We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and service.”
Review of PorQueNo?

PorQueNo?
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Contemporary, Central American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Within the Costa-Paraiso boutique hotel, just two km South of Dominical, Por Que No is one of the region's best dining experiences, with an ocean view. With 'tasty treats & funky beats', Por Que No is known for our great dinner specials, delicious wood-fired pizza, healthy smoothies and hit the spot coffees. For those that don't want to cook or need a packed lunch at the beach, check out our take out options.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Jo and Shelby are wonderful cooks. Food was excellent. Service was great. Really recommend the Caribbean Chicken and Pizza! Really great meeting you Jo and Shelby!! Pura Vida!!!

Thank Jaimie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

It was great to meet you two as well. Thanks so much for visiting the hotel/restaurant.

Thanks very much for the support and we hope to see you up in your neck of the woods in the future.

Cheers,

Jo & Shelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 488 of 723 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Definitely deserves to be the number 1 spot! Amazing ocean views, romantic setting and one of the best menus I have seen. I was really struggling just to decide what to have and what to miss out on! The waiters were super friendly and attentive, even explaining how to make the dessert since I wanted to learn how to copy it (amazing banana cake).
All in all just a great place, go there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ThelmaBjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for the feedback and kind words. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

While staying nearby, at Villas Altura, my husband and I had a late dinner at PorQueNo? one night on the recommendation of the resort manager. This restaurant did NOT disappoint!

Just the location, alone, is awesome! The 2-story open-air restaurant overlooks the beach and is surrounded by native flora. This restaurant really caters to the senses: you'll listen to the ocean lapping the shoreline and the melancholy chatter of native birds in the trees; you'll watch the moonlight reflected on the water; you'll feel the ocean breezes and you'll enjoy the taste of wonderful dishes! The food was terrific and they make a great Watermelon Mojito, which we learned was brand new to the menu. Even better than the food and drinks though, was the super-friendly, one-on-one service from the staff! We felt more like we were visiting old friends than just passing thru as tourists!

We enjoyed our dinner so much, in fact, that we returned the NEXT night for an earlier dinner, because we couldn't get enough of the view, the good food and the friendly staffers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank intimagemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for the great review.

We really appreciate the feedback...it helps us improve and helps future guests doing research on the local eating spots.

We really appreciated the words about our service as our staff really do put their hearts into their jobs and really enjoy serving friendly folks like you.

Thanks for making it fun for us too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

The food, smoothies (naturales), and
ambiance are hard to beat in Dominical. The breakfast is exceptional. You can't go wrong. Dinner is great as well, but I recommend the breakfast- Tico breakfast, French toast, omelette, or the paraiso egg bun are delicious. The smoothies are fresh and there's a variety to choose from.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lbilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you very much for the feedback - it is very helpful to others to see what is popular.

Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The first time we went there, we had walked only to find they were closed that day. Recognizing we were hot and disappointed, they offered us ice water and let us rest on their patio while we formulated a new plan. They even sold us some cold beer even though they were closed. When we went back for lunch the next day, the service was just as good. The food was fresh and a good variety of local fare was offered. The view of the ocean from the patio was very relaxing and beautiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SlcPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks so much for the review...especially after the hot walk to a closed restaurant! Your group were such a pleasure to have around (...Thanks Tom & Ivette at Villas Alturas for the recommendation).

Glad you enjoyed the view as much as we do! Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PorQueNo? also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to PorQueNo?? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing