We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host, great views from a great swimming pool!”
Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Alturas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here for about 4 days this December & relied heavily on Scott for references to do things around the area & restaurants. And he was just great! Scott directed us to go to San Gerardo De Dotto that became the highlight of our Costa Rica vacay - magnificent area! He also told us about little things like Mariane's cafe there, the art gallery - things off the beaten path that we really enjoyed. We really enjoyed Scott's restaurant recommendations too! He had arranged for a hat and sun glasses for me for an early morning boat ride, when I had forgotten mine at a restaurant the night before - very, very helpful!

Food here is very good (& its coming from a picky NYC eater!) The swimming pool area overlooking the ocean is really relaxing & the staff goes all out trying to make your time in the area as nice as possible.

Our cabin was set up like an apartment. We only had a partial view from our cabin #1 but it was comfortable. Best of all, it had an AC in the bedroom - woot!

One thing that took us by surprise & would've been good to know ahead of time- you can't flush TP down the toilet and that is true for the entire area, not just Villas Alturas :)

The few things that could be improved upon are -

1. Signage from the main road: there is only 1 sign right outside the entrance & it is super easy to miss, which we did!

2. No lights at the entrance from the main road - we were driving in the dark & twice in the rain & we missed the entrance twice! And this was towards the end of our stay too. So it would be super helpful to have a street light right at the entrance of the road to the villa off of the main road.

3. Cleaning - our bathroom wasn't cleaned, just the trash taken out. We could've used a cleaner bath mat after the 2nd day since we dragged in mud & sand with our feet. But we didn't get a replacement for the dirty one so we had to use towels. The sink & other areas weren't cleaned either which we were very surprised about. We didn't want to complain b/c we were hardly ever in the room.

Overall, I would stay here again if is was in the area!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freenie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thanks so much for your review. We strive for excellence and am very sorry you felt we fell short on the bathroom cleaning. It is our policy to clean the bathroom everyday so it must have been overlooked in the Holiday rush. We will work harder in that area. We have changed our policy and now change the bathmat and hand towel every day. Hopefully this help for a better experience. We understand the guest experience is why we are here! We do encourage our guests to mention anything that isn't up to par with their villas. If you had mentioned this to me, I would have easily corrected the issue immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back to Alturas and glad you liked San Gerardo de Dota. A gem of a place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 437 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

First thing was the warm welcome by Scott!!
Everyday morning the breakfast was different, interesting and tasty of course!!
The presentation was excellent with different flowers every day!!
The views were stunning! ...Scott even arranged our Taxi back to San Jose.They even dropped us to the main pick up point!!Very nice and friendly people!We had a very memorable experience!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swathi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This was our first stop in Costa Rica and were not disappointed! Beautiful views from the top with the perfect pool. Always hard to leave the pool every morning! The villas themselves are fully equipped. Very clean. And it was amazing waking up to the sound of birds chirping. Such a natural environment. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We also got some great recommendations for restaurants and travel that was very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I can't quit raving about this place to all of my friends and family! The food, the amenities, the quiet, and the staff were all amazing! Scott took care of everything we wanted to do including a massage (the masseuse was wonderful!), a zip line tour (thrilling!), and provided us directions to the Parque Nacionale in Manuel Antonio so we could hike through the rain forest. It is a 5 minute drive to two wonderful beaches and we enjoyed them both.

If you are planning to go to Costa Rica, then Villas Alturas is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: I recommend Villa 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The experience starts before you leave home, with helpful advice from Scott :)
Our welcome to the Villas felt like meeting up with old friends, and that feeling lasted for our 12 day honeymoon!
Each morning we were treated to wonderful breakfasts (don't forget the fruit is tree ripened and coffee is grown in CR!!) overlooking the ocean @ Azul restaurant.
We experienced the perfect blend of adventure and relaxation. Scott and Russell do and amazing job of organizing day trips, as well as recommending must see "attractions".
Our Villa had a spectacular view of the mountains and ocean.....it's always changing, it's incredible.
The area has so much to offer, wildlife, amazing beaches, national parks, ziplining etc... Alturas is the perfect hub for seeing and doing so much.
You can't afford to miss this unforgettable place.
Scott and Russell, we are already counting down to our next visit. Thanks so much for everything.
Five Star across the board for Alturas & Azul Restaurant!

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any room....but our personal fav...Vista Del Mar :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHarris7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I spent an extended weekend here with friends and had a great time! This was my first time to visit Costa Rica and I couldn't imagine a better place to stay! It was the perfect mixture of fun adventure and relaxation. Scott & Russell did a great job arranging activities and transportation when we needed it and providing excellent service when we just wanted to relax. Everything from the food, pool, villas and view were 5 star! I'm looking forward to coming back.
Unforgettable!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonH538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

A beautiful drive to the Villas on the Hiway 27. Saw a coati and a small howler monkey on the way down. Bring you a few single dollar bills for the toll. Stop off at the Tarcoles River and see the crocs under the bridge, Pretty awesome. The Villas are set on the side of the beautiful mountain drive up. Saw a family of pecaris cross the road, a couple of golden orb spiders, a pair of toucans and a toucanet. The Villas are wonderfully maintained and the pool was always clean. The view of the mountains meeting the Pacific Ocean overlooking about 40 miles of coastline is a must see. The grounds have beautiful flowers and an array of fruit trees including banana and papaya with lots of humming birds. Wonderful food served at restaurant with a friendly staff. The kitchen in our own Villa was great after a trip to the fresh market in San Isidro. You can use the Villas your middle of paradise and go out to experiance the local tours of horseback riding on the beach and up to the waterfalls, rafting, kayaking, surfing, ziplinning, snorkeling and sport fishing from the Villas or order a soothing massage at the Villas Spa room. I recommend at least a week's stay. Cheers to the crew at Villas Alturas!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
617 reviews
3 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
3.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 13 in Uvita
655 reviews
4.2 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
215 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $155 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing