We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Retreat in Paradise”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Las Rocas, The Monkey House and Casa Eclectica from the pool deck Sunrise at Shelter From the Storm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Villa Las Rocas, The Monkey House and Casa Eclectica from the pool deck
Sunrise at Shelter From the Storm
Villa La Cuesta
La Cuesta, Bedroom
Wide angle of The Monkey House
Las Rocas Arriba kitchen/salon and terrace
Baja Las Rocas compact but complete
Las Rocas Arriba bedroom with a fantastic view!
down the road to the pool/rancho area
pool rancho from the upper entrance
Honor bar with satellite TV, DVD's and music
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
costajill
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Retreat in Paradise”
Reviewed July 22, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

What a fantastic gem with a vista of the most beautiful and wild coast in Costa Rica's Southern Zone. Superb accommodations and hosts. So beautiful and comfortable. Every amenity available. Easy to get to wonderful attractions - beach. surfing, waterfalls, etc. I give Shelter from the Storm the highest recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view and accommodation
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
Reviewed May 17, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia, USA
Reviewed April 15, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed April 7, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ialbert
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Best rental I ever had”
Reviewed April 6, 2011 for a stay in December 2010

We had a great trip to Costa Rica with a large extended family an experience that was made even more enjoyable by our stay at the Shelter from the Storm.

Donna and Daryl have been great hosts and are kind and caring individuals that we remember fondly many months after the trip. The true test of a host are in their reactions to unexpected problems or situations that might arise and when we lost a members credit card they have immediately leaped to action and tracked down for us the bank that could provide the information that we needed. In the end the card was not recovered yet it was very comforting to know that we had someone to rely on in a foreign country.

We had small children 3 and 5 with us who had a great time in the pool and even got to take home an inflatable toy that they got attached to (thank you Daryl). We liked the pristine grounds and well kept surroundings (beautiful gardens and friendly staff!).

It was a great place to go to and we hope to visit again! I hope that in the world where mega corporations build huge all-inclusive hotels and sprawling compounds a place like the SFTS will continue to provide a serene, close and personal experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontierk...
WY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb, fabulous... aaaahhhhhh....”
Reviewed April 6, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

We (two couples) shared Villa Las Rocas... my husband and I had the upper villa, our friends stayed in the lower. The views were fabulous, Darryl and Donna are wonderful hosts, provided us with detailed directions for SFTS and to other locations - we had an absolutely fabulous time! The Villa Las Rocas Arriba was well stocked and very well decorated, extremely comfortable - perfect for the time we spent in the Dominical/Uvita area. We strongly recommend Shelter from the Storm for your next vacation. Thank you!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanman415
Boston
1 review
“Truly a shelter from the everyday storms”
Reviewed March 31, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

We stayed a week with Donna and Daryl at these lovely Vacation villas and really loved it. First finding the place was easy with the explicit directions and after traveling around Costa Rica (which can be a little challenging) we were welcomed by both our hosts and a great welcoming cocktail. The place is excellent and very secluded, three separate houses one of which houses two units. Convenient for families with kids especially a teenage daughter who had her own place to stay and sleep. We stayed in Villa la Questa and family stayed in Villa los Rocas both units. The construction and decorating is wonderful and the units are very comfortable and private which helps when privacy and rest is required.
We really enjoyed our coffee on the great balconies while listening to the howler monkeys and toucans in the mornings. The common area by the pool with self service bar is fantastic and we felt right at home in the tasteful jungle feel bar area with great bamboo ceiling, satellite T.V. and overhead fans. Lounging by the pool is comfie and private and WIFI is available all around the common area. The only challange was the hills which are a bit steep but fine, but the elderly might have trouble. I found it very cool how we were perched on the hillside and really felt a part of the jungle. Parking is great in the covered area and the available laundry was a welcome addition when traveling in the jungle areas. All in all I found the experience wonderful and restful.
The nearby town of Dominical offers a little nightlife and funky kind of retro surfer feel and some great food and surfside shopping albeit quite limited. But the ice cream joint was welcome and we visited several times.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing