We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there. ”
Review of Hotel Diuwak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diuwak
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The place is great, beautiful green areas, nice rooms, and a pool, but this is where the rating goes down, it seems like it's been without maintenance, beyond that the staff and the hotel itself is a very good choice.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here in late January 2014, but there were a few issues. The room was small, which didn't bother me because I was only in it to sleep. The wifi did not work in the room, the ceiling fan was extremely noisy, as was the metal roof--I was startled out of deep sleep on several occasions by things dropping on the roof in the night. The water in the shower was tepid, not hot, and on two days of my eight night stay the room was not cleaned. I had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was fine, nothing special; breakfast was good--when I was there it was either a buffet or a choice of pancakes, continental (fruit and bread) or tipico ( beans and rice, scrambled eggs, toast, fried plantains). The grounds and pool are lovely, the staff is pleasant, and the location, right next to the beach, is terrific. Certainly not a great hotel, but perfectly adequate and definitely has its strong points.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkg12443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights, our first two in Costa Rica. We had no idea what expect, but thought it was nice for the price. The AC worked well, which we came to find is a blessing this time of year. The room was comfortable and had shower with hot water (not a given in these parts). The grounds are beautiful and close to the beach, and Tortilla Flats (get a passion fruit basil margarita!). Had a thoroughly enjoyable breakfast (loved the plantains!) both mornings in their beautiful dining area. I would stay here again.
Just keep in mind that this aint the Ritz and might not have all the normal features of a typical US hotel, but I think it has way more character, and I mean that in a good way.


Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dkuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is possibly one of the worst hotels I have been in for awhile. Noisy, no hot water at all (when I turned on the faucet nothing came out), dripping air conditioner and the rooms not very clean (I was afraid to touch the sofa bed). The room next door, which had only a thin connecting door, had 3 adults and 5 children in it exceeding the maximum capacity. Needless to say it was very noisy. The only positive point was the receptionist (who I think gave her notice after a week of working there) and the breakfast. When we complained about the water the manager could not even be bothered to speak to us. We left after 1 night even though we had paid for 3. Also, if you want a nice beach you will not get this in Dominical. It is not cleaned and there are only a few restaurants. And the town only has dirt roads.

Room Tip: none - our friend upgraded to a delux double which means you get a coffee machine and you are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidTraveller188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Beyond bad - no hot water, sink clogged up, poor internet, mechanic working outside the bathroom window, and zero attention by the manager to these issues. We raised our issues to the nice receptionist who was sympathetic, but the manager just hid in his office and never came out to talk to us (albeit he could not speak english) which was apalling. When i asked what the difference was between my deluxe room and the standard I was told it due to a coffeemaker and closer to the pool (which was only 10 feet away in this tiny hotel anyway.) We were booked for 4 nights but left immediately even though they would only refund one night - it was THAT bad. Two stars at best. The breakfast was the only good thing. The receptionist herself was so fed up of all the complaints that she quit and was leaving the next day! PS. As a bonus we had a loud neighboring "double" room packed with 4 adults and 6 kids which was not possible with only two beds but somehow allowed?! Felt like a scene from a chevy chase movie.

Room Tip: check the shower water immediately, try to stay in a secluded corner but better yet DO NOT STAY here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night of our honeymoon and were thoroughly disappointed.

Good things about DiuWak:
-Close to the beach
-Room has AC (though we witnessed a fellow guest complaining that his was not working)
-Pretty surroundings

Bad things abot DiuWak:
-They did not have our reservation, which we arranged by e-mail, when we arrived. We were told they were completely full. Another guest had also had problems from booking through a third party. Bookings.com bookings seemed ok. The one other hotel they recommended was full and they refused to suggest or even phone anywhere else without a lot of hassle. We walked to the other side of town to find a room, and returned to pick up our cases, to be told they had finally managed to find an available room.
-We paid $125 for a standard room, $10 more than was orininally quoted to us. This was one of the most expensive hotels of our honeymoon and the worst value.
-A double and a single bed squeezed into a very basic room clearly not big enough - the door didn't close without moving the double bed.
-No safe in the room
-Refusal by staff to recommend anywhere other than their own restaurant
-Very profit-driven atmosphere, much less friendly or personal than anywhere else we stayed in Costa Rica.
-Dodgy wifi, connected a little bit every hour or two depending on exact position of phone, another guest said his wasn't working either
-Noisy

About Dominical in general - only go if you are a keen surfer. There are hardly any places to eat and not much else to do in the tiny village.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sostenibilidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Resent remodel was top notch. Service was above our expectations. Maid staff,front desk and resturant staff made Us feel like we were 5 star visitors. The included breakfast was delicious and exactly what a hungry surfer needed. The kitchen was well organized and extremely clean.
The grounds and pool were very well maintained. Rooms were insect free and the ac made for a great nights sleep. Did I mention flat screen tv with kinks from miami. For those that must see football games.
All this comfort in the middle of the jungle. We will visit again. Thanks for a great visit Pete and Rachel Blakeley.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#12 of 14 in Dominical
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
3.8 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
428 reviews
3.5 mi away
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
#7 of 14 in Dominical
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diuwak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diuwak

Address: Across From the ICE Office | Playa Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $78 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diuwak 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DiuwakDiuwak , from the Bri -Bri indigenous language in Castilian means " People of the Sun " .The Diuwak hotel is an oasis located in Dominical along the southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica beach. The hotel is just 50 meters from the beach . The hotel has 36 comfortable rooms , including 5 suites and 6 fully equipped bungalowsThe Diuwak hotel has beautiful gardens and is the only hotel in the area with planters bio creating the perfect atmosphere in the green landscape. As part of the lovely natural landscaping is Tilapia pond surrounded by traditional figures and a small bridge, making it ideal for finding tranquility.Hotel facilities include a magnificent Diuwak pool with night lighting , plus the Tulu Restaurant, the restaurant offers delicious international dishes, the restaurant is known for having the best pizza in the area. The hotel how much a circuit cable television , car rentals , surf lessons , tours and countless options .See you soon at Hotel Diuwak , an experience you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Diuwak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diuwak Hotel Dominical
Hotel Diuwak Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing