We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Still the best burgers in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Refuge - CLOSED

The Refuge
Cuisines: American, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Rogers, AR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Still the best burgers in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just visited CR for the 5th time and for the 5th time we HAD to eat at the Refuge! Burgers are GREAT! Service and staff are GREAT! What more can I say. You MUST eat here if you like good burgers!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mckillip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not Open again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have reviewed this place before and tried to give the burger place another chance. AGAIN they were not open! I would like to eat there but not going to keep trying. Hard to believe they stay in business.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
“yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stopped by here after having been sun burnt at the beach. We were doing a yoga retreat and cleanse but we cheated and ate your deliciious crispy french fries !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest IL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really good burgers for any location much less Dominical. The variety was really good and they had some usual choices. No alcohol to sip with your burger but don't let that hold you back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephenP783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The burgers are huge and served to your liking, and the smoothies are great and filling as well. Located right across from the beach, the location is ideal if you want to grab something and continue enjoying the beach. Only dislike is the speed of the service. It was quite slow when the restaurant is packed (every table was full) and our meal took hours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joumana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refuge also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing