We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Danyasa Eco-Retreat - Bamboo Yoga Play Studio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Dominical, Costa Rica, our retreat oasis lies just two minutes from the beach and warm Pacific Ocean, at the base of rain-forested mountains where the Baru River meets the sea. Home to the gorgeous Bamboo Yoga Play studio, Danyasa offers yoga, dance, movement workshops, retreats and teacher trainings, as well as accommodations , adventure tours, healing mentoring and bodywork and rest and relaxation in general. We invite you to open to experience the abundant creative life force which naturally wants to move through us!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Great classes, a spectacular studio, excellent teachers and a seriously fantastic gift shop, this place has it all. Take Sofiah's class then finish up with a pipa from Juan across the street.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yogaplay, Owner at Danyasa Eco-Retreat - Bamboo Yoga Play Studio, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
THank you Celia....was so wonderful to have you here with us!
I am about to teach right now...i will think of you and send you blessings from costa rica to Brooklyn!

See you next time....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominical, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bamboo Yoga Play is like stepping into a healing sanctuary”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stepping into Bamboo YogaPlay is like stepping into a healing sanctuary. What
better place to do yoga, dance, and receive massages than an open-air studio
made of bamboo and surrounded by jungle. (It is very likely you will hear iguanas
running on the roof and geckos "chirping" during class).

Bamboo YogaPlay is conveniently located off the main, unpaved street of
Dominical. It is easy to find and access. Dominical is a travel-friendly town in
which single travelers can easily make new friends, with its high end container rooms for rent. Dominical is home to the
annual Envision Festival—showcasing music, art, dance, yoga, permaculture,
creativity, and self-expression (www.envisionfestival.com).

Sofiah Thom (co-owner of Bamboo YogaPlay along with husband Brendan
Jaffer) is a visionary who leads from her heart and inspires others to share their
gifts. Her motto, "to live artfully", is encouraged through her classes, her energy,
and in the unique collection of clothing and accessories in her studio's eclectic
boutique. The boutique will change your idea of what “typical” yoga wear is,
carrying a variety of eco friendly, playful designs with amazing tribal cuts that are
designed for comfort as well as fashion.

The teachers at Bamboo YogaPlay are full of metta, joyful, and sharing. We were
fortunate to teach and share our gift of Koha Yoga (www.kohayoga.com) Bodywork, flying yoga classes, and host a successful “I Can Fly” retreat at this beautiful studio.  Maybe next time we all can fly together.

For more information on Bamboo YogaPlay please visit www.bambooyogaplay.com

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kohayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro, Panama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bamboo YogaPlay is a beautiful sancutary of BLISS right in the heart of Dominical!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I am so thankful for the time I spent at Bamboo YogaPlay! The classes were amazing and left me feeling the most centered, grounded, connected and open that I have felt in a long time! Sofiah is a beautiful goddess dancer, instructor and business owner! Her classes are really amazing and the other instructors and workshop leaders she brought in were fabulous. I received a great bodywork session while I was there and loved the whole vibe of the place - great music and great energy. The Bambootique (cutest name ever) is the studio's storefront room and it has some of the coolest things I've found in central america- I wanted to buy everything in the place! I highly recommend attending any of the classes, workshops and special events that Bamboo is hosting! Thanks for such a memorable experience! I can't wait to come back again some day!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank sbkramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great yoga, Great Instructors, Great Facility”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

My wife and I took yoga classes 3 mornings this past week, 2 with Sophia and 1 with Wisteria. While the style was different than what we practice back home, Sophia and Wisteria were great and my wife and I feel that it expanded our study of yoga. During our third class, there were only ourselves and 1 other couple in the room, so Sophia did some "couple" poses that were fun and different. Except for the occasional truck going down the road the studio was great - clean and airy. A bathroom and shower is available. We will definitely be back.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank VTXMatt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suiza
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I was looking for a place to practice yoga and relax a week close to the beach and nature. That place I found at Bamboo Yoga Play. The location is absolutely beautiful, you feel at home at the rooms and the outdoor shower is just heaven. A little paradise at the relaxing place Dominical. And the yoga lessons are just outstanding and at a perfect place.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeleine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danyasa Eco-Retreat - Bamboo Yoga Play Studio also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Danyasa Eco-Retreat - Bamboo Yoga Play Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing