We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Burgers!”
Review of The Refuge - CLOSED

The Refuge
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The BEST Burgers!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was strongly suggested that our family make it a point to eat at The Refuge in Dominical, Costa Rica during our visit last month. Mouths watering, we made an attempt the 2nd day - Sunday - only to discover they were closed Sundays & Mondays during the "off" season. But on Wednesday after a rocky beach swim we showered off using their facilities and ordered 4 appetizing sounding burgers. We were also advised to not go hungry - anywhere - as service takes a while. Totally worth the wait! Oh boy! They were HUGE, served with good fries and secret sauces - all delicious! They are truly the BEST burgers in Dominical - maybe anywhere! Mucho gusto!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WWF25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Never Open - No Church please”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have tried to eat there on four separate times and this place is never open! When it was open on my last trip there had some kind of church service? If I wanted to go to church I would find a church to attend not a restaurant! Keep the two separate! Your god might not be mine!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Notch Burgers and Smoothies; Wifi available”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Echoing many of the recent posts, The Refuge still has some hearty, delicious burgers. The burgers are large so you may want to split them with someone else. The smoothies/batidos are also very cold and refreshing (mango and tropical mix fruit are some of our favorites). Just be patient, the make everything to order so it takes a little time to get your food -- enjoy the sounds of the beach. Wifi is available upon request.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best burger hands down!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the best burger I have ever had hands down! Even my favorite place in the States does not hold a candle to this! I had at least a bite of four kinds of burgers and they were all fantabulous!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, AR
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“STILL the best burgers around!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I just visited the Refuge for the fouth time. We have been to Costa Rica 4 times. We found this jewel on our first trip and now it is a MUST every time we visit!! I cannot say enough about this place! The burgers are out of this world! Big enough to share but I usually eat the whole thing!!! Very messy though!! :) The staff is great! Very friendly! The atmosphere is very relaxed and laid back. We will visit each and every time we visit Costa Rica! Thank you!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mckillip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refuge also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing