We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Alturas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2012

A very nice little retreat. The villas are not luxurios, but well worth their price, very spaceous, comfortable and clean.
The views are breathtaking.
The food was superb.
All this was topped by a level of service, I personally never encountered before.
For example, we were a group of 8 and after we checked out we asked if we could get towels for our trip, promissing to bring them back at a later date. They did not even think about the issue, and immediately brought us towels, and trusted us to get them back to the villas somehow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 427 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this place is truly stunning. The views are spectacular, staff is exceptional, and the rooms were absolutely beautiful.
They all went out of their way to make sure that our trip was fabulous, and it truly was.
I cannot think of a single complaint and all I can say is they did a wonderful job of making our stay beautiful. This place is highly recommended and I wouldn't think of going anywhere else if I was within 100 miles of Dominical. Bravo Cindy and Dave, our host and hostess, thank you so much for a wonderful trip. And thanks to Francisco for being such an attentive host as well. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunangel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

One of the best views of the coast I have seen! Postcard perfect. villas Alturas offers spacious villas and rooms with commanding views from high above the coast. The new managers, Cindy and David have done a nice job creating a welcoming retreat with a relaxed and casual feel. Under their management, I am sure the experience will only improve. Bedrooms have air conditioning and the pool is a refreshing escape from the heat. Again...the view from the pool area is jaw-dropping fantastic! We were planning some excursions to some nearby water falls but skipped it and just the enjoyed the view from the pool. Very comfortable beds with nice quality bedding.

Room Tip: Some villas offer better views than others so you may want to ask ...but none compare to the view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbpeck2000, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thanks for your kind words! It is so nice that we have many enjoyable, interesting people staying at the Villas. All of our guests are wonderful, but we don't always get to spend time with them, as we did with you and Wendy. We are happy to count you as new friends! Please come back and visit us soon. Cindy Peck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My wife and I have been to Costa Rica on several occasions and were positively delighted by Villas Alturas. Nestled in the hills above the ocean, our villa provided breathtaking views of the sea morning, afternoon and evening. The sound of howler monkeys from the jungle side of the property and the variety of toucans and other birds that can be seen from your patio adds a distinctly Costa Rican touch to this unique place.

The villa itself was extremely comfortable with air-conditioned bedrooms with comfortable king-size beds, good WiFi access, and a fully equipped modern kitchen-although given the gourmet quality of the meals, you probably won't want to cook. The bathroom and shower are both spacious and comfortable-something that you don't often find when travelling.

Cindy and David, the owners, were very attentive and concerned that we found everything to our liking, asking us when we wanted our meals, arranging for an onsite massage for my wife, even providing us with a cooler, drinks, and beach chairs to take to nearby Playa Hermosa for the afternoon. We truly found them as both perfect hosts and new found friends and look forward to seeing them again.

Access to Quepos, Uvita, Manuel Antonia, the Diamonte Falls and other Costa Rican attractions in the south-central Pacific area is convenient by car. If you are looking for a truly inviting escape from the "typical" resort with stunning views, great service, friendly and courteous staff, all with the unique Pura Vida vibe that makes Costa Rica so special-Villas Alturas is your destination. Thanks again, Cindy and David

Pura Vida,
Lou and Kim

Room Tip: Just tell Cindy or David what you're looking for and they will do all they can to make it happen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbpeck2000, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thanks Lou and Kim! Can't wait for your move to Costa Rica! Always great to meet new friends and so happy you like Villas Alturas. Thanks for the great review!! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was a perfect stay . We had a beautiful villa with the most beautiful view in Costa Rica.
Beautiful scenery of the jungle on one side and the wonderful sea view from the other side.
Villa has a great kitchen if you want to cook your own meals. The place is very clean ,beds are very comfortable and shower is very good. , The food in the resturant was delicious and we enjoyed the best dinner we had in Costa Rica .
Cindy and David were just great ,taking care for each detail , and making sure that we will make the most of our vacation. Pool is great , and this was the perfect place for us to rest and enjoy.
We just didn't want to leave the villas.
It's very easy to get to Manuel Antonio from here and see all wild life around , we found this place much nicer to stay than in manual Antonio or Quapas.
Thank you Cindy and David for such a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EitanIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbpeck2000, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thanks so much for the kind words! Means alot to us as we just took over the management of Villas Alturas. Please come back and visit us and we will make you an entire Passionfruit Pie just for you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I just stayed just stayed here and had a wonderful time. I would not give this a 5 star rating unless Scott and Russell were there making sure everything got done like a 5 star resort.It was amazing; they unloaded the car as soon as we got there. This was before we had even thought of it.
If you stay here bring 4 wheel drive because you are going up a gnarly hill that ends up in a heavenly location, high above the Pacfic. You are in the jungle looking down at birds soaring in the breeze. The pool and dining area has an unbelieveable view of the whole thing.
We stayed in the handiecaped room by the parking lot. I would not recommend this room because it was a little ackward if you can believe it. There is one room and I do not know the number which has the best location. Try to get that one!
I think that we paid approximately$150/night.For this place it was a steal and that is another reason for the 5 star rating. It is not the Ritz, but I would rather stay at Villa Alturas

Room Tip: Ask for the one that has almost 100% occupancy rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjdalydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you want a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation! These Villas are your answer! Enjoy a wonderful sunset view from the front porch, nice weather and a comfortable bed. What more can you ask for? Come and enjoy Villas Alturas for yourself, you'll never want to leave!

Room Tip: All the villas are nice with comfortable beds and a great kitchen, if you want to cook? A great home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
599 reviews
3.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
6.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
4.2 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
214 reviews
3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $162 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing