We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place on a rainy day...”
Review of Hotel Diuwak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Diuwak
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place on a rainy day...”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night this past summer with 10 college students from CofC in SC, USA and it was pretty nice. We visited the shops and restaurants at the beach nearby during the day. It rained all throughout the night so we didn't venture out much but we rely enjoyed the outdoor pool. We swam all afternoon night and were never bothered by any workers or upset guests. The wi-fi only works for half of the resort which our cabin was not included in unfortunately - but everything else was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    61
    29
    23
    36
See reviews for
41
61
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Diuwak on my college of charleston study abroad trip to costa rica. This was a very nice hotel right on the beach in a really cool beach town, Dominical. It is a block from the ocean and some good restaurants and shopping. The pool is perfect and there is a bar right next to it. The rooms were clean and had good working air conditioning. I only stayed here for a night but wish I could have for longer because the town of dominical is awesome and laid-back. This is the hotel you want to stay in if traveling to playa dominical!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This past summer I studied abroad in Costa Rica with the College of Charleston. While there, we visited Dominical and stayed at Hotel Diuwak. We enjoyed our stay at Diuwak and felt very comfortable there as well. The hotel is very close to the beach and souvenir shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went with the College of Charleston Study Abroad Program, and I was not overly impressed with this particular hotel. I wish more of the people would have spoken Spanish, but that can be a positive variable if you only speak English. The food was good, and the women who made it seemed very nice. I did not appreciate the surfing, hippy atmosphere as much as some people would, but the rooms had good air conditioning and the beach was okay. Overall, I came to expect everything to be sensational in Costa Rica, and this did not cut it for me, but it was a good time, nonetheless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMJzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place was nicely situated close to the beach. There were some good little restaurants within walking distance and also some little street vendors if you wanted some souvenirs. They served a good breakfast. The rooms were nice, the beds were good. The place was nicely landscaped.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Every time I go back to Hotel Diuwak I always have the best time. I can relax, eat well and have the best of the Dominical Beach scene. The Whale Tour is great! Food at the restaurante is great! My favorite place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enahrgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location is fine, near the beach. But for 150 dollars (for a family room) it was bad value for money. The place is rundown, the rooms desperately need refurbishing and the airconditioning made a lot of noise!
The staff were friendly but stuck to the high price.
Dominical is not a place to stay if you have a bit more to spend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dominical hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.3 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diuwak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diuwak

Property: Hotel Diuwak
Address: Across From the ICE Office | Playa Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diuwak 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DiuwakDiuwak , from the Bri -Bri indigenous language in Castilian means " People of the Sun " .The Diuwak hotel is an oasis located in Dominical along the southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica beach. The hotel is just 50 meters from the beach . The hotel has 36 comfortable rooms , including 5 suites and 6 fully equipped bungalowsThe Diuwak hotel has beautiful gardens and is the only hotel in the area with planters bio creating the perfect atmosphere in the green landscape. As part of the lovely natural landscaping is Tilapia pond surrounded by traditional figures and a small bridge, making it ideal for finding tranquility.Hotel facilities include a magnificent Diuwak pool with night lighting , plus the Tulu Restaurant, the restaurant offers delicious international dishes, the restaurant is known for having the best pizza in the area. The hotel how much a circuit cable television , car rentals , surf lessons , tours and countless options .See you soon at Hotel Diuwak , an experience you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Diuwak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diuwak Hotel Dominical
Hotel Diuwak Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing