We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rundown place, far too expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diuwak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diuwak
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rundown place, far too expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location is fine, near the beach. But for 150 dollars (for a family room) it was bad value for money. The place is rundown, the rooms desperately need refurbishing and the airconditioning made a lot of noise!
The staff were friendly but stuck to the high price.
Dominical is not a place to stay if you have a bit more to spend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    28
    23
    34
See reviews for
38
60
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

When we stayed (April 2013), the hotel was looking in need of a lick of paint. To be honest this isn't a part of Costa Rica for luxury-budgeted travellers, and the choice of hotels reflects this, but we were trying different areas in CR and Panama, and wanted to sat in Dominical, and this looked like the best bet. It's located near beach, it has a warm swimming pool, the room we stayed in (after an $10pn upgrade to have a fridge included) was good-sized, albeit basic and in need of refreshing. The hotel - and indeed the area - looked suited to backpackers and surfers, neither of which we are, but for the money it was ok. The hotel offers an excellent range of excursions, including the highly memorable and recommended 4x4 ride to the waterfall. The restaurant is fair (breakfasts a bit bland but dinner more interesting) but don't expect 5* cuisine. Alexandra, the waitress, was very sweet, friendly and helpful.

As mentioned, the state of decor could be updated/improved, and the pool (i.e. not the actual water) looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a few weeks, but I understand this has been dealt with since our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balvennie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

In our 5 week trip touring Costa Rica, we stayed in some beautiful places - this was not one of them! We stopped here to break up the drive from San Jose to Osa. I don't need fancy, but our "deluxe" room was a complete waste of money. The room was old, dirty and extremely basic. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been properly washed in years. As others have mentioned - the pool was "closed for maintenance". While we were having our breakfast (also terrible!) in the dining room, the cleaning lady entered our room and stole my iphone off the bed. After 90min of frantic searching, and using the GPS tracker, it "magically" was returned. The manager apologized profusely, but did not offer any compensation. Overall, I felt completely taken advantage of. If the room had been $40, I would have given a 4-star review...but for $115 there are much, much, much better places!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillageSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldiuwak, General Manager at Hotel Diuwak, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
During the last two months, when high season concluded, we started making several improvements in our hotel, as the incorporation of LCD TVs’. We have been working on the swimming pool too, that´s why it remained in maintenance for 5 days, during this period of time we indicated every client the conditions of the swimming pool, this means that our clients stayed with us knowing its unavailability.
At the moment we receive a client, we offer him our seven different room options, doing this, the possible guest is able to make his own decision according to his needs and budget as well.
It is frequent that our guests leave forgotten objects in determinate number of places, for example, cameras, music players, or books; according to our experience we know how to act when this kind of incidents happens. After exhaustive searches, most of the time those objects appear in the room or in their own luggage; in some other times when we find forgotten objects and we keep them, waiting to be returned to the owners.
In Diuwak the first aim is an excellent service to the guest, the cleanliness a fundamental element, and one of the reasons why we have been well recommended in multiple comments in Tripadvisor, as well as other facilities we offer. When an incident occurs, we correct it immediately, before the client´s positive notice. Likewise, we will continue acting and solving the situations that could appear in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dominical hotels

NY/NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked here as a result of an emergency (the placed we booked was not available and we had no where else to go). We were a large group.
The manager was nice and was able to accommodate 3 rooms for our group. A bit overpriced, but it was a holiday week.

The breakfast was very good. I wish they would have had some more "tico food" choices though.
The pool was clean and nice, our rooms faced a nice garden and then the pool.
The big plus is that the rooms have kitchen and fridge which allowed us to save on lunches.
There are two grocery stores right next to the hotel.

The staff was really really friendly and service oriented.

Do not expect a 'resort', but the place was clean, nice gardens, not bad beds. It's a step up from budget hotel quality.

There are several restaurants around, mainly for dinner.

Beach is walking distance, with many things to do...

Room Tip: Anything facing the pool. The also have bigger 'cabins', next to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_soup_4thesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My partner and myself stayed here twice on our recent trip San Jose to Panama and return. We've stayed in Dominical a few times before, but this time, I wanted to try the DooWack! We did think it a bit expensive considering current occupancy rates.. but we took our chance on the way down. Very quiet grounds, and romantic pool area.. rarely used.
The rooms we had were scantily furnished.. (nite stand only on one side of the bed..no drawers anywhere. Only one hand towel and no 'panitos' wash cloths (not uncommon in cheaper Tico lodgings. Bathroom very small.

No cups or glasses in the rooms. You can get some if you ask, but you shouldn't have to.

Don't expect any toiletries, single bar of soap in shower. Kinda okay A/C.

No tv channel line-up in the room.. small thing maybe. Restaurant okay for included breakfast, but generally expensive and unremarkable, except for the custom made pizzas, which impressed.
Best thing about the experience was the charm and helpfulness of Alexandra and the others at the restaurant. We returned to stay on our way back to SanJose, though it was late as we'd stopped for dinner. Alexandra opened the office and checked us in quickly and efficiently. She served us Pizzas and beer at the rancho near the pool next day, so we could lounge around after we checked out at noon.

We'll surely come back even just to say 'hola' to Alexandra... her strong customer service skills are a real asset to this property. She is struggling with English, but her warmth comes through in perfect translation.

Finding that we had a rather hectic stressful time at the border, Alex arranged for the charming chamber person to place candles, incense, fresh flowers all around in our room and the bathroom... we were blown away by this unexpected gesture.. muchisimas gracias, Alexandra~!!

I honestly can't believe some of the extremely harsh reviews here...seems like a different place than the one we stayed in. Perhaps coming from much less experienced travelers? We've traveled very extensively to many countries and also throughout Costa Rica... one has to realize this is not the Four Seasons nor a chain in Florida.. we had a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canamjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival we were greeted with a very run down Hotel with a very sketchy vibe. There were surfer dudes and surfer chicks all over the place, and one guy laying passed out in his room after smoking marijuana, the smell was thick in the air. The beach is close, but we didn't feel safe their either. I will say the resturant was great, and we would earth there again! When Weretired to our room things progressively got worse. The air conditioner in the room turned itself off every 45 minutes, and took about 15 minutes to restart. It was also directly above the bed and dripped water onto the bed. We called the front desk and they did offer to change out room but it was ten o'clock at night and we were exhausted. I suppose we were hoping the problem would fix itself. Needless to say, we didn't sleep a wink!!! The air conditioning had to be restarted every 45 minutes, and we honestly did not feel safe. Them when we tried to explain at the front desk they hardly spoke English. I'd just avoid this place entirely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranhar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night while touring CR.

We found Dominical a little disappointing - aside from the beach there is not a lot happening, the only place with any life was a bar at one end of the village that seemed to be full of, and run by, American expats, which is not really what we were looking for.
Consequently, we ended up having an evening meal at the hotel, which is something we generally try to avoid. It was ok, but I still cannot work out how a shared pizza and salad plus a couple of drinks came to $51.
Other than that, everything was fine, albeit our basic room was on the small side, but the air con and shower were fine. The other major positives were the well tended gardens and the excellent pool and surrounds. There was a lot of greenery around the pool, so inevitably, some dead leaves and foliage dropped into the pool from time to time, but that, in my eyes at least, is far preferable to clinical and characterless concrete. It also meant some excellent opportunities for seeing wildlife, including humming birds and some huge lizards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
3.8 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diuwak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diuwak

Property: Hotel Diuwak
Address: Across From the ICE Office | Playa Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diuwak 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DiuwakDiuwak , from the Bri -Bri indigenous language in Castilian means " People of the Sun " .The Diuwak hotel is an oasis located in Dominical along the southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica beach. The hotel is just 50 meters from the beach . The hotel has 36 comfortable rooms , including 5 suites and 6 fully equipped bungalowsThe Diuwak hotel has beautiful gardens and is the only hotel in the area with planters bio creating the perfect atmosphere in the green landscape. As part of the lovely natural landscaping is Tilapia pond surrounded by traditional figures and a small bridge, making it ideal for finding tranquility.Hotel facilities include a magnificent Diuwak pool with night lighting , plus the Tulu Restaurant, the restaurant offers delicious international dishes, the restaurant is known for having the best pizza in the area. The hotel how much a circuit cable television , car rentals , surf lessons , tours and countless options .See you soon at Hotel Diuwak , an experience you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diuwak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diuwak Hotel Dominical
Hotel Diuwak Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing