We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location with a wonderful staff!”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The location of Costa-Paraiso is unbeatable - right on the water with gorgeous sunsets! The grounds are beautifully manicured and the staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms were clean and comfortable with great AC! Something that was much appreciated after a long day in the heat. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Domincal area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMB15193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 330 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

Our stay at the Toucan Room was a piece of secluded paradise and laid back appeal with amenities close at hand. Unlike other accomodations in Costa Rica, the property at Costa Paraiso was right to the water's edge with adjacent beaches that were easy to roam and discover. The porch at the Toucan Room had a spectacular view combined with a privacy that would normally accompany an expensive luxury suite. Dominical is just down the road with a convenient supermarket, bars and restaurants. Bryce was fabulously hospitable whether tending to our room requests, telling us what's around or making delicious Tico breakfasts which we savored on the common deck with a panorama of crashing waves, sand, and rock. Jennifer was friendly and helpful and Bob made us feel completely at home. We have already recommended this gorgeous uncompromised gem in paradise to several friends and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajhamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed three nights at Costa Paraiso and loved it. The property is absolutely beautiful, the staff friendly and accommodating, and there was an abundance of wildlife! We saw countless lizards/iguanas, birds, and even squirrels! The private beach area was a five minute walk and my brother enjoyed surfing there with Bryce! Our villa was beautiful as well. Highly recommend if you are in the Dominical area!!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwhittaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Jennifer and Bryce were our most hospitable hosts whether cooking us a fresh breakfast,ordering great pizza and pollo asada from a delivery spot in Uvita or cooking us a delicious lunch with the leftover pollo.The first night we were there ,Bob and Bryce cooked burgers on the grill and had us as guests. It felt like we were personal guests ,not customers.
Bob took my 14 yr old son surfing at his favorite spot on the 2nd day and had other great suggestions for other locations while we were there. Our 4 nights there were fabulous..We enjoyed the great pool...the gorgeous Domincalita beach/cove right there...not to mention the unforgettable sunsets..
The "above and beyond the call of duty" list from Jennifer includes getting us transportation (we didn't rent a car) for all our activities,including lending us her car ,at her insistence, in a pinch one day and giving us a bottle of much-needed suntan lotion from her private stash and told "just keep it..you'll need it".
Rooms are spacious and private...outdoor showers great...wifi worked w/out a hitch..
And the common area/patio around the kitchen area was great for those wanting to enjoy the company of the other guests.
We shall return next "winter break"..

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuneDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We have stayed at CP several times, across two ownerships. We always find the rooms to be very nice with upgraded furnishings, air conditioning, in room safes, helpfull friendly staff and a host of fun locals and regulars who make the stay that much more enjoyable. The location can't be any better. Surfers will enjoy immediate access to several breaks and family can enjoy beachcombing, tidepooling and several spots to play in the surf. The new owners have done a great job on improving the grounds and facilities. The location is just down the road from the town of Dominical, away from the hustle of town, but within close access to what you need. They have added a breakfast offering with reasonable prices and you can access all your internet needs while looking out across the Pacific ocean... perhaps wondering why you brought your computer anyway. Managers can help you with any and all questions and trips you may want to take in the local area. A very inclusive and friendly atmosphere is present here where you may be invited to share dinner with other guests and visitors, or just a few cold ones around the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigSalLakeTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We have visited Costa Rica last year and this year, and have driven from the Carribean, to Arenal, to Guanacaste, and to Oso Penninsula. I must say, this is the most beautiful piece of property we have seen, bar none! We stayed in Tucan's Nest, by far the most romantic room on the property and with the best privacy and view, but all the rooms are nice. If any of you have been in Big Sur, California or up on the Mendocino Coast, this has equal to surpassing beauty and with 85 degree weather and 70 degree water! The breakfasts are fantastic, the gardens simply beautiful, and the pool refreshing. You won't find better in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 35plymouthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I have stayed here a few times over the years, though the latest stay in Aug 2009 was in the midst of the new owners (Canadians) remodeling the villas. They had one building uner renovation, and the other was being rented, though it was fine. The previous time here I had the honeymoon cabina which is great, this time a huge room with kitchen and 2 huge beds and sitting area, we were the only guest besides a nice Tico family that was all 3 generations on holiday. They are also adding a common kitchen outdoors on the patio, which is very cool, with bbq. The pool is great, and I like the location, as Dominical does not have many options that are tranquil and o the beach directly. I have also stayed at the Coconut Grove Cabinas next door which is fine, but the rooms are small, but nice pool and owners there....this hotel is a nice value, and right on the beach, all to yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
421 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
5.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $99 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing