We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveable service and great place to stay”
Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Alturas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I just stayed just stayed here and had a wonderful time. I would not give this a 5 star rating unless Scott and Russell were there making sure everything got done like a 5 star resort.It was amazing; they unloaded the car as soon as we got there. This was before we had even thought of it.
If you stay here bring 4 wheel drive because you are going up a gnarly hill that ends up in a heavenly location, high above the Pacfic. You are in the jungle looking down at birds soaring in the breeze. The pool and dining area has an unbelieveable view of the whole thing.
We stayed in the handiecaped room by the parking lot. I would not recommend this room because it was a little ackward if you can believe it. There is one room and I do not know the number which has the best location. Try to get that one!
I think that we paid approximately$150/night.For this place it was a steal and that is another reason for the 5 star rating. It is not the Ritz, but I would rather stay at Villa Alturas

Room Tip: Ask for the one that has almost 100% occupancy rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjdalydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 422 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you want a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation! These Villas are your answer! Enjoy a wonderful sunset view from the front porch, nice weather and a comfortable bed. What more can you ask for? Come and enjoy Villas Alturas for yourself, you'll never want to leave!

Room Tip: All the villas are nice with comfortable beds and a great kitchen, if you want to cook? A great home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Wow where to start. We just got back from our 6 day trip to Costa Rica. We stayed at Villas Alturas all of those days but the last. The view is amazing. While staying there, many people visited just to see the view. We even had a local have to bring us a new rental car and he took pictures from the balcony because he had never seen a view like the one at Alturas.

Honestly though, Scott and Russell are what make Villas Alturas a place you should visit. They set up all our excursions for us before we arrived, they helped get us a new rental car when we had an issue with ours, they made everyone feel so welcome, and they were just great people that were fun to be around.

The food at the villas was great too. At Breakfast you got a great fruit plate to start and then whatever the special of the day was. But if you weren't interested in the special they would make anything upon request. Truly cater everything to their guests.

If it had not been for Scott and Russell I am sure that we would not have enjoyed Costa Rica as much as we did! Villas Alturas is great whether you are on a trip to relax or one for adventure! Loved it and so will you! The only thing you should be aware of is the drive if you fly into San Jose, it is about 3 to 3 1/2 hours and getting a rental car there is a bit of a painful process. Not that it was hard to get to, just a long drive that you need to be aware of.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in on our trip in January.The views from the villas are breathe taking,The food was gourmet.The innkeepers were excellant and went above and beyond to make you feel like family.The wild life we saw from our villa was incredable we saw Howler monkeys,Toucans man exxotic birds and one of the guests saw a jaguar while on a walk near the resort.I can't reall say enough good about the resort..My only regret was we only spent two nights there next time we will spend five nights there.

Room Tip: Villa Del Mar the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishinmortician_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I'm a firm believer in trip advisor reviews when planning my vacations. During our 9 days stay in Costa Rica we stayed at Hotel Belmar(Monteverde), Villas Alturas(Dominical), and Costa Paraiso(Dominical).

It's safe to believe the other reviews that have been posted. Villas Alturas was hands down the best hotel and experience of the three. Scott and Russell provide a level of service that is equivalent to a 5 star resort in the United States. The views and grounds were amazing and tons of birds(including Toucans) seen daily.

Where to begin: When we arrived and decided a rental car was neccessary for all the exploring we wanted to do in the area. Russell offered us a ride to the Marino Ballena National park - also tried to help us get a car that day. When no car was available until the next morning, guess who drove us down to pick it up? That's right - Russell.

On top of that, they are both great people - so down to earth and easy to have fun with. We had some great times with them hanging out at the bar playing cards.

When it came time to take care of the guests, they always put them first!

Azul restaraunt was unbelievable - Fresh fish of the day wrapped in banana leaf over over flame...TO DIE FOR!!

For those of you on the fence between Villas and Costa - it's an easy choice. Costa isn't even close.

Thanks again to Scott and Russell for giving us such a great experience.

-Eric and Maureen

Room Tip: We liked Toucan - no one will walk by your villa to get there. It's a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edubs145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

After a long drive from San Jose, the last stretch up the road to Villas Alturas couldn't end quickly enough. We pulled up and were immediately greeted by both Scott and Russell. We instantly knew from their kindness and the overall stunning beauty of the place, we had made the right decision with our lodging situation. We spent the rest of the day drinking the amazing concoctions which Russell blended up for us.

The place itself was absolutely gorgeous with its panoramic views of the ocean/coast/jungle. The villa we were in was immaculately clean and took no time to adjust to. The food which was provided for breakfast, lunch & dinner was masterfully cooked. The suggestions which Scott & Russell had for activities, beaches & restaurants were all spot on. The guys were extremely knowledgable and pointed us in the right direction for canyoning (the best activity we did on the trip).

DO NOT PASS ON THIS PLACE!

Scott & Russell, Amy, Jon, Tiffany and I wish you both all of the best in the future! I sincerely hope we get another chance to get down there. PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We spent 6 nights at Villas Alturas during a 3 week vacation in CR last month and had an amazing time there. Nestled between Dominical and Uvita and high on a hill, this terraced property consists of one & two bedroom bungalows that are spacious, provide a kitchenette if you feel so inclined, comfortable bed and furnishings and are well maintained. The real beauty of this place though, lies out of doors. Wonderful views of jungle, wildlife and the sparkling Pacific Ocean are available from every perch, be it one of the rockers on your private porch, the gorgeous pool patio or the lovely dining area just beside the pool. Russell and Scott are the perfect hosts. Their restaurant Azul is amazing with wonderfully prepared and presented food, great wine and lovely background music. There is so much to see and do in this area (although we mostly vegged) that we agree next year we'll be travelling a whole lot less throughout the rest of beautiful CR and indulging ourselves in this area much longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeiselManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
598 reviews
3.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.2 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
634 reviews
3.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
3.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $152 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing