We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Dominical beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best choice in Dominical beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The best option for all travellers, beautiful and peacefull at the same time, surrounded by nature. Love and recommend this amazing hotel at 100%, you must visit the beautiful beach and villas!!!
Very friendly staff!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time to make a comment.
We are glad to hear you would recommend us and you enjoyed your stay here.
Did you know that near dominical there amazing waterfalls?
We would love to see you here again at Villas Rio Mar.

Staff of Villas Rio Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    198
    54
    18
    9
See reviews for
153
205
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 6 nights. The staff is wonderful, the food at the restaurant is great, and the grounds are gorgeous. It was great to have a pool to dip in when it was so hot outside.
On the downside - it is about a 15 minute walk into town and when it's muggy, felt longer. My husband wanted to surf, so carrying the surfboard back and forth would have been impossible. Luckily, the place where we rented the board let him keep it there.
There were so many ants in our room. The bathroom doorframe was completely eaten by bugs and we couldn't even figure out where they were coming in. It was just a never ending line of ants. There was also a gecko in our room who chirped really loudly each night, but I guess that's CR for you. The major downside to this hotel is the bed. It was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in and the pillows were just as bad. We had 6 horrible nights of sleep when we were here, which was so unfortunate because otherwise, it would be a wonderful place to stay. The last day we were there, we did see some mattresses being moved in and out, so hopefully they are getting new ones for the rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for staying with us.

We are glad to hear you liked the food in our restaurant and our gardens, we try hard to get them in a good condition. It is good to hear you found a solution for the board, we know we are a little bit out of town but we like to give our guest a good environment to relax.

We are sorry to hear about the ants, because we are located very close to the jungle we can’t guarantee things like that will happen, but we always want to do the best for our guest and try to solve problems as soon as possible.

We also feel sorry for the bad nights you had because of the mattresses. We are working on it right now.

We hope your next stay here will be better!

Staff of Villas Rio Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went in the off season for my 37th birthday and loved it! The staff was fantastic, the front desk was helpful with any questions we had and were very nice. The pool was large and beautiful, since there were fewer guests it was never over crowded. The entire property was clean and full of flora and fauna. We walked into town everyday, it was a nice walk on a dirt and rocky road, and sections are lit at night (you pass the police station) and it is mostly level. I would definitely stay here again. I loved the pool so much, it was hard to go to the black sand beach.

Room Tip: The floors are tile so be careful what you track inside. The patio portion of the room was nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely commentary! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay here at Villas Río Mar.

We are thrilled you liked the service and had a wonderful birthday. We are also really glad you could relax in our pool and natural surroundings.

It's great to hear you enjoyed town as well!

We can't wait to have you back here. Thank you again for your kind words.

Villas Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have visited this hotel for massages, and recently had a deep tissue massage from Fabiola. She is fantastic and I definitely recommend her to anyone looking to relax. The staff is also very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joumana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendation.

We are very happy you enjoyed your massage and were able to relax. We're glad you were pleased with the service.

Thank you once again for your lovely commentary. We hope to see you soon at Villas Río Mar.

Villas Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We came back late at night, and there were nobody to give us our room key. After more than 30 noking real hard and making a lot of noice, we found him sleeped on a sofa close to us with a pipe close to him, like if he was doing drogs.

Room Tip: Our room was far from restaurant, pool and reception, quiet though, WiFi never received at the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Primero que todo, queremos ofrecerle una disculpa por lo acontecido en días pasados por la situación que usted hace mención.

Lo otro es darle las gracias por sus comentarios, siempre son bienvenidos y nuestro propósito es darle seguimiento a lo que acontece en nuestro hotel en pro del beneficio de nuestros clientes, debido a su queja queremos informarle que hemos tomado cartas en el asunto y hemos despedido al guarda el cual estaba en entrenamiento en nuestro hotel en esos días.

Nos preocupa la seguridad y tranquilidad de nuestros clientes y amigos. Esperamos verlo por acá nuevamente en un futuro no muy lejano.

Staff Villas Río Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here with a few friends for only 1 night. Wish I could've stayed longer. This place is great. Staff is super friendly, the rooms are pretty nice for CR no chain standards, and their restaurant is ridiculously good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAGIANT611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely commentary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here at Villas Río Mar.

We are glad you liked the service and were pleased with your rooms.

It's great to hear you liked the restaurant, and we hope next time you will be able to stay a little longer.

Thank you once again for your kind words and your recommendation.

Villas Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

On a recent trip to the extreme southern areas of Costa Rica i stayed at Rio Mar. it has a great location in Dominical within walking distance to everything. The best staff I ran across on my three week trip. I was there 4 days but by the second morning everyone was greeting me by name and were very helpful throughout my stay. The rooms were large and the AC worked! not so with every place I stayed during my vacation. There was a nice covered stting area outside with a fan which became my place to sit and enjoy the tropical weather.
Estella at the front desk was extremely helpful, drawing maps, telling me the best spots to go, and following up on any and every request I made during my trip. I will return to this hotel because I now have a friend there. Note: The short road in will make you want to turn around but dont.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are super quiet but a couple of minutes walk to the pool and eating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck111302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely commentary. We are pleased you felt comfortable here at Villas Río Mar,

We are happy the location was a good fit for you, that the service and people around you were friendly, and that you liked our personal touch.

We are glad you felt comfortable in your rooms with working AC and enough space, and that you were able to relax in your veranda.

It's wonderful to hear you made a friend and that the short road didn't put you off!

Thank you once more for your kind words. We hope to see you return in future.

Villas Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.9 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Property: Villas Rio Mar
Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing