We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We HAVE to come back!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Las Rocas, The Monkey House and Casa Eclectica from the pool deck Sunrise at Shelter From the Storm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Villa Las Rocas, The Monkey House and Casa Eclectica from the pool deck
Sunrise at Shelter From the Storm
Villa La Cuesta
La Cuesta, Bedroom
Wide angle of The Monkey House
Las Rocas Arriba kitchen/salon and terrace
Baja Las Rocas compact but complete
Las Rocas Arriba bedroom with a fantastic view!
down the road to the pool/rancho area
pool rancho from the upper entrance
Honor bar with satellite TV, DVD's and music
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
heacockb
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We HAVE to come back!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We arrived at Shelter From The Storm on my birthday and from the beginning I knew it was going to be wonderful. This is hands down the best maintained resort property we've ever stay at! We didn't get there until almost 9pm and it had been dark since 6. Daryl and Donna were there to greet us with pork barbeque and beer. Our friends stayed in La Questa and we had the Monkey House. We loved the beauty of the property and the views. Daryl and Donna arranged for all of our activities; ziplines, scuba and snorkling and horseback riding to a mountain waterfall. Their attention to detail was astounding. We were only there for a total of 6 days, and yet our stay was wonderful. We particularly liked the fact that the Monkey House is up high and the the breezes made airconditioning unnecessary. What a paradise! I can't recommend Shelter From the Storm enough!!!

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts, Daryl and Donna
Liked least: We should have stayed longer!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb T
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the Best vacations we have ever had”
Reviewed January 17, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Our stay at Shelter from the Storm was truly an experience we will not soon forget. We woke up every morning to a sunrise with a view worth much more than a million dollars and to the sound of a jungle awakening. Everyday we relaxed poolside or just enjoyed quiet time after a busy day of activities in our villa. Daryl and Donna where the best hosts you could possibly imagine they looked after booking our excursions, making sure we had everything we needed by making dinner reservations at anyone of the fine local dining establishments when we didn't feel like cooking in. Daryl even gave us some of the best fireworks we have seen on New Years Eve overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We will be back soon...Barb Brett and Bronte

Date of stay: January 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but the view was outstanding
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury
Reviewed December 12, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Date of stay: December 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AHueNC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shelter From The Storm is a rare gem in a gorgeous country.”
Reviewed September 22, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Daryl and Donna truly went above and beyond to make our stay an incredible one. Not only did they provide excellent accommodations, but they also enriched every other aspect of our stay with their hospitality and knowledge of the area. It's rare to come across hosts like this, they cared very much that we were enjoying our time in Costa Rica and did whatever they could to help coordinate our daily adventures with the local tour companies. They were very attentive to any need or request that we presented to them, making us feel as though we were family. Upon our arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to find a welcome basket with local fruit, coffee, and other items. The villas were clean, quiet, and comfortable. Having breakfast each morning, watching the sunrise and hearing the jungle come to life, all while sitting at our outdoor dining room table was a perfect way to start each day. If you get the chance to have one of Daryl's world-famous margaritas, be sure not to miss it. Winding down in the evenings while sitting next to their open-air bar was a great way to end an adventurous day.

You will not regret booking your vacation in Costa Rica at Shelter From The Storm!!!!

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to see monkeys, toucans, gecko's, etc. at SFTS
Liked least: nothing - zero compliants
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewed September 22, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Date of stay: August 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego
Reviewed August 30, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed August 1, 2011 for a stay in September 2010

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing