We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST hotel in the Dominical area! EXCELLENT service!”
Review of Roca Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roca Verde
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“The BEST hotel in the Dominical area! EXCELLENT service!”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Our family has been returning to Roca Verde for almost eight years, and it just gets better and better with each passing year. Mike and Frank are the nicest people anyone could ever have the good fortune to meet, and their wonderful staff make everyone feel welcome. Edgar, Eric, Juan and all the rest are great people who will make your vacation a great one.

Roca Verde is a funky and perfect place for novice and experienced travelers who want to enjoy Costa Rica to its fullest. The Saturday night party is a blast and the beach is one of the finest in the world. They should charge $300 a night just for the beach alone.

The restaurant and bar is a top notch place to enjoy excellent food and perfect drinks. You will feel like Costa Rica is your home after only a few minutes at Roca Verde's bar.

I am highly suspect of the two or three trolls who have posted negative reviews about Roca Verde. Everyone knows that Roca Verde is secure and is the most stable business in town. The place has NEVER had a theft problem, which leads me to believe that the reviewer below is a competitor trying to defame a wonderful and respectable business. Roca Verde has full-time security on staff and has never had a theft problem, so please don't believe the B.S. from jealous competitors trying to lure you to their inferior roach motels.

The owners at Roca Verde greet every guest with a smile and warm respect. The food and drink are awesome (the Sopa de Mariscos is to die for). The beach is world-class, and the grounds are funky, artistic, plush, and beautiful. All this for much less than you'd think. The prices are are not only reasonable, but downright cheap.

I am an objective reviewer, and I have no ax to grind and no agenda here. I am not affiliated with the owners in any way. I just know from many years' experience that Roca Verde truly is an amazing place to visit and enjoy. If you are planning a visit to the Dominical or Uvita area, I highly recommend this excellent hotel. If you are looking for a true Costa Rica experience, you will be glad you came.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabari99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
35
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clinton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Hotel itself is nice, but right next to a busy highway with lots of semi-trucks. Someone entered our room with a key at 3 a.m. and cleaned us out while we were sleeping. Would not recommend until they put safes in the rooms and change the doors.

The town itself is okay. Nothing charming or endearing. Be prepared to pay Hawaii prices for food and groceries. This is my 5th visit to Costa Rica and would not come back here. Surfing is beach break only. There is no surfing in front of the hotel. Best surfing is about a mile walk up the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2lochsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminRocaVerde, Manager at Roca Verde, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Reviewer REFUSED on three different occasions to sign a police report confirming his allogations that someone had broken into his room, while he was sleeping, without any sign of break-in, without the use of any lights and wal able to locate an Ipod that was hidden in a brief case. Reviewer then proceeded to change his description of the "intruder" various times. Nonetheless he stayed in Dominical at a different hotel knowing that there were criminals on the loose. We hate to think of people in this way, but this story just does not match up. A simple "we're not satisfied with this hotel and would like to move to another" would have sufficed.

Here at Roca Verde we only want our guests to leave with a smile. We have on MANY occasions been more than willing and happy to find hotels for travelers who are looking for something different than what Roca Verde has to offer. We realize that people have different traveling needs and wants. We're here to accomodate those needs and wants to the best of our ability. Thank you for taking the time to see our side of things.

--Frank Witte - General Manager - Hotel Roca Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed at Roca Verde in Dominical for 2 nights during our three week Costa Rica vacation.

The hotel is right on the beach but within a beach walk to town.

Upon arrival, we received an odd cold welcome from the owner that left us feeling unsettled.
Looking through past tripadvisor reviews, we did find one that mentioned something similar. It said:
"Unusual welcome?"
"Owners/managers were not as friendly as one would expect, seemed to not be enjoying the business."

We agree with that old review on that particular point.

As for the hotel itself, it's a really nice design, looks very solid and well maintained. The rooms have a nice balcony (try for 2nd floor), are roomy and airconditioned.

What we liked:
- The rooms
- Cleanliness
- Water temperature and pressure
- Balcony
- The nice pool area
- The restaurant had decent meals at good value

To improve:
- No hair dryer in room
- No safe in room
- Friendliness / welcome from management

Note: One of the staff members, Edgar, was very nice to us.

Conclusion: Considering the cold reception we got, I would like to give a 3.5 star rating, however tripadvisor doesn't have that rating.......so instead, I have given an overall 4 star rating for the hotel itself. as it definetly is better than average for this remote location.

Also: As we were checking out, we noticed that staff had placed a sign at the side of the road advertising rooms for $30 less than what we just paid - ouch!

This is a "cautious" recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

These guys were amazing. Everything from the rooms to their attention was stellar. I actually traveled there in 05 or so but the menu didn't allow that choice but it was truly beautiful and relaxing. Not like some of the other places in CR I stayed where one of the questions was, does your room have hot water? All the rooms were nice and the grounds are beautiful. Right on the beach.

Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank powderhound760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Our first time to Costa Rica. I can't imagine it gets any better than Roca Verde. Clean and adorable rooms...hand painted murals of local flora on the walls. Private porch. Steps to the pool. Ambient music playing softly from the amazing open air bar/restaurant. A short walk up the beach to Dominical. Imagine strolling out onto the secluded beach with crabs scurrying across the sand, dolphins swimming in the distance, iguanas perched on the rocks, sounds of of the jungle always in the background. This is Roca Verde! The owners were very helpful and accommodating with transportation, tours, recommendations, and casual conversation. And a party end all parties on Saturday night!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTownBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Roca Verde was the perfect hotel for our learn-to-surf vacation. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and very clean. The pool area is relaxing. The open-air restaurant has a good variety of food which is very well prepared and not at all expensive. Edgar, Edgardo, and Eddie will take great care of you in the restaurant. Mike and Frank, the owners, will help you find ways to enjoy your stay in Dominical and are very accommodating. We felt like we belonged to the family. We just cannot say enough about the kindness of the people of Roca Verde and Dominical.

Some practical matters: The water is potable, even in the rooms, thanks to a filtration system, so don't worry about drinking water, having iced drinks, or eating fresh fruits and vegetables. There's no phone or TV in the guest rooms. We didn't miss them at all. The hotel is about 2 km from town, which is a lovely walk down the beach or a very cheap taxi ride back. The disco on Saturdays is VERY loud, so bring earplugs if you don't want to party. The beach in front of the hotel is great for beginning surf lessons from Costa Rica Surf Camp...they'll come teach you right there!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

American Owner
Knows and is visited by most of the business owners in the area - who are also American and quite friendly.

Nice hotel.

Most of these people had children the age of our boy (8) who immediately asked any visitor "do you live here?".
They always seem to want one more friend.
The adults were pretty close to this too.

We felt welcome in all of dominical - the surf lessons - the soda's - the breakfast at Tequila Flats - Don Lulo - the hiking and wild life.

Roca Verde was a nice place to have access to it all.
The crowd was fun - the bar is nice - the pool is good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAndLubaAndJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
3.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roca Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Verde

Property: Roca Verde
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Roca Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roca Verde Dominical
Roca Verde Hotel Dominical
Roca Verde Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing