We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”
Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Alturas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I have made numerous trips to Costa Rica and this hotel has one of the best views of the Pacific coasts available, the views of the mountains and ocean from the same vantage point are remarkable. The rooms are large and comfortable with wonderful verandahs. The staff is friendly and willing to make the visit comfortable and fun. Scott and Russell joined me on a great whitewater rafting experience on the Rio Naranjo, that was one of the funniest times ever. I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed in this hotel, the vibe is not relaxing and laid back, I cannot wait to retrun.
Great job guys.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    54
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
151
172
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We were in Costa Rica for all of August and stayed at 11 different hotels throughout. This was far and away the very best of any. Location, service, cleanliness, food... everything was the best. The views are stunning and the villas are well decorated and very comfortable. Scott went well above and beyond to make our stay the most enjoyable of any experienced in Costa Rica and we would love to return. Not just amazing value, but an incredible experience.

The pictures are beautiful, but the feeling of standing there and seeing the ocean and the mountains can't be described. I'd be doing something mundane like grabbing a snack in the kitchen, then look up and see the soaring view and it would stop me in my tracks. We've traveled a fair amount in Asia and Africa and this is my favourite, by far. Thanks Scott!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Great place to stay and be pampered. Scott and Russel went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and right at home. The breakfasts were great- how wonderful to not have ro rush away first thing in the morning and have the opportuniity enjoy the beautiful mornings overlooking the ocean.
The Villas are perfect for relaxing but are located in such a way that for groups you can entertain others .
I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was one of the most fun vacations I have ever been on. From the moment we got picked up at the Airport, to our journey back to SJO, we had a blast. This is a great place to stay with a group of friends, as the hotel is small and makes you feel like you have the place to yourself (even if you don't). This hotel is even more stunning than the pictures show. Mountains behind you and ocean in front of you. You could just sit on the chair outside your Villa and soak in the natural beauty of this place. The food at the Villa is better than most of the places we ate out at. Scott and Russell are the ultimate hosts. You will feel like you have two new friends by the end of your stay! Looking forward to going back, and we will!!! Thanks for a great time!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have been to Dominical several times and Villas Alturas by far is the best place I have stayed. From the time we checked in until the morning we left....excellent hospitality. The food was great and the pampering we received was awesome. The villas were beautiful and spacious with amazing views. Scott and Russell went above and beyond our expectations. Francisco was also very accommodating and was always there to get us what ever it was we needed. Excellent place overall and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The breathtaking view is only surpassed by the excellent food (from Chef Russell) and outstanding service (from Manager Scott Dinsmore). They make you feel so special and spoil you rotten.... You can be as busy as you want to be in Cost Rica or just simply enjoy the pool at the villas which is incredible also.... I have many wonderful memories from my week there and am anxious to make more memories on my next visit to Villas Alturas!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Arrived to a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean. The villas are on a mountainside overlooking panoramic view of 40 miles of coastline. Spectacular, addictive view!
The Villas were comfortable, with full kitchens, and the service was impeccable. Scott and Russell do a great job!! Pampered poolside, with drinks, snacks, and cold towels.
Entertained by great music, tour were arranged for us. We ziplined at Hacienda Baru, we did a catamaran trip out of quepos, we did the ATV tour in Uvita, and one of the guys went deep sea fishing and caught two sailfish, red snapper and amber jack. Which the chef then cooked for our dinner. The only problem was my stay was not long enough.
Will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: I stayed in Villa 6, roomy, comfortable, heard the howlers every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroljowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
567 reviews
4.2 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
6.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
597 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Property: Villas Alturas
Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing