We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience of a lifetime!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is more than a surf camp - it is a sanctuary. Nestled in paradise, the crew at Kalon go above and beyond to make sure your stay is everything you want it to be and to make your experience is a personalized one you will never forget. The surf coaches are highly skilled, knowledgeable and professional. You WILL learn to surf at Kalon. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExHyattMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
35
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We recently returned from one of our favorite travel experiences to-date—a week at Kalon in Dominical. We have two young daughters, one of which was insistent on learning to surf after watching Soul Surfer. After realizing she wasn’t going to give up, we decided we’d like to learn how to surf as well and could incorporate it into a family vacation. Our internet search for comprehensive surf lessons for novices led us to Kalon as the best fit. The owner, Kjeld, and his wife Silene, have put a lot of thought into crafting a top-notch vacation experience. The surf lessons are very effective, with instruction beginning on land and reinforcing steps that are easy to remember. The surf coaches, Roberto and Mike, are very helpful, not to mention incredibly likable, and were by our side every step of the way. As beginners, this was important, and we really appreciated their assistance with selecting the right waves. The Kalon staff takes surfing seriously, but they also gauge the level of interest of their guests and respond accordingly. They’ll take you as deep as you want to go, going into wave theory and giving you tips to continue to surf once you’re home. The video analysis aspect was extremely helpful, not to mention entertaining. We were also very thankful that the instructors focused closely on our girls. In fact, we never felt like we had to be by their side or be concerned about their well-being which allowed us to focus on our own surf experience.

The house was amazing. It’s almost as if it was built with a luxury surf school in mind. All spaces are lovely and the view is incredible. From the infinity pool, you look beyond the green foliage of the hillside to the ocean. It’s a view you never tire of enjoying. The food was delicious and healthy. They put a lot of thought into menu choices and variety. It was so nice to come into the kitchen area and see Esmeralda, the lead chef, and her assistant Maria, creating the next yummy meal of the day.

The schedule for the week was just right. We have had the tendency in the past to over schedule our vacations which leaves us exhausted as we head home. Dominical is a quiet area and while we did do the zipline (very fun!) and ventured into town one afternoon, there was plenty of time to relax. Surfing each morning was physically challenging, and left us fairly sore so having the afternoons unstructured provided an opportunity to read in a hammock or watch the storms that rolled through.

In addition to the beautiful beaches and great surf instruction, one of the best things about our time at Kalon was the people. They were all so warm and friendly, even the landscaper, Luis, and our taxi driver, Gilligan, who told us about the towns we passed through on our way back to San Jose. They made us feel so welcome and we really enjoyed getting to know them. Marcela is every bit as wonderful as the reviews indicate. She is a special person, who touches you in her quiet way. And then there are the other guests . . . . We hit the jackpot and shared our week with an amazing woman from Napa. It was so neat to get to know her over the course of the week and feel a connection grow as we shared surfing, food and drink. We really do miss everyone we met and hope that we will be able to go back in the not too distant future. Kalon is a special place, primarily because of the people!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I first visited Kalon in November 2011 and had such a fun time that I returned in July 2012.

Since my initial visit, Kalon Surf has relocated to a new house - the former one was great, but the new place is spectacular: situated up the mountain, nestled among the jungle and kept cool by nice breezes, it has an amazing panoramic view of the Pacific. Each evening, on an open air porch, we ate dinner either watching the sunset or taking in the pyrotechnics of lightning storms over the ocean. The layout of the new place is great, too - individual rooms are far enough apart to allow privacy when you need it, but there are plenty of spaces of socializing and hanging out, including an infinity pool.

The service is top notch - a treat for me was the fresh, healthy food (especially local fare using fish, chicken, beef), awesome desserts (the coconut ice cream is great) and the juices and smoothies made from local fruits. The people are super nice and friendly and interesting, and a cool part of the overall experience is talking to them and sharing stories about life. The same can be said of the guests, who were all nice, had interesting backgrounds and were a blast to hang out with over the week.

The surfing is great, too - Roberto and Mike are great instructors, as is the owner, Kjeld. I can't emphasize how valuable the video analysis is - whether you're hardcore about getting better or just want to make progress during the week, seeing yourself on the video really, really helps and is a great complement to the in-water experience. The local beaches are close by and really fun to surf. And every now and again, you see something completely unexpected, like two dolphins passing within five feet of my board.

I've already made plans to return again in November.

Many thanks to Kjeld, Silene, Marcela, Roberto, Mike, Esmerelda, Maria, Esteban and everyone else for another great experience - can't wait to pick up where I left off in November.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our family of four and my brother spent a week at Kalon in April...It was better than expected! Marcela made the planning aspect very easy so by the time we got there we could just relax and surf! We were met at the airport by Silene and dinner was waiting for us when we arrived at the mansion. Esmerelda and Diego accommodated our children's needs perfectly. Our youngest turned 10 while there and we had a cake to celebrate...there were always more cookies and fruit if you were hungry. Our surf coaches Roberto, Jord and even Marcela were the best...more like family than coaches! We all were surfing at the end of the week and have the surfing bug in us now! The relaxing part was a nice change as well....reading that wasn't for work was a treat! We are already planning our trip for April 2013...I need to book!

Room Tip: We had the three rooms on the pool level and they were all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I spent a thoroughly peaceful week at Kalon Surf this past spring with my two teenage boys. My boys started the week with no previous surf experience, and ended the week as surfers! Roberto was a wonderful surf instructor! The water was warm and inviting, and the waves were perfect for what we needed. It rained a few days while we were there, but surfing in the rain proved to be quite enjoyable.
After the first day at the beautiful mansion, my 16 year old said to me that he thought he may be bored. I told him to embrace that feeling, as I had never heard him utter those words before. In our busy and hectic everyday lives, we forget to stop and enjoy the quiet days of life. By the end of the week he had read 3 books while lounging on the hammock, and had completely embraced the solitude of the week.
We started each day with a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit and delicious waffles (we miss those waffles!) and the food only got better and better as the day progressed. Diego and Marcella worked very hard to accommodate our vegetarian diet, and my boys loved all of the food. We were full for the entire week!
As we relaxed at the mansion, the sounds of the jungle were all around us. I would sit for hours on the pool deck with the guide to animals of Costa Rica and just listen and look. We saw howler and spider monkeys, sloths and frogs, toucans and macaws, and much more. On Wednesday we all enjoyed a wonderful massage on a deck that rests over the jungle. It sounded as if the massage therapist had put on a fake recording of "sounds of the jungle".
This was an absolutely wonderful vacation, and we all look forward to returning to Kalon again someday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at kalon's new mansion and had a fantastic time. The instruction is spot on, you get 1 instructor per 2 people and the video analysis makes a big difference to your progress, and also produces a fantastic set of pictures at the end of the stay. We got massages half way through (you need the break!) which were good and if you wanted additional they were only 35 bucks for a full body. It had a great vibe the owner , his wife and the 2 awesome dogs would come to the various beautiful locations we surfed which added to the overall 'family home' vibe. The food was either good or excellent and wine and beers decent. Personally we would have happily enjoyed a bottle of vodka too but that is personal taste and by no means a complaint. Seriously, if you want to learn to surf come here, especially if Jord is there-he is the man!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyPenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I and our two year old son had an amazing vacation with Kalon Surf. The reviews are right on! It really is the people who make Kalon such an awesome experience. Kajeld the owner and his wonderful fiance Silena take care of all the big stuff, including taking you to great surf spots everyday. And Marcela takes care of all the details, ensuring a worry free trip.
The food is delicious and served with such attention to detail! The accomodations are luxurious and with a beautiful view. We enjoyed seeing monkeys and tucans right outside our door!
We are looking forward to seeing our new friends at Kalon again next year when we
return! Cant wait....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
5.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
8.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
5.0 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
19.2 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort

Property: Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort
Address: Altos de Miramar | 4km de Costanera Hatillo, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalon Surf - The Luxury Resort in Costa Rica. We offer 7 nights all inclusive luxury surf camp for all levels in Dominical, Costa Rica. You just Surf, Relax and Enjoy amazing food, from the moment we pick you up in San Jose Costa Rica until we get you back there after a great week with us. Ocean View Luxury Rooms, Gourmet Food & Executive Chefs, Surf Coaching, Daily video coaching, Full range surfboards of our partners Firewire Surfboards & Kelly Slater Designs. Our surf coaching method makes sure you improve on a daily basis, regardless of your level and personal situation. With a full integration of video analysis, amazing coaches and a surf coaching method that works you will learn to surf & improve your surf during your week with us. Gourmet food is served throughout the week by our passionate chefs: sous vide & molecular cooking techniques, organic, wagyu beef, catch of the day and all very fresh. Our all Costa Rican staff, speaks perfectly english and are dedicated to not only make sure you have a perfect week, but also you get to feel the 'Pura Vida' part of Costa Rica. The best vacation of your life is awaiting in Paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing