We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot, vegan friendly, great drinks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moca Cafe - CLOSED

Moca Cafe
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Description: Relaxed cabina with views and outdoor seating over the Rio Baru, vegan/vegetarian menu with specialty coffee, smoothies and tea. Delicious, quality breakfast and lunch offerings.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, vegan friendly, great drinks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Spot is chill and on the river. You can hang there for a while and sit in a hammock or outside at a table. The staff are amazingly nice and will cater to being vegan or whatever you are. The chocolate banana shake is what's up. As well as the vegan pancakes! Definitely hit this place up.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best Coffee, Smoothies, and Pancakes in Dominical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

When I hunt for places, I look for good vibes, friendly service, organic where possible food, good coffee, and good tunes. Moca has it all - plus an awesome location! The WiFi is also solid, and Josh puts his love and passion for food and drinks into everything he does.

After a big night one night, I walked in there for a health boost and he threw in some bonus Goji berries with an intuitive sense that I need a little extra goodness. His pancakes were probably the best pancakes I've ever tasted.

As an eco enthusiast, I also look for places that support local folks - and Josh takes this seriously and is spending time to train his team and invite them into the Moca family.

If you're looking for a great spot to chill and get some nourishing breakfast - to meet local folks - to work / write, and to have a smoke with your coffee (in a nice and designated outdoor area so that non smokers aren't bothered) - then this is your spot!

And... if you go... tell Josh that Rod said hi and to not forget about visiting him in Indonesia!

:~)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evo_rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great coffee, food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I enjoyed a great Americano coffee in the morning, along with friendly service and chat with Josh. I brought my wife back for lunch and had a wrap, salad and spring rolls. Great view of Rio Baru.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jkarennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finally found good coffee in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were so happy to find this place with great coffee and went there several times. Friendly and helpful with questions about the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious Food and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you're looking for a delicious and healthy breakfast (with a delicious smoothie) check this adorable spot out run by an awesome dude from Canada, Josh. He was the perfect morning host for us on our last morning in Costa Rica. The poached eggs with sweet potato rosti are absolutely tasty -- especially when paired with the green avocado smoothie. The view is awesome over the Rio Baru which you can see feed into the Pacific. A must visit if you're in Dominical.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moca Cafe also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing