We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap joint”

Bar y Restaurante El Coco
Ranked #18 of 45 Restaurants in Dominical
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Central American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great cheap joint”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had dinner here with my family of 4.
Great spot close to the beach, no windows so no problem with smoking people.
Extended menu and dead cheap prices on food and drinks.

As I wouldn't test too hard freshness of food here, we all had the typical casado, which was cheap and great!!!!

Really enjoyed this place as it was a relief from all those pricey restaurants in CR, especially on the southern Pacific coast

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lebeauceronintrépide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    61
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Don't order the ceviche....
We were sick for two days, one bathroom...
The service was friendly and the setting was pretty but the food poisoning brings my rating down.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent food, great arroz con pollo”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

clean place, nice ocean view and certainly feels authentic. Food is decent, but they did have the best arroz con pollo I've had in Dominical and I think I've tried them all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Food was awesome, view spectacular and the iguana coming out of the tree was an added attraction! Food for the whole family!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We love to eat here after a day at the beach. Good food, and batidos (smoothies). Good service and good prices!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar y Restaurante El Coco also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar y Restaurante El Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing