We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the bar scene.”
Review of Tortilla Flats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tortilla Flats
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The rooms are really meant for young surfers. For us older beach bums the bar is a wonderful respite from the midday soon. Also after spending all afternoon in the bar the rooms will look a lot better. Dominical is really a special place with really friendly people, even if you're not a surfer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well, the view is nice, but the food is not, let's say it's ok, but, as I said, don't expect too much. The waiters seem to be very inattentive, and they refuse to do separate checks, which is very inconvenient if you want to eat here with a group.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

These guys are obviously catering to surfers, but a great restaurant/bar and good nights sleep for very little cash was pleasantly worth the diversion south - nice folks - the beach was great and for those seeking good surf it seemed to be here.

Room Tip: farther from the bar is obviously quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tumblintumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just stopped here for a quick bite and refreshments after a fantastic day scuba diving with Mad About Diving. The place was jammed, mostly with surfers and what looked like longtime ex-pats. Good music and a great location with views of the surf. We waited a while for service as the place was jam-packed but the casual atmosphere encouraged a patient attitude. Food was good and we enjoyed the visit. Great place for a beer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellylisamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The local bevy of ex-pats seem to hang out here. Good drinks on the bat but quite expensive. The place us right on the beach and oozes in authenticity. I know you have a 200 word minimum, but there isn't really much to add other than its a dumpy place with good expensive frozen drinks. If you're going to Dominical which I highly recommend it's a must.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamasima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This place is very convenient for a traveler. The rooms are what you would expect for under $20, but being beachfront makes the value well worth it. The service at the bar and restaurant is incredible and it is so nice to have people around that truly care about how ur stay in costa rica goes. I def recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PkNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Basic rooms With hot showers with hammock across from beach for 20 dollars Great busiest bar with western owners tunes and sports on tv. Try the charred burgers $7 beers $3. Shops line beach front. Ruff and Ready Dominical

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.3 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#12 of 14 in Dominical
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.8 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortilla Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortilla Flats

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tortilla Flats Hotel Dominical
Tortilla Flats Dominical
Tortilla Flats Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing