We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Baru Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Villas Alturas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$165
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cuna del Angel(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$114
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfall Villas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$139
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Rio Mar(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$84
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Roca Verde(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diuwak(Dominical)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergue Alma de Hatillo(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
224
88
27
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
88
27
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjack ewingbutterfly gardenzip linetree climbingthe reservenight hikescreened in porcheconomy cabinself guidedguided walkswimming poolcattle ranchgreat trailscosta ricajuan carlosspotting wildlifethe lack of air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 350 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hacienda Baru in November 2012. Cabinas are spacious (we had one of the older ones) with all basic facilities. What we especially liked was the coffee machine and the delicious local coffee we got every day. A nice start into the early morning before having breakfast at 7 a.m. at the very good restaurant just some few meters from our cabina. Friendly staff and owner, competent guides and lots of information about the local flora and fauna. Trails in the rain forest can be done with a guide or on your own, either way there are lots of things to see if you move slowly and keep your eyes open. For us it's a place always good for an "Again".

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but visited the beautiful grounds and went on the Zipline tour. Such a gorgeous place. Our guide up the hill was excellent, he was so knowledgable and made it so much fun. Definitely wear bug spray for this hike. The guide pointed out a 2 toed sloth in the tree. He showed us bats, monkeys, leaf cutter ants, and lots about the flora. If you are in the area I would definitely recommend it. Great people and great place!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aaron_Jessica2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Whilst the room was spacious and facilities adequate, we were disappointed at the attitude of the reception, both a check in and check out. The staff appeared disinterested.
Our room was well equipped with a good sized bathroom and shower, fridge and coffee making. The pool was fine although the parasols did not have stands to offer shade on the loungers. The hammock hangout area was a good idea.
We chose not to use the restaurant for dinner (neither did anyone else - it was empty!) and drove into town. Breakfast was fruit (no papaya available until the following day we were advised!) and scrambled egg.
Overall not bad for the price but let down by service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agbucks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had Pacific Trade Winds Travel Agency plan our Costa Rica vacation for us, with birds and animals are focus, and they did not let us down. Hacienda Baru was the first place we stayed and it was perfect for us, as we like informal places with privacy. We had our own little very comfortable bungalow, with pool, glorious flowers and birds right outside our door. The food was simple but excellent, and the staff very helpful. We took three guided hikes, the morning bird hike, the mangrove walk and the night hike. All were fantastic, with very impressive guides. We loved our time there and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had the last bungalow right by the pool, which gave us a bit more privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you never have zip-lined before, than this is the trip for you. So much fun. Our guides, Olman and Pedro, were so patient with us 60 year olds. They have an extraordinary knowledge of the rainforest and we saw a two toed sloth and chestnut mandible toucan while climbing to the first zip line platform. They were very thorough with the safety instructions and safety checks. The first zip line was so exhilarating and it was worth the heat and the climb. We then climbed upward through the canopy to the other platforms. Extraordinary beauty and an excellent staff. A perfect day. There is a garden near the office, a restaurant and cabinos (if you are looking for a place to stay). Hacienda Baru is right outside Dominical, where there are lots of restaurants, bars, and places to stay and surfers on the beach.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank svtanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews