We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly positive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Mostly positive”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I liked this property for the most part with only minor negatives and rest assured the plusses really do outweigh the minuses. It appears you can either stay in incredibly cheap accom. in Dominical or climb the price-ladder fairly quickly, with few properties like this one that cater to the higher-end-budget traveller.

Pros:
- Orthopaedic mattresses
- Best equipped common kitchen I have seen (new blender, even coolers to take food and drinks to the beach, thoughtful things like jiffy markers and masking tape provided for guests to label their food)
- Tree-lined property between beach and hotel full of the ribbets of Costa Rica’s famous red-eyed green frogs at night (truly cool)
- Very short walk to the beach
- Removed from the “main drag” (if you can call it that)
- Can hear ocean from pretty property
- Choice of fan or a/c for those with a preference
- Huge closet/”stuff” area adjoining bathroom keeps belongings out of sight
- Good fan
- Strong wifi

Cons:
- Pricey for "ghost-town-season" compared to similar properties in other coastal towns (staying more than one night brought the price down a bit)
- No staff presence. I was the only client at the hotel. Not unusual but the complete lack of night guard or other staff was definitely unusual. Bit spooky, truth be told.
- Absolutely awful shower - circuit issues - scalding hot.
- Safe tucked under a shelf on the floor in the corner of a bathroom a bit hard to get to (but the safe works!)

Room Tip: I like the cabinas with the little porches and hammocks. No a/c but the rooms stay cool due to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and your honest feedback. Hopefully your next stay will be more enjoyable, as we (the managers) are away visiting our families for the slow season, while our neighbor watches over and runs things for us. We normally live on-site and are always available for our guests. We will address the showers as soon as we return. Thanks again and we hope we have the pleasure of meeting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
36
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The room was excellent, very clean and accommodating and made me feel at home in such an exotic place. The area is so lush and beautiful. The staff was amazing, they made us feel so comfortable and were very kind. The amenities were all functional and we got way more than we expected for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonakaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I am hesitant giving 5 stars to anything, but Montanas de Agua exceeded our expectations and deserves it. It was great value for money. The room was spotless, modern and comfortable. Great mosquito netting. Hot shower, nice towels, the works. The hammocks in front of the cabinas are a lovely spot to watch birds from in the garden. Lovely friendly staff, easy reservation process. The communal kitchen is well stocked and clean. We booked for 3 nights, stayed 4, and could have easily stayed longer. I would return again and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiChickUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your high rating and kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We greatly appreciate your business and value your input. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I can't even put into words how great the staff at the hotel were!! From the moment you walk on the property you are treated like family. The poeple here have down how to treat guest. Rooms are clean, beds are good and safes in the room. I totally recommend Montnas De Agua. Will stay here every time I come back to Dominical. I had hammock out side my rooom and every night I would pull the fan out of room and read. Total relaxation with a variety of birds flying in for my enjoyment. Planned on staying a week extended my stay 2 more weeks. Great experience!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just happened up on Montanas de Aguas by accident. Met Jesse and Lenae who were operating it and adored them both. The room had private bath w/ hot water which is a luxury when traveling in this style and with a limited budget. We are seniors looking for a great deal and value. We found it here. Daily maid service did a great job. Kitchen was very usable. Other guests were interesting especially as some were medical students from the US learning Spanish. A 3 minute walk to the most beautiful and deserted beaches anywhere. Had a really good rate with the 7th night free!! Planned to stay a week and ended up staying 3 weeks. Soooo relaxing and quiet though a 10 minute stroll takes you to the middle of Dominical and restaurants, bars, surfing shops, etc. Will go back there next year!!

Room Tip: Prefer no AC, so opted for the un-ACd rooms with fan. Great price and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegandDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were 4 on the road winging it without reservations and ended up at Montanas de Agua. Likely would not have found it without a recommendation from a local, as the location is one block back off the beach road. Due to the location the property offers a quiet, private environment, yet an ocean view is to be had from the second floor balcony!
The room we took was a large one, would sleep up to 8 I think, very clean, with fully equipped kitchette, table and chairs, beds both singles and doubles, and a tiled bath with hot water shower.
The aircon was a nice feature as the beach can make for muggy nights.
So happy we found this small hotel, we'll be back, as it is a great value very close to the beach and to the center of town, yet tucked away and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed4_vida_rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The rooms are clean, the bathrooms (and showers with hot water) even more. Each room has a ceiling fan or/and air conditioner and comfortable big beds. The kitchen has a fridge, gas stove, microwave oven and all you may need to cook whatever you want. It is a little bit more expensive than other places around, but those other place aren't really place you would like to sleep in. Owners, Jesse and Lenee are very friendly, and there is also very cute doggy!
Absolutely would stay here again, i highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friduska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.4 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn

Property: Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Address: | just off beach front road, south side of town, Dominical, Costa Rica (Formerly Montanas de Agua)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montanas de Agua offers clean and affordable rooms in beautifully landscaped grounds at a 2 minute walk to the beach! You can choose from either modern A/C rooms with private bathroom & hot water or Cabins with fans, private bathroom with hot water and their own porch. We also offer a larger room that sleeps 5 with a kitchenette and the possibility for an adjoining room for those in larger groups. All rooms have free wifi internet access, and use of the communal kitchen if you feel like cooking for yourself! We are located at the south end of town, along the beach front road, only a 5 minute's walk from the center of town. Dominical beach has some of the most consistent surf in Costa Rica, waterfalls 10 minutes away, to the north is Nauyaca Falls and further along is Manuel Antoino Park. To the south is Diamante Waterfalls, Osa Peninsula and Corcovado National Park. Dominical is perfectly placed in the middle of a magnificent coastline, verdant green mountains and spectacular sunsets! Dominical is a laid-back beach town on the Costa Ballena popular with surfers, yoga enthusiasts and nature lovers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing