We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pacific Edge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pacific Edge
Ranked #4 of 14 Dominical B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2006

Pacific Edge sits in an absolutely beautiful spot and the cabins make good use of the view while providing guests with privacy. We spent the first 6 nights of our honeymoon there and would go back in a heartbeat to swing in the hamock on the porch with wine in hand.

Listening to the Toucans and Howlers, watching the Morphos flutter by was incredible.

George is very friendly and while business-like we found Suzy very approachable (after a long day we arrived very, very late and Suzy expressed relief that we had made it safely, she wished we had called as they were beginning to worry, but she got a beer and a bottle of wine out for us to relax with )and incredibly helpful as we organized our time there.

If you don't like dogs this probably isn't the place for you. We love 'em and so the 4 big, friendly,dogs were a bonus.

Highly recommend Pacific Edge.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    15
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2005

This was an outstanding place to stay with warm and friendly hosts. The cabinas were perfect and a great place to get away from it all with plenty of privacy. Suzy is an excellent cook and when we left, we felt like one of the family. It is a great location to explore the pacific coast of Costa Rica with an endless list of things to do ... or simply enjoy the view from Pacific Edge and hang out at the pool. Anyone who has a bad experience at this place should look a hard look at themselves.

Barbara and Jack

  • Stayed May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2005

Our rental car labored up the hill, but when we made it to Pacific Edge, we were awed by the view! This place is remote, but worth the drive. Our small cabina was spotless, though not luxurious. We loved the hammock on the porch and also the bird viewing platform looking out over the ocean view. This place is such a good value. We ate breakfast here, but went down the hill for dinner. We would highly recommend Pacific Edge and will be back some day.

  • Stayed February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2005

We have just learnt that the manager Suzy, contacted our tour operator in Costa Rica and lied about us leaving a book and that she needed our E-mail to contact us. When she got what she asked for, she contacted us and complained that we hadn't paid for a salad - a salad that we had not in fact ordered or ate. Her caretaker in her absence reworked the bill and I paid. She complained that she forgot to add 10% (not my fault) and that she made a phone call (to Adobe) for us that cost 50c that we didn't pay for - we did forget this though she never asked for it.
The place was often noisy, thanks to 4 large dogs and drunk guests. Not a place to get away from it all. If it is the last resort, get the most expensive rental - you may get some sleep before midnight. Don't expect service with a smile either - it is more like hard work. The Brit was congenial.

Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happynites, Owner at Pacific Edge, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
After waiting 5 years for this review to go away because of the time lapse, but i am finally going to have to remark about this. Firstly i did ask the travel agent who booked these folks for their email address. In all the cabins, there is a very large information book of all the activities in the area, and the restaurants. This book just to replace is quite costly, as it is at least 50 pages. I called the tour agent to ask for the email and explained to her in spanish, that i was missing the information book and perhaps inadvertently the guest had packed it with their belongings. I emailed them to ask if they had the book and if so to please post it back to me. I really do not know what the agent said to the people, but this was my main reason for obtaining their address, not to accuse them of not paying for a $3 salad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2004

We spent 4 nights here in late May and loved every second of it. Sits way up on a ridge with a FABULOUS view (sometimes including whales) of the ocean and coastline below. Owners Suzy and George (American/Brit) are great folks "boat people" who have sailed and lived all over the world. The cabins are small, but very efficient. Shipshape, just like you'd expect with sailor owners. The four are cantilevered down a slope, so you don't look into your neighbors windows. Windows on four sides to collect breezes (there are some up this high). Each cabin has a great open air porch with hammock, table and chairs. All 4 have the fabulous ocean view. Grounds are lovely with small pool, open air dining and bar area. Secure parking for four or so cars. But not that much else up there. Though development has started.

This is a GREAT lodging choice!!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
0.0 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#6 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge

Property: Pacific Edge
Address: Km. #148, Playa Dominicalito, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a finger ridge 600 feet above the sea, perched on an all around drop off. One sided a incredible white water ocean view with fantastic sunsets. On the other side a densely wooded primary rain forest, alive with the cry of howler monkeys and toucans. Pacific edge is designed for the 'eco-minded guest' seeking an imaginative escape in an environment that is both picturesque and unspoiled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Edge Hotel Dominical
Pacific Edge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing