visible as can be, stretching three hundred sixty degrees one can only be impressed. Lets not forget Bert Woodson and his trusty Rodesian Ridgeback "Colt". This combination of chef, bartender, tour manager, entertainer, and all out genuine nice guy, along with the coolest dog i have ever met, could only host a lodge like this. If youre looking for burger king and air conditioning, there are other places for you! If you want to truly unwind and forget your schedule, bills, traffic and waste.... this is the place! Eco-friendly, beautiful, calm, wild, adventure!!!! Take a horseback ride through the jungle to the coolest waterfall, with the most genuine local guide, who will feed you the freshest local fare, breakfast and lunch. Zip line above the canopy, surf, hike, film, escape. All provided at a cost effective, eco smart, valuless rate. The worst part about this place is leaving, then maybe developing the photos that only remind you of how outrageous your thought process is for actually leaving that paradise. I suppose the toucan siren that may wake you with the sunset could be a mark against your morning routine, but..... it allows one to take in colors you may have never seen once your eyes open. Sunrise is early close to the equator, nature wants you up to witness the glory this lodge offers. Who could blame her? Besides, eat a fresh mango, papaya, pineapple, or coconut.... maybe have a beer or some fresh ceviche, and take a nap, anywhere you like. It's Costa Rica, youre on "Tico" time and thats all that matters! P.s. I was lucky enough to be the first guest of the Bella Vista, this place is only going to get better! There are improvements going on daily, that also support only local tradesmen and their families, who will also treat you like their own. Thank you Bert, i'll be back real soon! James

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THRTEIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

My wife and I and two teenager kids stayed here in 2003 and my son, now 21, and I went back in June 2011 because we had such a great experience the first time. The lodge is owned by the legendary Woody Dyer and operated by Bert Woodson. It is located on a bench above Punta Dominical. The road up is a little rough. You need 4-wheel drive but the trip is worth it. The lodge is clean, the woodwork is beautiful and the breeze is refreshing. The view of the coast from Quepos to Panama is spectacular and the colors of sky and ocean are ever changing. The horseback ride to Nayauca falls is not to be missed

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willray13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Our trip to the Bella Vista lodge was wonderful! The lodge is charming, the rooms are elegant and comfortable, and our host, Bert, was fabulous. We savored great food and drink on the veranda as we enjoyed incredible views of the blue pacific. We were looking for quiet elegance & we found it at Bella Vista. The horseback trip to the waterfall is a must! Bert and his Bella Vista Lodge made our trip to Dominical perfect. We would recommend The Bella Vista Lodge to anyone wanting a beautiful, elegant, and quiet place to vacation. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Contact Bert - he'll take care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Baru
Hacienda Baru
#1 of 28 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Lodge

Property: Bella Vista Lodge
Address: Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Lodge is perched 1200 feet above Dominical with panoramic Pacific coastal views of Manuel Antonio to the north and the Osa Peninsula to the south. There are 4 guest rooms with private baths in the Lodge as well as the dining deck. Cabins are also available equipped with small kitchens as well as private decks. A truly authentic Costa Rica experience! Horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, white-water rafting, surfing, sport fishing, hiking, zip lining, birdwatching, whale watching, scuba and snorkeling--all within minutes away. Restaurant by reservation only. Fresh ingredients are gathered at the local markets -- fresh, fresh, fresh. Groups welcome! Family reunions, weddings, photo, music, cooking, and art seminars, yoga/spa/massage, and birdwatchers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Dominical
Bella Vista Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing