We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing”
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Villas Rio Mar for 3 nights while on a tour with G Adventures.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and very well manicured. We saw a variety of birds, wildlife, flowers and trees on the property daily. Our room was comfortable with 2 king sized beds (not everyone had this thought). Each room also had an outdoor patio with a table, chairs, sink and mini-fridge all enclosed with mosquito curtains. We spent almost every evening on our patio and enjoyed it immensely.

The pool was fantastic! It was refreshing and fun to float around on the pool noodles that are provided.

The staff at the hotel was helpful and pleasant, especially Stella (manager) and Samantha (waitress).

We walked to the beach/town one day and it took about 15 minutes. Great to wander around the shops are have a drink on the beach.

To stock up on supplies, visit the grocery store up on the main road (beside the ATM). The variety and prices are much more reasonable than the small grocery store in town.

Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing, tropical vacation

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TempAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Public Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. We indeed have 3 different rooms. We have Standard Rooms that include 2 single beds or a king-size bed, we also have superior rooms that have 1 single beds and 1 king-size bed and our Junior Suites have 2 king-size beds. Our standard rooms automatically have a hammock.
Unfortunately it is not possible to put a hammock in one of the other rooms.

We hope you enjoyed and to see you again!

The staff of Villas Rio Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    207
    57
    18
    9
See reviews for
165
221
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

El cuarto estuvo muy bien equipado~! Todo estuvo genial, la piscina, el restaurante, la comida, el servicio!

Nos gusto mucho el hotel~! De seguro regresaremos cuando vayamos otra vez para Playa Dominical! :-D

Everything was well equipped! All good, very relaxing place to stay. The pool, the restaurant, the food and the service~! Everything was right! Definitely the best place to stay, when going to Dominical! :-D

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Public Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your great comments.

We indeed have 3 different rooms. We have Standard Rooms that include 2 single beds or a king-size bed, we also have superior rooms that have 1 single beds and 1 king-size bed and our Junior Suites have 2 king-size beds. Our standard rooms automatically have a hammock.
Unfortunately it is not possible to put a hammock in one of the other rooms.

We hope you enjoyed and to see you again!


The staff of Villas Rio Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were very satsified with this hotel. Very kind and helpful staff, a beautiful hotel area with a nice and clean pool. Our room was also clean but a little bit small. The room had a big outside area with a fridge, sofa, chairs, a table and a hammock which was surrounded by a huge curtain/moscito net. So in the evening we could sit outside to relax and enjoy really comfortable.

It takes you about 5 minutes to walk to Domincal and about 10 Minutes to the beach. Dominical is a beautiful small village with lots of opportunities to eat and also some locations to make party next to the beach.

However Dominical Beach is not to beautiful and little bit stony. Probably a good location for surfing but when you just want to chill out and enjoy the sun I would advice the beach at Marino ballena, which is next to Dominical and is much more sandy and beautiful. You have also to be careful in the water as there is a strong streaming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words!

You had the Standard Room. All our rooms have a terrace with fridge however our Junior and Superior suites don’t have a hammock, but do contain air-conditioning and a TV.
Another idea is the Dominicalito beach. It is very relaxing and you have enough opportunity to swim!
Thank you for your responds and we hope to see you again!

The staff of Villas Rio Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a true gem. i found this hotel by chance and what a pleasant suprise this was.
The grounds are immaculate. The rooms are spacious enough with your main living area outside which is a nice change. Having the property set back in the Jungle keeps the area cooler.
The staff are amazing, they made me fell like i had been coming to this hotel for years.
I would highly recommend this hotel for everyone.

Many thanks to Estelle, Alejandra, Carol and Pili, for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLS4Mex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear friend.

Thank you for your terrific comments. We try to make you feel as friend of Villas Río Mar staff and it is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

It has been a hot couple of weeks indeed. The beach and our pool will also help cooling of these days!

See you next time!

Villas Río Mar staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salm01@optonline.net
Level Contributor
119 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was a repeat visit, since we spent a week at the resort a year ago. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. Breakfast is wonderful and the bar tender and bar maids attentive. We strongly reccomend Villas Rio for its location and high valur service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevi_Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear friend

Thank your for taking the time to write the review! We really appreciate the insight.
We indeed do everything to let everybody enjoy its time at Villas Rio Mar. We are very glad you enjoyed, and see you next time!

Villas Rio Mar staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Villa del Mar on Dec 24th and 25th.
Our main reason to stay here was to be in a tourist spot for Xmas eve and day to hopefully enjoy some Xmas activites for our kids.
Unfortunately, apart from one single Xmas tree and the usual over-priced special Xmas menu, nothing else happened....::((
The resort is really nice, lots of green space and altough many villas are close by, the architectural concept gives you some isolation. They pay high attention to service, cleanliness and quality of food. Every meal there was really good. On our way out, as I was checking out, the maid promptly called the reception to inform them of all the stuff I was about to leave behind, WOW, never seen that in 30 years of travels!!!!!
Rooms are nice but small. Bathroom is really basic with minimal raking. Lovely outside area with sofas, fridge and curtains to isolate you from passers-by.
Pool is nice.
Only negative side, the clientele is kind of old. Lots of grey hair around the pool, I had to tell my boys to keep quiet as all those Germans and Americans 60+ were staring at them....

Room Tip: No animation or music in this resort, so you can ask for a villa close to the pool if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebeauceronintrépide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We try to provide our best service and our full
attention to every client.

Christmas is a very big holiday in Costa Rica. Most of the Costa Rican
families celebrate this with a Christmas tree, typical food, fireworks. Last year we decorated the hotel with 2 Christmas trees and we chose to have live music on December 31st.

Our clientele is indeed very diverse, this is something that we are very proud of!

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see your family next year.

Villas Rio Mar staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed four wonderful nights in Villas Rio Mar and contemplated remaining there for the remainder of our two week vacation. Although one of the more expensive options in Dominical, this resort lives up to everything they promise and more. Our room was clean and well equipped, the a/c was in good working order, there was a small fridge on the patio with two cushioned seats. The resort is located down a dirt road that runs along the river, it is only a five minute walk into town and about ten to the beach. If you think you might be out past sunset bring a flash light, the road has some lights and goes right beside the police station so it is safe but it feels a bit better if you can see what is between the road lights. If you do forget your flashlight you might be pleasantly surprised as you gaze up at the amazing stars and watch the fireflies in the field.

The staff are super friendly and helpful, we had problems getting our hot water in the shower working (red is cold/blue is hot) the first night and they had somebody out immediately to assist. The restruant is not the cheapest place to eat in town but perhaps the best food, the tuna sandwich was amazing....anyplace that can make a tuna sandwich taste that delicious is a truly great place to eat. Almost every night we were blessed with an encounter on the patio of creatures with many legs, countless geckos, a giant grasshopper as big as my hand, a huge spider and a very large winged bug with big bulging eyes. We love these sorts of things, if this is not your cup of tea you may not be the happiest at this resort....or any other in Costa Rica for that matter.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Trish,

Thank you for your nice comments! We are trying to be there at any time for our clients. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As you explained, the walk from Villas Rio Mar to the beach is about fifteen minutes. It is a very pleasant walk next to Baru River.

Thank you for your stay and we hope to see you again.

Villas Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.9 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
410 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Property: Villas Rio Mar
Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing