We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very personal, wonderful view, private villa”
Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Alturas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were greeted by Fransisco and David, they were of wonderful service and very friendly. The hardest part was the ride up, we almost didn't make it up the driveway, as the steep gravel (Costa Rican gravel= large rocks/dirt) road was downright awful, but luckily we got up and were delighted with the view. Very good food prepared by David. Very modest and humble people. The room we had, villa 5, was amazing. We had a full kitchen, not just a kitchenette, and the fridge was stocked with small purchases for reasonable prices ($1.00/2.00 snacks). Very nice pool and great for family vacations. I recommend a 4 wheel drive vehicle not just for Villas Alturas, but for all of Costa Rica, although we had a Toyota Yaris, and it got around many horrid roads alright.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktrini102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 427 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you like great views, quiet vacations and friendly people Villas will not disappoint. Expect to spend a lot of time in a rocking chair in front of your room or on a lounge chair by the pool wondering if you'll be able to tear yourself away from the beauty of the place.

Let me cover the high points of our experience: Easy travel to Dominical and other points of interest in the area (best if you have a rental car), great to be able to prepare a fresh meal in our Villa (better because, it being during low season, we were able to have dinner with our hosts one night - I love to cook), excellent to avoid the 'resort crowd' and relax without being overwhelmed, useful to have knowledgeable hosts who know where to go, who to talk to and where the freshest fish in town is likely to be, wonderful to know I'll not need to think about where to stay the next time I travel to Dominical.

Definitely read the other reviews for details on the rooms, service and general atmosphere, I cannot disagree with anyone on this forum who had an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Villas Alturas offered us a truly unforgettable visit to the south pacific coast. With a breathtaking view and the most friendly and helpful staff, we have nothing but the highest recommendation for Villas Alturas.

Managers, David and Cindy, were willing to go to whatever means possible to help make our stay enjoyable. They offered us advice on the best beach spots (Playa Ventanas was our favorite) in addition to allowing us to use their beach chairs, blankets, towels, and an umbrella. Nonetheless, we were most impressed with their willingness to assist us when we encountered a rental car issue. On our travel from La Fortuna to Dominical our car broke down 5 km away from Villas Alturas. The Managers and staff (Mr. Francisco) were very helpful and arranged for a taxi to come pick us up in addition to communicate our problem to the rental company over the next 24 hours. Even further, Mr. Francisco secured the car and returned the next day to assist the rental car company to tow the car to the nearest garage. This took a huge stress off our shoulders and allowed us to enjoy our precious time in Costa Rica. We really could not show enough appreciation for the help by everyone at Villas Alturas. They all went above and beyond their responsibilities and showed a true dedication to making their guests’ visit a pleasant one.

Lastly, we find it necessary to mention the food here—which was unbelievable. While the main Chef was off for most of the three days we spent here, we had the pleasure to enjoy Cindy and David’s cooking on multiple occasions. It was nothing short of spectacular and ended up being some of our favorite meals during the course of our vacation. In all, we could not find a bad thing to say about this place. Everything about Villas Alturas, in particular the Managers and staff, exceeded our expectations. We cannot wait to make it back here within a few years.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

What a great stay we had. Breathtaking view over the ocean, truly a beautiful place. We stayed at the 2 bedroom villa and couldn't have imagined a more spacious villa then this one. Nice pool, great host David whom prepared us great dinners. The place is magical and surely recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicoline1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Villas Alturas surprised and delighted. I chose it mostly because I was familiar with the area near Dominical, probably the most beautiful and pleasant part of Costa Rica, and the price was very competitive. My expectations regarding quality of the hotel were modest. Those low expectations were immediated overturned by the tremendous views from the swimming pool deck and outdoor patios and the exceptionally warm welcome we received from the owner and current property managers. Service throughout was exceptional, and there were many unexpected little extras such as beach chairs and umbrellas, a picnic cooler and ice, etc.. Our villa was roomy, comfortable, spotless and well equipped. We really didn't want to leave for our flight home. In short, the location is brilliant, easy access to Dominical, Uvita and a half dozen great beaches, a short drive down to Ojachal's wonderful restaurants and a slightly longer one north to Manuel Antonio park. The management of the hotel and the service are exceptional. The views from the property are spectacular. The perfect tropical holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 760adavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

A very nice little retreat. The villas are not luxurios, but well worth their price, very spaceous, comfortable and clean.
The views are breathtaking.
The food was superb.
All this was topped by a level of service, I personally never encountered before.
For example, we were a group of 8 and after we checked out we asked if we could get towels for our trip, promissing to bring them back at a later date. They did not even think about the issue, and immediately brought us towels, and trusted us to get them back to the villas somehow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this place is truly stunning. The views are spectacular, staff is exceptional, and the rooms were absolutely beautiful.
They all went out of their way to make sure that our trip was fabulous, and it truly was.
I cannot think of a single complaint and all I can say is they did a wonderful job of making our stay beautiful. This place is highly recommended and I wouldn't think of going anywhere else if I was within 100 miles of Dominical. Bravo Cindy and Dave, our host and hostess, thank you so much for a wonderful trip. And thanks to Francisco for being such an attentive host as well. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunangel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
599 reviews
3.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
6.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
4.2 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
214 reviews
3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $162 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing