We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this place!”
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in the pelican's roost in February. There are five units (3 buildings) and the hotel was full the entire time we were there. The thing I liked best was there is so much room and different seating areas that we never had to "share" with other guests. I had a hammock for the entire day and was able to read my book in peace and quiet. Between the pool area, the "smoking area" (an area above the restaurant), a palapa area, the rocking chairs on the front porch of the units - each place provides an area to sit and relax. The landscaping was just lovely and well maintained. Right in front of the hotel the beach is very rocky - it provides endless watching of crashing waves, but no swimming. Around the point is the beach at domincalito, which is okay for swimming, beginning surfing. The beach is great for walking. Our room had a full kitchen, including a blender and a coffee pot (with coffee and filters!). The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. We loved the pizza! The staff was great and helpful. The rooms were clean. If I had one criticism, we could sometimes hear our neighbor's voice, but it was rare. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfehrenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Costa Paraiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 329 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful Costa Rican vacation and our stay at Costa Paraiso was one of the highlights. Can't wait to return. The staff, including Sandra and Pamela were helpful (with transportation and upcoming vacation plans), friendly and funny. The room was perfect: clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette and lovely view of the grounds and sea. The restaurant (breakfast not included) was good--delicious omelets and shakes. Spent some time in the pool and beach-combing. Lot's of iguanas and good bird-watching in the gardens of the hotel. We are already missing it and planning our return to Dominicalito. The room was affordable (for Costa Rica)--about $125 including tax. Almost hate to post this because we'd like to keep it our "secret" but it was such a wonderful experience, we'd like others to know. Thank you again Sandra! We miss you. --Amy & Marianne from el norte de California

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Spent just one night at Costa Paraiso but wish it had been more!!! This is a beautiful property, directly on the ocean with 5 small casitas scattered around. The rooms were beautiful and large, with little kitchens that appeared to have all you could need (we didn't use it).

The setting here is so idyllic, right on the water, that it is hard to leave the hotel to go do other things! The grounds are stunning, and the staff were helpful... the vibe here was just incredibly laid back and easy. Nice little pool for a refreshing dip. Hammocks scattered all around the property - great to just chill out with a book, or lie around and watch the waves.

We ate dinner in a little gazebo down near the water's edge - nothing too elaborate, but delicious pizza and breathtaking views & atmosphere. Breakfast the next morning was delicious!!! The best coffee I have ever had, fruit smoothies, local cuisine which was tasty & well presented.

This was our last stop after spending a week in the Osa region, and we were all disappointed that we couldn't stay longer. While we were there, there were a couple of families with young children and it seemed like a great place to travel with kids.

Would highly recommend this place to anybody who loves the ocean and a totally relaxed, beautiful environment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Claire!!

It was a pleasure having you as a guest!
Come back soon and thank you for the encouring feedback!!

Pura Vida

Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Let's face it, Dominical is a dusty town filled with gringos. Costa Paraiso is a respite from the grime. Now, the surf is Phenomenal. Choose your break depending on conditions and experience. Look for a hotel away from the Dominical. CP is an idyllic location.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trivial_savant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

Glad you liked our spot!!!!
Every day we try to improve to provide a unique experience!!

Come back soon!


Pura Vida


Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Just outside of Domincal is this small hotel. We had the Tucan room; a free standing cottage with a covered terrace that faced the water crashing over the rocks. We could have stayed there all day. It is a short distance to Dominical and all its restaurants. Sandra and Pamela were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Hi HK!

It was a pleasure having you as guests!!
Thank you for choosing us as your final destination!

Hope you come back soon!


Pura Vida

Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Costa Paraiso is one of the loveliest hotels in the area. The beautiful rocky beach, which is rather unique on this coast of Costa Rica, is right there on the foot of the hotel. At night the rocks are lit up and give a diamond-like stunning view from their newly opened restaurant. The stuff is great, everyone was very helpful and cheerful. Ask the stuff for good tours if you are looking for any, it ended up being less expensive and very well organized through their referrals. We had the honor to meet one of the owners who gave us an amazing tour of the hotel and the property. The landscape of the garden is stunning and there are many species of birds flying around, amongst them are some toucans as well. South of the hotel is Dominicalitos, easy surf spot and North of them is Playa Dominical, where surfing is the best. All in all it was a very good decision to stay at Costa Paraiso, and I would suggest it to all of my friends!
Special thanks to Sandra, the manager, who was super helpful in everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Anita

Thank you so much for the encouraging feedback!!
We try to improve our service everyday!

Come back soon!!

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My family and I (three adults, one young child) spent two nights at Costa Paraiso in early January, and our only regret was that we didn't stay long enough. We stayed in the Monkey Loft, and it was perfect for us. The two beds (I think they were queen sized) were comfortable, and the room had a nice sitting area with a table and four chairs, plus a small sink, refrigerator and coffee maker.

The grounds were incredibly beautiful, and we spent time lounging in the hammocks, eating the hotel's delicious, fresh breakfast on the patio, and taking pictures of iguanas, hummingbirds, hermit crabs, and other wildlife there. We were told that toucans had been visiting the hotel (by both the hotel staff and a guest), but we never got to see one. We did see Toucans in Dominical in a far off tree while at a restaurant, though.

We arrived at the hotel just before sunset, and after checking in took a walk down to the beach behind the hotel. The sunset was incredible, the palm trees and volcanic rock made for a gorgeous backdrop. We saw some people in the water, but we just walked along the shore.

We also visited a reptile park nearby called Parque Reptilandia, where we saw several species of poison dart frogs, snakes, lizards, and more. We even saw a basilisk lizard and got to see it briefly "walk on water".

We visited Dominical beach, and unfortunately for us the water was too rough. There were lots of surfers in the water, but really no swimmers or boogie boarders. We tried boogie boarding but basically just got bashed around and covered in sand, so we gave up. We were told that earlier in the day (not high tide) the water was calmer, but there were other beaches in the area that may have been better for us with a small child.

There was a great little area down by the beach with restaurants and some vendors who set up tents and sold souveniers. We loved walking around that area and shopping at these beach vendors.

We loved Costa Paraiso and the Dominical area in general, and definitely would like to return some day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 821DonnaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Donna!

Thank you for the comments! Every day we try to improve our service to offer a unique experience!
Of behalf of the entire staff I must say it was a pleasure having you guys as guest!
Come back soon!


Pura Vida

Pamela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
583 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
5.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $99 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing