We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get enough of the water falls!”

Nauyaca Waterfalls - Horseback Riding Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nauyaca Waterfalls is a totally Costa Rican owned family tourism company, dedicated for several years to tour operations. These are horseback riding tours, traveling through the farm that border with two impressive waterfalls from Rio Barucito. These majestic waterfalls are one of the main attractions of the southern region in Costa Rica, not only for their natural scenic beauty, which offers the tourist moments of recreation and fun, but also to participate in different activities such as horseback ridign tours, swimming, climbing, jumping and to observe much of the beauty of the tropical rainforest, among others. Nauyaca Waterfalls is the ideal place, not only for those in search of tranquility and nature, but also for adventure and excitement lovers. They are a reference point for adventure ecotourism as they are recognized worldwide for their beauty and the excellent services they provide.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't get enough of the water falls!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I am not a huge horse fan, but the guides paired me with a very gentle horse. I couldn't pronounce her name, so I called her Gabby. Lunch is included and it was delicious! I am a chicken, so I did not cliff dive, but my brother climbed to the top and did a back flip off the water fall. Amazing and he said the divers where very helpful and made him feel safe. Thanks for a great day!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandbeeches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    59
    12
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“incredible from start to finish”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

for $60.00 I could not believe everything that was included. Breakfast that was delicious and then the ride to the waterfalls. Swimming and then the ride back to have lunch! Incredible!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great adventure; not to be missed!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The staff is excellent and provides you with a horse that matches your skill level. As a beginner, I was nervous, but they assuaged any concern I had and were gentlemen in helping me on and off the horse, even staying within my vicinity as we trekked through the hills. There are two stops along the trip, with a delicious breakfast and lunch served (included in the charge for the trip), and along these stops you are able to see beautiful peacocks and scarlet macaws. The ending point is the gorgeous Nauyaca Waterfalls, where you can jump into the swimming hole and even climb the rocks to leap from the top. I've been on this adventure multiple times, and definitely recommend it as one of the best adventures in the Dominical/Uvita area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joumana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a Great Tour”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was so much more than just a horseback ride. It was a memory we will not soon forget. You saddle up and ride for about 45 minutes through the rain forest until you come upon Don Lulo's house where you dismount and take in a wonderful breakfast in the true Costa Rican fashion. It is a hearty breakfast served in their back yard under cover with everyone seated at table and chairs. After breakfast it is back on the horses as you continue your tour to Nauyaca Waterfalls. It is about another 45 minutes before arriving at the waterfalls. They are amazingly beautiful. There is a place where you can change clothes and swim in the water at the bottom of the falls. The tour guides even rig a large rope high atop the falls that allow you to climb up through the falls to a platform that you can jump from. What a thrill. The whole area is beautiful. After a couple of hours at the waterfalls it is time to head back. Again you stop at Don Lulo's house for lunch. As good as breakfast was, lunch is even better. All cooked by Grandma Lulo in the family kitchen. Did I mention this is all in the rainforest? Well it did rain, but not to worry as they had ponchos for everyone packed on their horses. It was great riding through the rain and crossing a river where the water was up to your feet. They are well prepared, and do not crowd you or rush you at anytime. There is a lot of freedom on this ride. A great time with great food, great scenery, and a great price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevecation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Value and Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Best Value for my money and most Amazing Experience of my entire trip! Our guides were David and his son Benjamin, they were very attentive to everyone in our group, spoke good English and took the time to tell us a little about the areas we passed through as we made our way to the falls. The horses were all very nice well behaved horses with the exception of my horse who wanted to do nothing but eat leaves & mangos and drink river water the entire trip however after a while he warmed up to me and started doing as I wanted more often. The trip begins with a short ride to the family restaurant in the forest were you are served family style, on the table are fresh fruits, arepas, eggs, rice and beans and a delicious breakfast cake similar to pound cake and your choice of tea or Costa Rican coffee. After you stuff yourself to the point of not wanting to move because the food is so fresh and tasty you can't stop eating you then get to go bruise your bottom working it off riding the rest of the way to the falls which is about 45 minutes more of riding, the falls are breath taking and worth every sore butt muscle. First they take you to the upper falls for photos (this portion is done on foot and is a steep climb up the trail) then you go to the lower falls to jump in the cool pool of water at the base of the falls and swim or try your hand at climbing the falls to take a jump. After about an hour of swimming the trail that was so easy going down is now a very steep climb back up to your horses then you ride back down to the restaurant and are served lunch which again is served family style and is amazing and tasty. Service and friendliness of the entire staff was perfect and very accommodating, I would recommend this to anyone.
Be sure to make a reservation at least the day before as these are planned and not spur of the moment trips, everything from guides to food have to be organized and we almost made that mistake.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cya38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauyaca Waterfalls - Horseback Riding Tours also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Nauyaca Waterfalls - Horseback Riding Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing