We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise lost... and found !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Baru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Baru
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Paradise lost... and found !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was one of the highlight of my trip, a grandiose property right on the ocean, rain forest, mangrove, beach and canopy forest in one place !!! The hotel is very eco-friendly and fun, the location is wonderful...in half a day we stay there we saw : macaws, toucans, monkeys, lots of monkeys, basilisks, coatis, fresh water box-turtle (i think) and the hatchlings of olive ridley turtle (monitored by volunteers, who called us during a walk on the beach), this was at sunset, an incredible experience and worth the stay... the forest is pristine, the trails well kept and the wildlife is every where....and if you are a beach lover, Dominical is just magnificent, not to miss

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irrawady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello irrawady,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    80
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
103
130
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

we "just" did the walking without guide tour through the wonderful grounds of Hacienda Baru.
We started with the orchid garden where we were already greeted by numerous monkeys !!!
then had a look at the butterfly garden...soooooooo beautiful and you can take endless close ups on them.
After that we explored all these wonderful trails like : Pizote, Lookout, Strangler, Teak & Canal etc.
There is so much beauty to see & it actually felt like in the movie Avatar.
We got our information beforehand by Jack Ewing's book : Monkeys are made of chocolate, highly recommendable !
We ended our fabolous adventure in nature at the beach & could not have been more delighted!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank flamboyanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello flamboyanta,

thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed reading my book. The fact, that you mention, that you could not have been more delighted with your stay means a lot to us. Because that is exactly what we exactly want for you and our visitors. We would be happy to see you soon again in our beautiful national refuge.

Best regards

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

On our last day in Costa Rica I wanted to experience and support a private Eco-Lodge since we were in the vicinity of Dominical, decided to book a room at Hacienda Baru. I also read about the Path of the Tapir Biological Corridor straddles and connects some of the most biodiverse territory in all of Costa Rica and since we did not have time to go to Corcovado, decided this was the next best thing.
Right off the Costanera Sur highway 34 just north of Dominical Hacienda Barú's 330 hectares (815 acres) have a variety of habitats, from wetlands and secondary rainforests in the lowlands to primary rainforest on the highland coastal ridge. They have seven kilometers of walking trails and three kilometers of pristine beach are here to be explored as well as a small orchid garden and fascinating butterfly garden. Tours ranging from the Rainforest Canopy to Mangrove Swamps or the Jungle at Night available with bilingual guides although we did not chose to do any of these.
The reception was less than friendly and price of the room includes access to the trails, but not the mangrove, as I had been led to believe. We were given a room in the new 6 unit building near the pool that was very nice, spacious , clean and comfortable......EXCEPT the room has no air conditioning. Now perhaps they purposely decided to design the rooms with ceiling fans and ventilation points to reduce the energy consumption footprint but at $95 a night we really wanted a/c. Eventho it was the dry winter season with less humidity, temps and rain, it was still rather uncomfortably warm in the room even at night. The bed and mattress was fine although pillows insufficient. Pool was warm but still refreshing and very nice to spend time in.
We took one trail down to the beach and saw some interesting flora and birds...the highlight being a mating pair of Chestnut-mandibled Toucans. Quite a treat!
Breakfast was included in the price of the room and it is served in a lovely open air thatched roof dining room, buffet style. Plenty of food even for a big guy like me and you are welcome to seconds. Enjoyed to Orchid and Butterfly gardens too.
Overall, I was disappointed with the lack of air conditioning, eventho I knew that was the situation and the trails being so close to the highway noise saddens me. Still it is worth supporting this preserve if you don't mind no a/c.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keimanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Really nice and quiet place. It is possible to see lot of animals and nature almost without tourists. The path for the excursion is easy and well explained. It gets you trough the forest up to the see in a awesome desert beach.
The restaurant is also good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We came here for the zip lining with our two sons (3 and 5). They both loved it, so did my wife and I. Nice activity if you need a break from the sun and beach. On the hike up to the lines, the guides were really nice and made sure our kids got a few glimpses of sloths, bats, birds and also understood how the ant colony worked. And the ziplines were so much fun, great bang for the buck!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpgariepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was a our second visit to Hacienda Baru and we enjoyed it just as much as last time.

A great place to stay, combining a good variety of trails, with decent (if rustic) accommodation, a great pool, on-site restaurant and access to the beach, all at a reasonable price. Although there is room for improvement, this is a pretty unique combination!

The trails are very good for wildlife watching, if you're patient enough. It's also possible to walk towards Dominical on one of the trails and then continue into town on the road (quite a busy road so take care). This is about a 4km round trip.

We also noticed that the petrol station outside the main entrance has been revamped, now with a slightly bigger shop, where you can buy beer, ice cream etc.

As mentioned, there are one or two things that could be improved - the breakfast is a bit lacking in variety and the rooms, reception and souvenir shop need upgrading.

It's also worth noting that during the festive period, the place is very popular with families - maybe not the time to visit if you want some peace and quiet.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Jack Ewing has done a wonderful thing by transforming a former ranch/farm into this jungle wilderness. The cabin we stayed in was a bit tired, but comfortable. The desk staff also seemed tired. However, the self-guided hiking trails were marvelous journeys into unusual ecosystems. The jungle walk with Pedro was fantastic due to his warmth and knowledge The beach is a wonderful destination with warm water and great sunsets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDBotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
5.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.4 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
8.3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.7 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Baru

Property: Hacienda Baru
Address: 3 Km North of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is located at the entrance to Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge which protects 330 hectares (815 acres) of tropical forest, wetlands, mangrove and 3 kilometers of pristine Baru Beach. The refuge offers seven kilometers of well marked nature trails and a bird watching tower for a modest entrance fee. Guided tours with sharp-eyed local guides include two different types of canopy tours, five hiking tours, a camping tour and three bird watching tours. Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge & Lodge is situated on Costa Rica's Southern Pacific Coast. This is a region of distinct natural beauty where forest covered mountains rise up from the dramatic Pacific coastline. The village of Dominical is just 3 km from Hacienda Baru located. Hacienda Baru Ecolodge's bungalow style cabins are large and roomy. Each one has two bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with one double and one twin bed. Each bungalow has a bathroom with hot water shower, living room, porch, and kitchenette. For your convenience, they come equipped with fridge, coffee maker, hot plate and fans in all the rooms. They are ideal for families. In addition to the cabins, Hacienda Baru Ecolodge is now offering six new Pool View Guest Rooms. Each of these superior units has a large bathroom, a porch and ample space for beds and other furniture. Each will normally have a king size bed and a twin bed , but they can be equipped with up to four twin beds. Each has a frige and coffee maker as well. The attractive tile roofing is made from recycled plastic bags. A well ventilated design, insulation between the roofing and the polished teak ceiling, and overhead fans all insure cool comfort for our guests. All of the teak and gmelina wood used in the construction came from Hacienda Baru's own plantations. The wood for the pine beams and cypress furniture all came from plantations as well. Not a single piece of the wood used came from a natural forest. Solar heaters provide plenty of hot water for the bathrooms. The outside walls are slate and polished teak. The new guest rooms are conveniently located right in front of our new swimming pool. Our breezy open air restaurant allows you to observe the gardens and natural surroundings as you dine. We have five private ranchos for guests that want an intimate setting perhaps for a romantic candlelight dinner or a special family meal. Our menu is primarily very tasty typical Costa Rican food, but we do offer a variety of dishes for those who either don't like or want a break from rice and beans. We offer a selection Costa Rican fruit drinks known as FRESCOS meaning refreshing, soft drinks, a selection of Costa Rican beer, you must have heard of Imperial, wines and other licors. The swimming pool at Hacienda Baru Lodge is disinfected with ozone produced by an ozone generator which injects a constant flow of this eco-friendly gas into the water. This system of disinfection allows us to maintain a very low concentration of chlorine in the pool. The chlorine level is so slight that it is imperceptible to pool users. The swimming pool is open from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. Guests from both the cabins and guest rooms are welcome to use the pool during these hours. Bird Watching, Canopy Exploration and Ecological Tours are our specialty. Our bilingual grass roots naturalist guides will help you discover the wonders of the tropical rainforest, such as leaf cutter ants, the sleepy sloths and the nesting site of the Common Pootoo. On our tours you can experience everything from the Rainforest Canopy to Mangrove Swamps or the Jungle at Night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Baru Hotel Quepos
Hacienda Baru Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing