We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place in Dominical”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Alturas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Upland, California
1 review
“Best Place in Dominical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Domincal is a nice little town along the Pacific side of Costa Rica. This stretch of the coast where the Jungle meets the ocean boasts incredible views , pristine beaches and authentic Costa Rican lifestyles. Nestled in the hill overlooking the Pacific , with 180 degree views of the coastline is Villa Alturas. I have to take my hat off to the owners of this Boutique Hotel. They have done a great job with this property , and I know have poured their heart and soul into this place and it shows! With incredible views , incredible food and with a staff that just goes out of their way to make your stay as relaxing as possible you are sure to have a hard time leaving. I highly recommend a visit if you have not done so , you won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: All the roms come with an incredible view , situated to have privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Chris,
thank you for all your wonderful comments and taking the time to write your review. Everyone here at Villas Alturas work very hard to make every stay a great stay for our guest. We are very grateful that you have chosen Villas Alturas as you favorite destination while in the Southern Zone. We look forward to you return trip in July.
best regards,
Tom, Ivette and the entire team at Villas Alturas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    54
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
145
171
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We recently stayed here and it was great. The entire staff went out of their way to make our stay an awesome and completely relaxing experience. The view is incredible and the room (Villa 6) was absolutely spotless. Highly highly highly recommended. Just go. :)

Room Tip: Breakfast is included! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Will,
it was great to meet you and your family. We appreciate your comments and having time to discuss the Costa Rica life style. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
warmest regards,
Tom, Ivette and the staff at Villas Alturas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I fell in love on my first trip to Villas Alturas and my Son is there #1 fan too! As some of you know when your 17 year old has only been at the resort for 15 minutes and says " mom this place is killer!" its the place you want to be.The amazing experience starts the second you are greeted with a smile and walk in the most spectacular view! I have been very fortunate to travel on a regular basis and the only place to go in Costa Rica is Villas Alturas. The staff is so friendly and helpful, rooms have ocean view, and the food is fabulous!!!! The only bad part is leaving...... Looking forward to our next trip, thank you everyone @ Villas Alturas!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
thank you Violet for your review. It was great to see you again and we look forward to your next trip back to Villas Alturas.
Best regards,
Tom, Ivette and the VA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My sister and I stayed at Villas Alturas for 6 nights, and couldn't have been happier. From the moment we arrived (we received coconut milk upon arrival) till the end we were treated with the best customer service. Marlon and Jessica were both so nice, and they were always willing to help. The view is spectacular, but be prepared for a good trip up the hill to get to see the view. You definitely need 4 wheel drive. The food was good at the restaurant, and the chef was so nice. The only thing that I would suggest is for the rooms to be updated a bit, but for the price, I was perfectly happy.

Room Tip: They are villas, so all of the rooms have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are always pleased to hear when the service is excellent!
The staff really wants each guest to have a wonderful experience all around. Since purchasing alturas in October we have made many upgrades to the property and rooms including paint, upholstery, tv and satellite service... And we plan to do more! Hopefully if you return it will be completed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Villas Alturas for Valentine's Day this year. It was absolutely amazing, definitely one I will never forget. The pool and the view are absolutely spectacular. We had a wonderful lunch on the deck and enjoyed wine next to the pool all day. We rented a one bedroom villa and it was very spacious, had a full kitchen and a huge bathroom. The a/c also kept it very cool at night. The owners were more than gracious and made sure that we had a wonderful time. They also had a special Valentine's Day dinner that was delicious!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Allison,
thank you for spending Valentine's day at Villas Alturas. We appreciate your comments and having the opportunity to meet you both. We invite you back for another special occasion or just to get away and relax.
Warmest regards,
Tom, Ivette and the team at Villas Alturas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently stayed in Villa 1 for three nights with our two kids. The villa itself was spacious and had amazing views of the Pacific ocean and the surrounding rainforest. The villa was showing some signs of aging, hopefully the new owners will soon correct. We enjoyed time at the pool and our front porch looking for wildlife like toucans and monkeys. We had stellar service from Marlon and he really went above and beyond to ensure that our kids and us had a great time. One example is that breakfast is served from 7-9am and two mornings we had early morning tours so he prepared breakfast both of those mornings for us at 6:45 and even took our order the night before to make sure it was ready for us on time. We had one dinner at the hotel and we thought the food was decent but there is room for improvement. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samhp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We appreciate your review and comments at Villas Alturas. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and are already changing up some of the menu items and working towards having every meal the best meal possible. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Costa Rica.
all the best,
Tom, Ivette and the entire staff at Villas Alturas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from a great stay at Villas Alturas in villa 4. The facilities are great and have sufficient space for a family of four. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We ate several meals in the restaurant, the service and food was very good. Highly recommended, also short drive to many of the local beached.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank traveller_42_42_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Villas Alturas as your place to stay while in the Southern Zone. We appreciate your comments and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back on you next trip to Costa Rica.
Warmest regards,
Tom, Ivette and the team at Villas Alturas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.2 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
4.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Property: Villas Alturas
Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing