We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway”
Review of La Tierra Divina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tierra Divina
Ranked #5 of 15 Dominical B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed in the Ocean View Cabana for 10 days in November. Beautiful views! When you wake up in the morning, you can see the ocean from your bed! I saw some of the most gorgeous sunsets here. Very peaceful. I got to watch the monkeys play almost everyday I was there and the toucans loved the orange tree right outside my cabana. The food was fantastic! Very good service. Beds were very comfortable. Be sure to check out the waterfall just down the road! Wonderful place to swim and words cannot describe the beauty. Very friendly and safe place to stay! Loved it! Will definitely return and highly recommend this place to my friends and family!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMichelleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Troy and Becky and their twins (still in Beckys belly) treated us so nicely. Their peaceful souls are in balance with the essence of the place. The magestic mountain backdrop covered with life and the view of the open ocean, humble oneself and show existence in another perspective.
The cabins are beautiful and cozy.
Our stay was short but extremely magical.

Congratulations Troy and Becky for creating such a beautiful paradise.

Room Tip: Natural fitness center! Excellent for hikes on the gravel roads. Also be sure to have a 4 x 4 vehicl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at la tierra divina for three nights at the end of our holiday. What a stunning place! The villas are new, modern, clean and beautifully decorated by Becky. You definitely need a good 4WD to get up the steep hill. The one going up from Dominical is more bumpy than the one from Uvita which is more steep, but both take you in about 15min to the centre of Dominical. Troy and Becky are lovely people and they were very kind and accommodating. They welcomed us with some home made cocktails and while we sat down with them the sun was slowly disappearing behind the trees and coastline. What a stunning view! The pool is new and clean and refreshing, but most days we spent at the beach in rather Dominical (nice market and bar and laid-back vibe), or in the direction of Uvita (playa hermosa, quit, nice shade from the trees, basic facilities). What a great feeling to come back to your own villa at the end of the day with all that luxury surrounding us. We often just sat down watching the stars in the sky and all the fireflies surrounding us in. The trees. The breakfast prepared and served by Becky and Troy is very likely the best we ever had at a hotel or B&B, and a great variety from all the other Costa Rican breakfasts we had during our stay. We would recommend this place to any one visiting Costa Rica. What a true gem!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Marlies R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The moment you make the drive up the mountain the adventure begins; traveling through little streams, breathtaking views, and not to mention there are animals everywhere! Troy and Becky were extremely hospitable, they make you feel like it’s a home away from home. You are moments away from the beach and wake up every morning to the sounds of the jungle. You couldn’t ask for more relaxing place. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the ocean view room from April 23-26. This was a great place to get away to after a day full of activities in Dominical and Uvita and playing in the waves of the ocean. Relaxing, quiet and surrounded by nature. Both Becky and Troy were very accommodating and we found it to be a peaceful home away from home. Our room was very new and clean, we enjoyed a fresh and delicious breakfast on our porch every morning and heard howler monkeys and toucans all around us. Troy and Becky (and Yoda, Spaz, Sampson and your other four-legged friend), thanks for a lovely stay. - Anna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My friend and I just spent a Wonderful 2 nights at La Tierra Divina! We had looked at places in Dominical and I am THRILLED we stayed off the beaten path and out of town. The road was a bit tricky (we rented a fiat panda) but still made it OK. We arrived to a beautiful place to stay! It is quiet, peaceful with plenty of wildlife. We saw our first toucans while lounging in the pool, monkeys came and spent the night as well. The meals were heaven! Troy and Becky are great host, they made us feel welcome and have thought of everything a person could want. I will be back husband in tow in the future!

Room Tip: There are 3 cabinas that are all set up really well with a coffee maker, fridge, internet and TV alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeanneB969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Becky and Troy (and Marvin also) are great hosts here. Rooms are new, compfy, and plenty of hot water in the beautiful shower. They have a nice pool for cooling off. The ocean view room has an amazing view of the ocean, while the two jungle rooms offer privacy. As another person wrote, the breakfast is very good! We were lucky enough to have Becky's spaghetti dinner and a great fish dinner across the street at Burt's. I would recommend staying here for a few days if you are in Dominical, and a private tip, have Marvin take you on a horseback ride to the big waterfall. Thanks Becky and Troy and Marvin for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
528 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
601 reviews
3 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
428 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#12 of 14 in Dominical
101 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tierra Divina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tierra Divina

Address: Escaleras, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range: $80 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tierra Divina 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tierra Divina is one of the most exquisite places to stay in the south pacific region of Costa Rica. Unlike most B&B's, La Tierra Divina is unique in that it offers separate, round shaped cabinas in which you will enjoy the privacy and beauty of nature that envelopes the property. You will also enjoy the daily gourmet breakfast that is served on your private balcony each morning. We are located about 3 hours from San Jose, and only minutes from the beach. There are two different types of cabinas to choose from. The first one is our Ocean View Cabina which offers 360° views. You can see all the way to Manuel Antonio, as well as the never ending horizon across the beautiful Pacific ocean. It also provides magnificent views of the immense, dramatic jungle behind the property. The amenities of this cabina include a king size bed, flat screen LED TV with satellite, Wi-Fi, ceiling fans, an in-room safe, private bathroom with hot water, as well as a small kitchenette which features a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. The second type of cabina is the Jungle Immersion Cabina. There are two of these cabinas available, and they allow you to be surrounded by all of the elements of the natural jungle. You can hear the sound of the babbling quebrada (creek), while at the same time experience the spectacular view of the monkeys and toucans as they soar in the tree tops above. The amenities of this cabina include a queen size bed, flat screen LED TV with satellite, Wi-Fi, ceiling fans, an in-room safe, private bathroom with hot water, as well as a small kitchenette which features a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your La Tierra Divina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tierra Divina Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing