We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views Awesome Properety”
Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Alturas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We've traveled all over Costa Rica, you will not find a better place to spend some of your vacation. Villas Alturas has some of the best views we have ever experienced. Sitting high in the hills, but just a few minute drive to the beach you get to experience Costa Rica in the Jungle, monkeys come and go, many species of birds are always flying above. Words don't do justice, if your planning on coming to the Dominical area, this place is a must! Tom and Ivette are great hosts and have a fantastic restaurant. The villas are very spacious with all the amenities you would need. We have already booked a 5 day get away for Easter and were spending it at Villas Alturas! Tom and Ivette: cant wait to see you guys. Brian and Jena

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Brian,
we appreciate that we could provide accommodations and then meet such nice people and friends. We are so glad you have come back to visit us and look forward to your next getaway to Villas Alturas.
Best,
tom and Ivette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 427 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Located in the hills outside of Dominical, this place is a treasure! If you aren't driving, it's about a $12 cab ride. Our villa was amazing! Outdoor patio with ceiling fans to keep the air moving if you wanted to sit and rock a while. The common area offered a breathtaking view of the ocean and a pool to play in all day. Marlon kept us content with drinks when we wanted. They have a lovely lunch and dinner menu. I recommend the sea bass! Tom, the owner, was great. He even gave us a ride down the hill to catch our shuttle bus. We decided after we got there that we didn't need to go anywhere else during our stay and took advantage of the sun and amenities offered there! We heard howler monkeys in the distance and saw white faced monkeys as they came up for bananas near the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Tom and I really appreciate your kind words. it makes it all worth while when we know we have made your vacation enjoyable. it was a pleasure having you here and its a huge compliment that villas Alturas stood out to you as a highlight of your trip. thanks again for taking the time to write a review, means the world to us! Sincerely, Tom and Ivette ( and Homie and Lassie :) )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights Jan 3 and 4 and wished we had stayed longer.Large rooms which are ideal for a family.The breakfast was terrific as so was the evening meal which we enjoyed twice.The new owners have put a lot of money and effort into making this place truly memorable.The pool is great and the location is wonderful.Highly recommend Villas Alturas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

First, thanks for taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate it. We never get tired of hearing how this special place has made our guests vacation memorable. its why we do what we do! Anyone who comes to this part of Costa Rica has found a treasure for life. We always hope to see familiar faces sometime in the future. Very Sincerely, Tom and Ivette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Without question Villas Alturas was exceptional. We are a seasoned and well travelled family and understand what constitutes an excellent experience and equally outstanding accommodations. Great value. Tom and Ivette are proud of their piece of paradise and have assembled a remarkable team that is focused on creating the best experience possible for guests. From a BBQ on a whim to great suggestions on local adventures the knowledge and connections this team has is first rate. We stayed for 4 nights over Christmas and it was both relaxing and high octane allowing us as a family to balance both spectrums. Beach umbrellas, surf boards, towels, tips for local parking and dining it was exceptional service . . . we already have recommended Villas Alturas to family and friends . . . cheers

Room Tip: For families room number 7 great view, awesome deck and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

We enjoy meeting so many people from around the world, and we can honestly say you stood ou to us Jimmy! From the moment we met you, we knew it was going to be fun! you are always smiling and having a great time with your family. Vincent enjoyed so much playing in the pool with the " kids" It was a real treat having you stay with us, thanks for making us feel like we did some good! we would hope to see you again here one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place! As you stand in lobby to check in the hospitality & the stunning view just take your breath away.... I am fortunate to travel on a regular basis and without a doubt this my go to spot in Costa Rica, hands down! View, service, location& beautiful villas, my pictures don't do my experience justice. Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you Violet! We had a great time with you here and we are pleased you have already decided to come back in April! We looking forward to also having your son here, I am sure he will enjoy it just as much as you did. thanks for taking time to write a review and see you in a couple months.
Best, Tom,Ivette, Vincent :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was an ideal place to stay. The villas are large with comfortable rooms; we stayed in Villa 1 which was perfect. The view is amazing! The pool is great for kids and for relaxing in after tossing around in the waves at the nearby beaches. Tom and Ivette are so friendly and helpful. Our luggage was delayed for 3 days which was stressful and put a cramp in the start of our vacation; but Tom's persistence in tracking it down was so helpful; he was there for us right from the beginning. The villas include breakfast which was good. We ate dinner there several nights; a bit pricey but good. I will definitely make Villas Alturas one of our spots to return to!
Pros: the view, the friendly hosts, the pool, the large villas
Cons: need more plasticware that's pool friendly in the kitchens, AC control was a bit tricky

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayerobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

I have to start off by saying, Vincent still talks about the girls! they are so sweet and he had an absolute blast swimming and playing with them. Although your trip started off with no luggage, I know it only got better and you guys had such a great attitude and just made the best of it. Hope the rest of your stay in costa rica on "the other side" was just as enjoyable. your review makes our day. thank you for that :)
all the best, Tom, Ivette and Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had stayed at Villas Alturas in 2012 and wanted to take my parents to this wonderful resort for three nights during our drive through Costa Rica. They are in their 80ties and I knew this would be perfect for them. They loved it! The views, the birds, the rain forest setting, and the accommodations. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite on the second floor of Villa #7. All villas are very well maintained and some received upgrades from the new owner. The furniture is nice, kitchen is well equipped, beds are very comfortable, fans and AC keep the inside at a perfect temperature, and on the large veranda there was always a cool breeze. Breakfast (included) was a la carte and always delicious. We also ate dinner at the Villas all three nights and were impressed with the quality of the meals. The staff spoke very good English and were always friendly and ready to assist in any way. Definitely make this a stop when you visit (southern) Costa Rica - it is THE place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa that has an unobstructed view of the ocean. One villa is set a bit further back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPK500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

thank you for taking the time to write a review! it was lovely to have you and your parents here, glad they got to enjoy the views from the patio and the food! whether your looking for adventure or relaxation, there is something for everyone. that's great you pointed out the staffs English abilities! we think its so important that there are the least amount of language barriers. we are super lucky with our staff! one of these days we want to make it down to panama :)
all the best!
Tom and Ivette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
599 reviews
3.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
6.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
4.2 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
214 reviews
3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $162 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing