We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Close to Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Location, Close to Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at Montañas de Agua for two nights in the cabinas (not the air conditioned hotel). It was perfect. One double bed, one single. Shower bathroom with hot water. Good rate per night in high season. Hammock out front. Literally no more than a 2 minute walk to the beach. Free wifi and good reception. Self-prep kitchen. Nicely landscaped, quiet. Woke up to sounds of waves crashing: super for a couple of days' stay. Short walk to centre of town. Nice young couple running the place. If you're a traveller (not a 5-star tourist) you will enjoy this place.

Room Tip: Ask for cabinas without air conditioning (it's half the rate)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolyglotTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is very nice to get helpful info on here so other travelers can get an idea of what to expect. We'd love to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
34
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

A great place to stay. A good distance from the centre of town (I.e no noise), but very close to beach. We previously had stayed elsewhere in town, and were so happy to find this place.

Our room was clean, and the communal kitchen was great. Swear had hot water (though be careful touching the shower head).

The owners were very nice and helpful too.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WebsterSpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We're glad that you found us and enjoyed your stay here. We hope you come back and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stated here for 9 days in Jan in one of the older Cabinas for $40/nt. The cabina is clean, comfortable with private bathroom and a fan, which was sufficient for keeping cool at the time we visited. The more modern cabinas have AC but cost $55/nt.

The communal kitchen is not only a money saver, it's really social and a great place to chat and meet folks if you're a solo traveller or just fancy some company! The hosts and their family are around a lot and very conversational nice people.

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the main Dominical drag, and 5 mins from the beach but that tiny distance means its blissfully quiet in the evening whereas most other places seem to blare out music until all hrs.

We have loved our stay here and would recommend this place time and time again :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you guys enjoyed your stay with us. It's nice to hear that you liked the kitchen and took advantage of it! We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights and wished we had stayed the entire week here. It was nothing flashy, of course, but its amazing for what you pay for! This was the cheapest place out of four places we stayed in while in Costa Rica and yet this was still the best. Jesse, who manages the place, is also extremely helpful whenever we asked him questions and helped us find great authentic places to eat in the town. I have already recommended this place to several friends I know who are going or who have been thinking of going to Costa Rica. Also, get breakfast and/or smoothies from across the road and you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate hearing about your experience and feedback. We wish you had stayed with us for your whole time too! Maybe next time. Until then take good care and thank you very much for telling your friends about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Perfect quiet place with a short walk into town. The rooms are clean and the communal kitchen is a bonus. Loved the courtyard to sit and talk to staff and other guests after coming back from the beach. Best coffee just across the road. Great town to relax and make instant friends!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you back down here again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

My friend and I reserved 2 rooms by email and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spotless in the main new building where we stayed. The wifi internet signal was strong. It is within walking distance of everything, the beach is a 3 minute walk away and there was no noise at night. The room had a/c, the nice quiet mini-split type, but it was not needed. I just used the criling fans. The water pressure and temp of the shower was awesome. There is a communal kitchen but we were just staying one night. The friendly owners live on site and have a language school. Right across the street is a small restaurant and down the street are 2 or 3 more places to eat. The location is not in the center of town which made it more quiet and it is on a dead end so no traffic noise. The walk to town and the hopping places is 5-10 minutes max along the beach road or into "town". Great find.

Room Tip: I had the end room to the right upstairs as you face the main building. Solid concrete walls so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thanks so much for the great review! It is really useful and helps people get an idea for local area as well! I hope we get to see you guys down here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Located two minuts walk from the beach of dominical
Loundry services are right next to the place
realy nice couple are runing the place
The place is clean and well maintain and i feel that i got the right valeu for my money
Will recomend my friends to visit .

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to providing you with another comfortable stay again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn

Property: Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Address: | just off beach front road, south side of town, Dominical, Costa Rica (Formerly Montanas de Agua)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montanas de Agua offers clean and affordable rooms in beautifully landscaped grounds at a 2 minute walk to the beach! You can choose from either modern A/C rooms with private bathroom & hot water or Cabins with fans, private bathroom with hot water and their own porch. We also offer a larger room that sleeps 5 with a kitchenette and the possibility for an adjoining room for those in larger groups. All rooms have free wifi internet access, and use of the communal kitchen if you feel like cooking for yourself! We are located at the south end of town, along the beach front road, only a 5 minute's walk from the center of town. Dominical beach has some of the most consistent surf in Costa Rica, waterfalls 10 minutes away, to the north is Nauyaca Falls and further along is Manuel Antoino Park. To the south is Diamante Waterfalls, Osa Peninsula and Corcovado National Park. Dominical is perfectly placed in the middle of a magnificent coastline, verdant green mountains and spectacular sunsets! Dominical is a laid-back beach town on the Costa Ballena popular with surfers, yoga enthusiasts and nature lovers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing