We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Food!”
Review of PorQueNo?

PorQueNo?
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Contemporary, Central American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Within the Costa-Paraiso boutique hotel, just two km South of Dominical, Por Que No is one of the region's best dining experiences, with an ocean view. With 'tasty treats & funky beats', Por Que No is known for our great dinner specials, delicious wood-fired pizza, healthy smoothies and hit the spot coffees. For those that don't want to cook or need a packed lunch at the beach, check out our take out options.
Townsend, Massachusetts
1 review
“Unbelievable Food!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having traveled some in Costa Rica I have become somewhat underwhelmed by the cuisine. Most restaurants either serve bad interpretations of lackluster American fare (think the “99” or TGIF) or just down right flavorless entrées and sides. Nothing could be farther from the truth here. Shelby and team serve up some of the best most flavorful dishes I’ve had anywhere. Not the same old, same old that one might expect but some really great original treats. Portions are generous and the breakfasts are to die for. Regardless if I stayed at the hotel property again (which is great by the way) I would make a significant diversion to dine here again. Hat’s off to Jo and Shelby. My wife and I had a fantastic stay. Cheers!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkSchetky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks so much for filling out the review. It is really helpful for us.

Glad you enjoyed the food. Have to say...it was so nice to have you and your wife here. You guys were great company. Hope to see you back here again.

Cheers,

Jo & Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    119
    42
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were treated like friends. Jo & Shelby are great hosts, great people & very helpful. Wonderful food....breakfast & dinner was great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaneNtuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to fill out a review. It is very helpful to us. Much appreciated.

Can't wait to see you back here again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
“Best experiences”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spouse and I are locals and eat here all the time. Some of the best food, views, and friends in the Southern Zone. Shelby and Jo are a pleasure to hang with and the make you feel like you are part of the family. Definately a place not to miss on your trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leester55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for the review! It's great to have you guys in here. You make it a fun place to be. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not just a convenience for hotel guests… A pleasure for locals & passers through alike!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Not just a convenience for hotel guests… A pleasure for locals & passers through alike!

We had the chance to eat two meals at PorQueNo – first lunch and then dinner. Everything we ate was fresh, hot, and most importantly delicious. All the bread and tortillas are house made which was a real treat.

For lunch we had a quesadilla, a Panini, and some amazing French fries. Oftentimes, quesadilla means nothing more than a fatty, greasy mess, but at PorQueNo this was not the case at all. The vegetables were perfectly cooked and balanced with the cheese, and it even came with a really nice side salad.

For dinner, we had a few specials – the chicken wings, black bean empanadas - and a pizza. All was really tasty and exactly what we were hoping for. I highly recommend checking out the specials - the dishes we had were definitely favorites.

And… if you like some heat, check out the house made habanero sauce! My husband practically drank the whole bottle and is STILL raving about it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmBo1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for the review. It is essential to our business to hear from our customers - we really appreciate it.

The hotsauce is a bit addicting...when your husband runs out, you guys need to come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever! And so much more...”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My boyfriend had been raving about this place so my expectations were high, and wow! What a treat. We shared a vegetarian pizza, which was incredible, more than enough for two, loads of delicious topping and a crispy, thin base. My house red was a wonderful accompaniment to my pizza, the chocolate avocado desert was delicious, the waiters were attentive, the hosts were warm, welcoming and really cared about our whole experience. To top it off, the restaurant has a spectacular view over the ocean. We watched a glorious sunset and heard the soothing sound of the waves breaking over the rocks as we ate. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waterbabe_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It was great to have your group in. Thanks for coming to check us out. Looking forward to next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PorQueNo? also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to PorQueNo?? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing