We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool but otherwise unpleasant stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diuwak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diuwak
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Richmond
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pool but otherwise unpleasant stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Hotel Diuwak gets an A+ for their pool. That is where our accolades end. The most bothersome part of our experience was the very moldy room. Mold was clearly visible on the ceiling and the smell was unbearable. With no screens on the windows, we did not feel comfortable opening the windows to increase air circulation. Yes, we were traveling in the rainy season but no other place we stayed in had the same issue. One person in our room suffered a terrible allergic reaction from the mold and could not sleep all night. During the night, i was awoken by drops of water falling on my face from the air conditioning unit above the bed, also an unpleasant experience. Another word of caution, the food at the hotel's restaurant was barely edible and there are other local places to eat which are much better. In terms of service, we were not happy that the hotel clerk ran the charges on our credit card upon check-in rather than at check-out. This was an inconvience because we wanted to split the charges between 2 cards and the clerk would not re-do the transaction.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondChihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    28
    23
    34
See reviews for
38
60
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

Come to Dominical with the right expectations, and you'll have a fantastic time. This little backpacker town with one street and no pavement doesn't really have anywhere nice to stay. From what we saw, the Diuwak is the best there is. We stayed in a standard room there.

The good: Location right on the pathway to the beach. Lovely, lizard-filled grounds. A pool. Nice patios in front of every room. The Green Iguana surf camp, which is based at the hotel. The incredibly fun people we met there.

The bad: Beds are small and not terribly comfortable. A/C, if you have it, is a tiny, moderately-functional wall unit. (We had to change rooms after it stopped working one night at 2 a.m.) Slat windows may or may not be broken. Zero soundproofing. Shower has lukewarm water at best. Friends in another room had a problem with bugs.

The ugly and/or bizarre: The pool, so lovely on our first day, was never cleaned. By the time we left it was a swampy green and too gross to go into. There's a great open-air bar by the pool, but it seems to be unused and is falling into disrepair. That's too bad -- it looked awesome.

That being said, the Diuwak was a fine place to stay. It was fairly clean, and you don't go to this charming beach town to stay in your room. But arrive with your expectations in check.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunkirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

I've stayed at Diuwak last Jan 2nd till Jan 4th. The Hotel is nice with confortable rooms and nice gardens. The pool area is great sorrounded by small gardens with plants and somm rest chair around. At night you can sleep calm and with no sorrounding sound. The restaurant in beautiful and the italian food menu is very good.
I certainly will get back to the hotel anytime I want to have a very good time in CR, is just 50 meters from the beach, and the staff at the front desk is very professional and helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cescasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

Diuwak is located just a couple of blocks off the beach in beautiful Dominical, Costa Rica. The rooms are very nice and clean with air conditioning, TV, refrigerators and some have kitchenettes available. The decor is based on local indigeneous people. The name Diuwak means "People of the Sun". The pool is fabulous surrounded by lush plants and a couple of guard-iguanas. The staff are incredible; friendly, helpful and became our good friends in our short visit. The restaurant on the premises is called TuLu (which means Full Moon) and offers a very nice Italian menu. The pizza is fabulous! The wine selection is very good as well. There are several tours available and the staff will help you choose and make all the arrangements for you. There is also a surf school on the premises. Several of the staff speak excellent english. Internet is available in the lobby. I can't think of any amenity that was lacking at Diuwak, and we are looking forward to returning the next time we visit Costa Rica.

  • Liked — Friendly, beautiful atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank svhayes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

All i can say is, that of all the hotels i have stayed in costa rica, this little place was the best, but, yes a llite spencive, but was worthed.
John Fisher. thanks

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Crhistian-Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

My son and I booked our room as part of a Green Iguana Surf Tour. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The grounds and rooms were well kept by Costa Rican standards and cleaner than many places I've stayed in the U.S.

Mid-way through the visit I asked to downgrade from a bungalow, because we really didn't need the kitchen and extra sitting area. It took a few hours to get an answer, because the owner of the hotel had to be contacted, but in the end they allowed it and we saved $60 a night. We went about our day and when we got back the new key was waiting and they told us to move our convenience.

Be aware that the Internet access is not free. It was $1.50 per 1/2 hour. The PC's they have in their Internet area are OK, but not great. I never could get my laptop to connect to their network. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The friendliness of staff
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank agabuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

I stayed at this hotel in Feb 08 with a few friends on a surf trip. We originally reserved the place for three nights, but our travel plans had changed and when we checked-in, we informed the front desk that we'd only be staying two nights. They were very unaccommodating and told us we'd have to pay for three nights regardless. We asked to speak to the manager and were told he was out for an hour or so. We came back in an hour, he wasn't there so we asked to speak with him on his cell phone. We were then told he doesn't speak english, not a problem we said as one of our guys speaks spanish. The story then changed that he was in San Jose for a few days and not available. Bottom line they already had our credit card number and were interested in making as much money from us as possible, and certainly didn't care if we were satisfied customers. They ripped us off.

I will say the hotel is nice, rooms were nice and it's close to the beach, but that certainly doesn't make up for the fact that it's really expensive and they'll try to rip you off.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dominical hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
3.8 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diuwak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diuwak

Property: Hotel Diuwak
Address: Across From the ICE Office | Playa Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diuwak 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DiuwakDiuwak , from the Bri -Bri indigenous language in Castilian means " People of the Sun " .The Diuwak hotel is an oasis located in Dominical along the southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica beach. The hotel is just 50 meters from the beach . The hotel has 36 comfortable rooms , including 5 suites and 6 fully equipped bungalowsThe Diuwak hotel has beautiful gardens and is the only hotel in the area with planters bio creating the perfect atmosphere in the green landscape. As part of the lovely natural landscaping is Tilapia pond surrounded by traditional figures and a small bridge, making it ideal for finding tranquility.Hotel facilities include a magnificent Diuwak pool with night lighting , plus the Tulu Restaurant, the restaurant offers delicious international dishes, the restaurant is known for having the best pizza in the area. The hotel how much a circuit cable television , car rentals , surf lessons , tours and countless options .See you soon at Hotel Diuwak , an experience you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diuwak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diuwak Hotel Dominical
Hotel Diuwak Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing