We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't have been nicer”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“couldn't have been nicer”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

this is my first ever trip advisor review and i'm only here because the staff at costa paraiso, and indeed the hotel itself, were fantastic.

its beautiful. the food is great. the smoothies are incredible (steve's cocobomb especially) the staff are superb, very friendly. they couldn't have done more for us.

the area is great for surfing and there are cool waterfalls all over the shop.

me and my 2 english friends had a superb holiday with costa paraiso. Go!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birchface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for taking the plunge into TripAdvisor for us. It was great to have you guys here - we really enjoy fellow surfers around. Helps us get out in the water on days we are feeling lazy!

Cheers,

Jo, Shelby & Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    73
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
106
135
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our family spent over a week at Costa Paraiso and we really enjoyed it. The site is really fantastic: breathtaking views, great pool, nice and clean rooms, wonderful food and a postcard beach all to yourself. The staff was extraordinary in every way. This was our second trip to Costa RIca, and out of the 4 places we stayed in, this one was the best. If you're looking for a quiet holiday to enjoy the sun, beaches and nature, I highly recommend Costa Paraiso.

Room Tip: The Pelican and Dolphin rooms have little stoves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for filling out the review. It was great to have your family here. Hoping to see your family again in the future.

Sandra, Jo & Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have recently ate at the costa paraiso restaurant What a fabulous location. So private, lush gardens, and brilliant service. The food is a unique combination of tico foods with a twist on preparation. Don't go if you are pressed for time. This is an experience to be savoured and enjoyed. The ambiance and the cuisine are a vacation memory for me and my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We really appreciate that you filled out a review. Glad you enjoyed our restaurant. It was wonderful having you and your family.

Cheers,

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family and friends (group of 8) stayed here for a week, and everyone loved it. Sandra and Jo were incredible from the moment we arrived to the minute we left - helping us get acquainted with the area, finding running and walking trails, tours, and just being available! They also suggested other restaurants when we asked for advice, but their restaurant was by far the best in the area. We enjoyed our quaint little room - the Coconut. Indeed you have to accept that the environment lacks a few luxuries that we have at home, but this is the adventure and the thrill of CR. Not only did small acorns fall on the roof during the night, but one morning an iguana fell on the roof from a tree, and we watched him jump to the ground and run away! There was a cacophony of birds every morning, little lizards on the grounds - pura vida! We laughed at it all.

What really stands out:
1) Amazing food at on-site restaurant PorQueNo? - I suggest eating there breakfast/lunch/dinner - we did the tour of the west coast, and nothing compares to this place!
2) Beautiful running beach 20 steps away - almost 2km of gorgeous sand, rarely a soul in sight, with the added challenge of having to check the tides (something wonderfully novel about this). Our kids loved to play in the bay right on the edge of the property, in front of the big island - it was their own private mini-beach.
3) Immaculate grounds - the garden has full time staff to keep it beautiful. Pool was great. View is extraordinary. Kids (8&10) were safe to run around the grounds. Location on the ocean is really hard to come by in the area - this is a gem.
4) Unbelievable value for your money
5) Every single staff member was the perfect balance of helpful and available, while respecting privacy. Sandra and Jo - bravo on your management style, and the success of your place.

Book early... there is such little availability because it is an extraordinary spot.

Room Tip: We liked the Coconut - everything we needed. I will try the Pelican next time, to have a little pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
It was wonderful to have your family here during the holidays Taryn...such amazing people that we were able to get to know over your trip. Very easy to have around and created such a great ambiance in the hotel - the Christmas carolling on Christmas Eve was very cool! You guys are the perfect guests!

Thanks for the kind words.

Hope to see you again sometime (Costa Rica, Canada or Germany)!

Cheers,

Jo, Shelby & Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family of 4 spent 7 nights - both in the Dolphin room and the Monkey Loft. The small hotel only has 5 rooms so it feels like you are staying in someone's home. The views of the ocean are like no other - crashing waves against the rocks, that you can hear from your room. Although you cannot see the ocean from the rooms, a short walk past the pool and you are looking at paradise. The rooms were extremely clean - the best I have seen in a long time. The staff not only cleaned the rooms each day, the changed the sheets and comforters every 3 days!

The onsite restaurant served delicious breakfast and dinners. Daily specials and always a good variety of healthy options. Service is a bit slow, but that is the pace in Costa Rica! And that is why you go on vacation! A big surprise was the mile-long crescent beach that lies adjacent to the hotel - perfect for early morning runs or walks. My husband spent hours bird-watching on the hotel property - a huge abundance of wild life for such a small property. The only thing I would change is the parking lot. The rooms look over the lot and the restaurant brings in alot of traffic throughout the day and especially in the evenings. The cars moving in and out take away a bit from the peacfulness of the rocking chairs on the room balconies. I would reserve the lot for hotel guests and have others park on the road outside the gate - it is a very short walk to the restaurant from the road. Oh, and the small pool was perfect after a long day of surfing or snorkeling. Clean, quiet and great temperature.

Room Tip: Toucan is good for couples, a bit more private. Monkey looks over the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelley602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us Kelly. It really was great to spend the holiday time with you and your family...especially New Year's Eve with all the fireworks. :)

We really appreciate you took the time to fill out a review. Your feedback is very helpful.

Cheers,

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We overnighted here on our way to an excursion between Dominical and San Isidro. We arrived round dinner and were informed that the restaurant was full and could not be served dinner. After our drive from San Jose, we were looking forward to a dinner at the hotel. Bummer! We never imagined needing a reservation. However, Jo, the property manager, sprang into action and accommodated our family of 5 off to the side of the restaurant and arranged a delicious pizza dinner cooked in the restaurant. It turned out great.
The rooms were spacious with a kitchenette. Two things that bothered us: 1. Shocking showerhead. In CR, it's not uncommon to see these electrified shower heads. It heats the water as it flows thru the showerhead, but don't touch it while the water's running or you'll get a mild shock. Our showerhead was squirting out of a leaky gasket and required some shocking readjustments. 2. Dropping nuts. There was some nut/fruit/berry that was dropping off the tree above our bungalow's metal roof. It caused a noise thru out the night that prevented a good night's sleep. I guess that is part of the romance of CR.
We would stay there again. FYI, the driveway leading to the hotel is one of the steepist I've ever seen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It was great to have your family with us...sorry it was just for one night. Your family was a pleasure to have here!

Your feedback is appreciated and very helpful.

Hope to see you again some time.

Cheers,

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Monkey Loft for 3 days while we were scuba diving. No wonder this place is highly rated. The rooms are very clean, and included a functional A/C and hot running water as described. There were two things that made the stay thoroughly enjoyable:

1) Scenery - Costa Paraiso is located right next to the water. When you are dining or just sitting around, you have a great view of the beach. The sunsets were absolutely stunning! I've NEVER seen anything like it. That alone was worth the stay.

2) Food - The venue prides itself on their food and they have every reason to be. Their executive chef, Shelby, is one of the most dedicated chefs I've met. He puts a lot of effort in both the taste and presentation of his food. All items were unique and delicious. You simply cannot go wrong with anything there. They even had many food options for our vegan friend.

Overall, this place is amazing and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to fill out a review Dan.

We happen to think the sunsets are amazing as well! Glad you like the restaurant as well.

Appreciate the recommendation.

Cheers,

Jo & Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
95 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Property: Costa Paraiso
Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing