We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular - House is a work of art”

Review of Casa Ramon

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sightseer...
1 review
“Spectacular - House is a work of art”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The house is amazing. We were greeted by fresh flower arrangements in all the rooms including bathrooms. Very well decorated, beautiful art throughout the house. Very clean and well appointed, there is nothing lacking in the very well stocked kitchen, there must be place-settings for at least a hundred. We chose to do the adventure package which included snorkeling, fishing, a private tour of Corcovado National Parks and Kayaking (which we ended up skipping and went to the beach instead) and chef service for breakfast and dinner. The chefs were very good, great food all week. Staff was exceptional, daily maid service was much appreciated. Every morning I enjoyed my coffee watching Toucans and the occasional group of Capuchin monkeys swinging through the trees heading down to the beach. There are also howler monkeys which are pretty entertaining. House is very large with tons of sitting areas we had a group of 11 ranging in ages from 7-75. We chose to have airport pick up and drop off, it's a good 3 - 3 1/2 hour drive but roads are good.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
On behalf of everyone with Casa Ramon we appreciate your awesome review. We look forward to being of service to you and your friends and family in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escapingo...
Monclova, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family vacation of a lifetime!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Ramon exceeded our expectations in every way. Our large family group of 12 adults and 3 children were amazed at the beauty of this sprawling, stunning home overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The photos on the websites can't accurately depict how absolutely beautiful it was. The 3 hour trip from SJO was actually not bad at all. The highway was new and easy to navigate and the GPS took us right to the house. We took our time and were in awe of beautiful Costa Rica. The House Manager, Alberto, was very kind and accommodating. He even drove us to the grocery the first night and drove my husband and I and are little boy an hour away to a Clinic when he got an ear infection the first day. All of the wonderful reviews you've read are absolutely true. Fresh pineapples and coffee, etc. were waiting for us when we arrived. Gorgeous fresh flower arrangements were everywhere. The entire house was impeccable. Fresh towels and maid service daily. We had Chef dinners twice and they were delicious. The only recommendation I would make is to choose something other than steak if you are used to grain-fed steaks like we are. Their beef is grass-fed and not nearly the quality you get in the States. Daily we were visited by Capuchin monkeys, Toucans, Parrots, the largest toad I've ever seen, and even a Mongoose. The rain wasn't a bother at all. It lasted for a few minutes in the evening and then cleared up. We went fishing for a full day with Capt. Mike and Johnny from Quepos Fish Adventures and landed a bunch of Grouper, Red Snapper and even a 100# Sailfish! We cooked up a huge feast that night in two of the kitchens. The L'Occitane products in the bathrooms were a nice touch! We ventured to two waterfalls - one we slid down into the natural pool below, and the other we swung from a rope like Tarzan and Jane. It was a fantastic experience. The roadside "Sodas" were everywhere and each one we tried was delicious. We visited Jolly Rodgers for good wings, only a few minutes up the mountain by the house in our 4WD (definitely get a 4WD in Costa Rica). We also visited Patrone's in Dominical three times because it was a great atmosphere and had the best Filet Mignon we have ever had (shipped in from the States), and the tableside ice cream was so fun to watch! The owner, Mike, was so friendly and accommodating, even making me soy ice cream tableside himself. We all had a heavenly experience at Alegria Spa in Dominical. Only $35 for an hour therapeutic massage and it was fabulous! The beaches near Casa Ramon were beautiful. The beach area that is steps down from the house was very pretty, but too rough to swim in, which an adventurous teenager in our group discovered when he was scraped against the rocks. We would love to come back to Casa Ramon - it was the perfect family vacation and was wonderful for everyone in our group from age 5-68! Thank you to the owner Jorge for his quick replies and to Alberto and the wonderful staff for making our vacation so special!
Here's a quick video of a moment of relaxation in the hammock at Casa Ramon (copy and paste in your browser):

https://video-ord1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hvideo-xta1/v/t42.1790-2/11122103_10106178935914815_29738016_n.mp4?efg=eyJybHIiOjUyOSwicmxhIjo1MTJ9&oh=56eda49464960513f9933fd6952f6753&oe=558C7C88

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sprawling, stunning views, gorgeous decor, well-equipped, Alberto was awesome
Liked least: No complaints!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin K
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa in Rainforest Paradise”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is exactly as described and the pictures do not do it justice. We stayed in Casa Ramon for 7 days and had members age 3 all the way to 84. My initial contact with Jorge was always met with prompt responses and very honest answers. He always helped out with recommendations. The whole process of booking was very seamless. The villa is perfect in many aspects. Each portion of the house is separated by large outdoor living areas so everyone can have their own privacy but still be together. Each floor has a kitchen and living area. The first floor was perfect for the grandparents because it was designed to be handicapped accessible. The pool area is beautiful along with the immaculate grounds. This was by far the nicest villa we have stayed at. The next amazing thing about the villa is the staff. Alberto was so gracious. He took care of every need, and was always available when needed. We felt he went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we were taken care of. We learned quite a bit about Costa Rica from him. I would encourage future guest to engage with him. The groundskeepers and housekeeping staff always kept the house perfectly clean. We cooked on several occasions and they kept the kitchen spotless. I would highly recommend this villa to anyone and we will definitely be back for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large outdoor space
Liked least: One of the downstairs bedrooms beds was a little harder than the rest, but this is being picky
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“luxury house with amazing jungle feeling”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house was the best place i have ever stayed on vacation. we traveled with two other families (6 adults and 7 children). the house is segregated so each family had their own space when they wanted time away. The pool was wonderful and the kids were in it nonstop. We had jungle visitors every morning with monkeys and toucans. A sloth visited the property while we were there. The on site manager was there for whatever we needed at any time. Having washer and dryer at the house made it easy to feel clean and comfortable every day. The hike down to the beach is not recommended as it was very physically demanding but we drove to several beaches in the area that were perfect! The property is incredible and i would recommend everyone to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how multiple family friendly it was
Liked least: some tiles were slippery and needed nonstick tape when wet
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sara J
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“A Truly Luxury Jungle Get Away We Will Never Forget!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I am writing this review following the truly wonderful time we had at Casa Ramon during Thanksgiving week 2013. From the gorgeous home, beautiful interior decorations, relaxing patios and pool deck, to the sweeping jungle vistas falling away to the Pacific Ocean, Casa Ramon was a delightful oasis for our family over the Thanksgiving holiday. The decor and furnishings are very high end and each room has its own little unique twists which make exploring the massive property a treat!

I can not speak highly enough about the staff at the house. They were friendly, professional, efficient, and did everything to make our stay comfortable. A small army would come in during the day when we were out doing activities and we would return to a spotless home with freshly arranged flowers all over the house. Alberto especially went out of his way to respond to small requests we made and to check up on us through the week without being overbearing.

We cooked phenomenal meals in the five star kitchen each night, shopping for groceries in the nearby supermarkets. We ate as a big family out on the big patio table with candles each night and even ate a fish Thanksgiving dinner after a successful day on the ocean deep sea fishing.Everything you need to cook a wonderful meal is there. We loved blending up our own frozen drink concoctions every night to sip by the lit up pool as the sun set. There is a really cute hotel (Angel del Cuna) right by the house where we had a very tasty dinner one night too.

The activities nearby are awesome! Our group did horseback riding to waterfalls, snorkeling at Cano Island, deep sea fishing, ziplining, and a jungle hike. We prearranged the activities before arriving, however the home staff will help you do it too.

We rented two large SUVs at San Jose for the 3 hour drive from San Jose to Dominical. That was kind of a pain, but SO WORTH IT!

Definitely go to Casa Ramon for a truly unforgettable family vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Home with Fresh Flowers and Gorgeous Patio/Pool
Liked least: No hot tub
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing