We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Rio Mar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Lindo Hotel(Dominical)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diuwak(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tortilla Flats(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Domilocos(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Verde(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Costa Paraiso(Dominical)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfall Villas(Dominical)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
314
238
62
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
238
62
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful groundsbig pooltennis courtsjunior suiteswim up barmaintained poolmosquito nettingtypical costa rican breakfastrooms are niceenjoyed our staysitting areagreat poolsurrounded by naturerice and beansmini fridgegreat place to stayclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 648 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week at the end of Jan/beginning of February. The people that run it are very nice. The restaurant is quite good. Although the breakfast is of the bland American/English type.
Great pool and great location not far from the town and the beach.
I highly recommend asking for a room with AC because the standard room or whatever it's called does NOT have an AC.
Also a secret tip. When using the shower most people are used to cranking the handle all the way till the end to get to the hot water. But here if you merely turn it just a bit (1/2") on or maybe a little more you will have a very hot shower.

Also just a warning if you are not used to amphibians in your room you'll most likely have 1 or 2 geckos or similar species scurrying around your room.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your comments. We usually includes the tipycal costarrican breakfast but most of the time we offer buffet breakfast without extra charge like we offered you, this buffet includes gallo pinto (rice and beans) eggs, toast, bread, hams, sausages, 2 types of cereal, fruits, pancakes, potatoes, orange juice, coffee, tea, and yogurt, this a courtesy for all our guest, but all your comments are more than welcome.

We really appreciate you had a relaxing holiday with us.


Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

Villas Río Mar staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Admittedly, the bumpy dirt road to this hotel does not look very promising, but once you are past the entrance gate, you'll find yourself in a true paradise. Their rooms are nice and spacious, their beds huge. The rooms are scattered throughout the property in a giant park, which is very well taken care of and which adds to the symbiotic touch with the natural surroundings. No complaints, whatsoever!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you so much for such nice words, we are an eco jungle resort surrounded by the tropical forest and we are agree with you maybe it is a 800 meters of dirty road but once you arrive we will do everything possible to make you feel confortable and relaxed. Very happy to hear you could enjoyed the place.

See you next time!

Villas Rio Mar staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here only for two nights but we LOVED it. Great location, great rooms. The scenery was so beautiful you felt very secluded but at the same time you can walk right into the town. The staff was amazing, everyone was extremely nice to us. We did a couple of tours nearby and the tour coordinator at Villas Rio Mar was so nice and helpful. I recommend staying here!!! It was a really great place to stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Darin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hola Darin

Thank you so much for take your time and write such nice words about Villas Rio Mar. We are very happy to meet you and we hope to see you back soon. All our staff we´ll be glad to see you next time.

Pura vida,

Villas Rio Mar staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned home from two weeks at Villas Rio Mar. This property is located on an acreage between the rain forest and the Baru river. It is a half mile walk to Dominical and the beach which has a good break for surfers. Location is sublime. The villas are situated in beautifully landscaped grounds. Fabulous flowers, shrubs, and trees make it a very pretty place, and it also makes it friendly for animals, birds, and butterflies! We saw many lizards, toucans, other birds, and butterflies!! I saw a blue Morpho butterfly while walking down the path to breakfast, which for Costa Rica lovers, is a real experience!

The reception staff is very friendly, helpful, and just plain nice. It was my pleasure to be treated like a friend, not just a guest! The hotel arranged the activities we requested--so easy! What we asked for, they made happen!

Again, the bar and restaurant staff were just super! Everybody speaks good English and tolerates my attempts at Spanish with good grace! The restaurant breakfast is a typical Costa Rican breakfast, nothing fancy, but really good. Other meals are pretty basic, but we didn't feel they were overpriced. If you wanted something cooked differently, the chef would do that.

We stayed in a Superior Room which had a king bed and a single bed. All villas have a patio area in front with a ceiling fan and netting that can be drawn in the evening against the insects. Our children stayed in a Junior Suite which is two king beds. Both rooms have good air conditioning. They were kept very clean by an excellent housekeeping staff.

There is a spa with body treatments and massage, very, very reasonable!

This was my third time at Villas Rio Mar, and I hope this review helps you to see why I keep going back!

Room Tip: It's hard to choose a bad room since they are villas, four to a building, and are situated more or less privately on the grounds. Ours were toward the spa and were a bit more private, I think.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifesabeach24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Cinthya

We are very happy to hear you had a nice stay with us. We definitely met a wonderful family. That’s what we want to make them feel, be more than a guest, a friend of Villas Rio Mar. Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see soon!

Best regards,

Villas Rio Mar staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was by all means our worst stay in Costa Rica.
Upon arrival in Dominical (a sleepy CR village with a dirty beach and nothing to do) you have to walk about 1 km or take a taxi (1 min for $5) up a dirt road which leads to the resort. You won't be up to walk back to the village at night because it's not lit up, which makes you basically stuck at the resort where the only thing you can do at night is to visit the ridiculously overpriced hotel restaurant which very mediocre food.
We stayed in a standard room (apparently the superior rooms are much better), which is filthy and has merely space for a bed. There is a terrace where you could relax if it wouldn't for all the bugs. The bugs are also flourishing in the room.
Moreover, the reception staff are rude and snooty.
This is not a spa, unless you expect to pay European or US prices.
This is a family resort so if you're enjoying screaming kids splashing water in the dirty pool - this is your thing.

Avoid Dominical and definitely avoid Villas Rio Mar

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear client,

We appreciate all our clients comments, but we cannot understand why you say there is nothing to do, what you can do in the resort is relax in our swimming pool, or even better to visit places around, waterfalls, beaches, hiking, trails.
In our restaurant the most expensive dish is $22. A range price is $8 to $22, for good and quality food.

Standard room has a nice terrace in the front, actually is the biggest terrace which has mosquito net to avoid the insects, the same for the windows of the rooms.

We are too far to be rude with our clients, all our staff is more than happy to assisting our clients and make them to feel like a friend. Whatever they need to arrange if we are able to do we do it.

About our spa, we have reasonable prices, in most time they are cheaper than other places, and our masseuse are professional ladies. But you did not use the spa, I believe, if you had used it, you were able to give us a better feedback.

We are an eco-jungle resort what that’s mean, we are in the jungle, we are friendly with the environment and people. We are friendly people who want to make friend and memorable stay.

Best regards,

Villas Rio Mar staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews