We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place with a great view and sunsets”
Review of Jolly Roger

Jolly Roger
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mom and Pop Wing Joint with 23 different wing flavors, hand pattied half pound burgers with hand cut fries, 12 different tequilas, large beer selection, a great view and a fun friendly atmosphere. Come on up the mountain. You'll be glad you did. Oh! CASH ONLY!!! NO CREDIT CARDS!!! I REPEAT CASH ONLY. Open Monday - Sunday 12pm - 9pm. Kitchen open later on Satuday nights when you just might find a poker game going on. 4Wd recommended.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fun place with a great view and sunsets”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Service was great, food good, and margaritas are great. Kind of a rough ride up the side of a mountain, but the view makes it all worthwhile.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    130
    46
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Wings!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I was in Ojochal CR for a month. Over the month different guests came in and out. Every time we visited Jolly Roger once the guests wanted to return again before they went home. The monster hamburgers can be shared by two and the many different wings to choose from was always a 10 minute decision making process. The views, food and gringo locals who frequented made the visit very entertaining. You never know what expat may of been your neighbor or childhood friend back in the states. Come here for a fun casual dinner in the jungle over looking the Costa Rican sunsets.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyLeeJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great wings & bird watching too”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a cool little spot up a road you should have a 4 x 4 to travel on. The gated the patio restaurant looks out over has great bird watching . We were staying further up this mountain and it had better birds than our garden. The wings were super tasty & moist & a huge variety to choose from. The staff/owners were really nice. Cold beer, good wings, great view & casual perfect pura vida atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank blackska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Wonky road to get up to it, but once you get there the view is amazing, wings great, Margaritas better and Ralph el mejor!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow, no really - Wow!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Jolly Rogers was highly recommended by the locals in the area, and they were spot on. Yea the drive is a little scary - but not dangerous. It is located several hundred feet up a mountain side, with spectacular ocean views. We literally watched as Toucans few back and fourth between the trees at our table. The elevation and cool breeze make the dining outside very comfortable. The restaurant and bar are rustically decorated and casual. But the real reason this place gets 5 stars is the food. I've tried many different wings in the US. Dry, wet, hot, spicy, ect. Sure some are better than others, but these wings are truly so much better than what you have ever had by a wide margin. First they are very good sized. They are fresh and the chickens have been raised the way chickens should be raised, outside on farms naturally. There are probably over 20 flavors, which made me wonder about the quality of having so many different types. Well I was wrong - top notch quality. E.g. I like heat, but was drawn to the medium heat, honey garlic wings description. You could really taste the honey, and see and taste chopped garlic. The honey garlic sauce was warm/wet on the outside of the wing, but the actual wing was large, meaty with crispy skin and perfectly cooked. It had just enough heat too. Super good! I tried several types and they were all truly wonderful, and hit the mark on their flavor descriptions. Drinks were tasty and the bartenders were very friendly and attentive. Don't miss.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oktoberfest2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Jolly Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing