We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food with Amazing views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of PorQueNo?

PorQueNo?
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Within the Costa-Paraiso boutique hotel, just two km South of Dominical, Por Que No is one of the region's best dining experiences, with an ocean view. With 'tasty treats & funky beats', Por Que No is known for our great dinner specials, delicious wood-fired pizza, healthy smoothies and hit the spot coffees. For those that don't want to cook or need a packed lunch at the beach, check out our take out options.
Guelph
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing food with Amazing views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is paradise! I stayed a night in the beautiful Costa Paraiso resort, and loved it. It is located on its own private bay between two large beaches, with amazing views of the sun setting over the Pacific. There is a pool and stunning gardens to walk around and enjoy.
The food is incredible. The cook Shelby, is a very good cook and passionate about food. Lots of fresh delicious typical Costa Rican food. The staff are very friendly people.
My experience there, couldn't have been any better. Im looking forward to going back.

Andrew
Whistler, BC, Canada

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for filling out the review Andrew. We really appreciate it.

Definitely take your kind words about our Chef to heart - with your experience in the food service industry in Whistler. Thanks again.

Looking forward to your next visit. We'll break out the Paella for sure this time ;)

Cheers,

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    114
    42
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Got Adventure? PorQueNo is the place to be !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Talk about paradise in Costa Rica... this hotel definitely lives up to it's name. Why not? There are many reasons to visit & here's just a few... It reigns supreme with jungle right on the beach, total privacy - you have so much private space & great for a couples or family getaway. The restaurant is great... with top notch service: Jo & Shelby sure do know how to take care of you. I'm already planning next year's trip & Why Not ???

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nazyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks very much for the review. We really appreciate you took the time.

It was such fun having your group here at the hotel and restaurant...you guys were always having such a good time...whether playing ping pong or watching football with us.

Really hope to get a chance to meet your wife and kids next year!

Cheers,

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was in Domincal for a wedding, and stayed at Costa Paraiso. One of the BEST parts of the stay was most definitely the food. Their ceviche (served in a coconut) is different than traditional because its made with coconut but it's so good- a great departure from the normal ceviche you find at other places. The breakfast is fantastic, the fruit is fresh, the coffee is delicious, and the service is outstanding and very attentive. The chef is talented and I enjoyed the restaraunt and ate there every day I stayed here. I would recommend to all of my friends. I love these guys.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avery D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to fill out the review. Much appreciated.

It was great having you and your friends Avery. You guys were so laid back and fun to have around. We really enjoyed having all of you.

If you want the recipe for the ceviche check out our website for it. There is a link above on the tripadvisor page.

Hope to see you guys down here again some day!

Shelby & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Level Contributor
144 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food with a cozy comfortable setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I with a friend visited PorQueNo? for the first time and enjoyed a good meal. The fish red curry was really good and spiced with the right amount of heat.We ordered the chef special that evening, BBQ pork ribs that were excellent. The ribs were perfectly cooked with a great sauce. For dessert we really enjoyed a wonderful slice of flour less chocolate pie. We all agreed that it was absolutely delish. We will return for another meal before going back to the states.
One tip to share, the no see bugs are out early in the evenings I would suggest that at this time of the year you might want to spray on something to keep them away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank baseball1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to write the review. We really appreciate it. Glad you like the ribs and we appreciate the marketing advice around letting people know the chocolate pie is flourless.

Thanks again. Looking forward to seeing you before you head back. Jo & Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“View, Food and FUN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The setting is lovely! RIght on the sea with cooling breezes and outstanding views, even after dark it is pretty. We split an excellent ceviche (served in a coconut), then had the dinner special (Indian Curry). We all selected the Fish Curry and it was wonderful (just spicy enough to make you sweat by the end of the meal). We had the homemade dessert (a great cheese cake and the best chocolate ice cream I've ever tasted). The Chef explained that he was doing different nightly specials to keep the menu interesting. The couple next to us had a lovely salad and split a thin crust pizza that they raved about. The drive is very steep and you need to make a tight turn, but do yourself a favor and try this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo B, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time for review. We are glad you liked the coconut ceviche...it'a a favourite. If you want the recipe, you will find it on our website or in the Ballena Tales Sept edition. Our Thur Curry night has been a night mix to the specials...one of our Chef's favourite meals, so you can be sure to see these stay on the specials.

Thanks again for coming down to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PorQueNo? also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to PorQueNo?? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing