We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Do not miss this experience!”
other traveler has booked this property
This could be you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This could be you!
Now this is what you call open air living No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This could be you!
Now this is what you call open air living
No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything
From the living room
Breezes and views from everywhere
Casual kitchen dining
Dining for six, watch out for hummingbirds and butterflies passing through
Precious hardwood bar
Master suite #1 with exotic hardwood ceiling
Nicely appointed master suite #2
See and listen to the beauty around you from the showers
Custom carved limestone sink/countertop in bath #1
Custom coral countertop/shower in master bath #2
View towards the west
Hammock view
You have arrived in paradise!
Sunrise from your bedroom or living room
Tropical sunsets from pool
Sunset reflection
Tarzan the sloth hanging 8' over the deck
Tarzan the sloth
Fiery billed aracari
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
698Steve
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not miss this experience!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a "1 of a kind" property that puts you in a private, lush surounding that makes you feel a part of it. You can open the entire first floor, and all the house including private baths, to further the "at one" with nature experience. I will say no more so you can choose and then say " now we know what the Yaun Family was talking about". Everyone involved in this operation from Reillys the owners, to Donna the manager and last but not least Joiner the caretaker are wonderful human beings who made this the Yauns Dream Vacation. Thank you all so much! We Will Be Back! Oh, stay at least a week! We have a home on a beautiful white sand beach and still did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: open air design
Liked least: did not stay long enough, only 8 days
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2014
Thanks Steve and Tina. Glad we had a spot open for you in your busy schedule.
J&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewed April 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2014
Thanks you guys! Thanks for enjoying Flying Toucans so much.
:) John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
san antono
Reviewed March 19, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2014
Thanks Neven. Great to know it even exceeded your expectations. We look forward to you coming back again. J&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ehipres
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yes, it is all that.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Flying Toucans has so many positive reviews; I feel I would be beating a dead horse to simply list what everyone else has already written. Especially when you consider they are all true. Yes, Flying Toucans lives up to the hype. Rarely do you find a place that does, but everything there was amazing. My wife, sister, brother-in-law and I went February 1 – 8, 2014.

The house is as described. It is beautiful and is perfect for two couples (or one couple). It is very private and secure. There is covered parking and a lockable entry gate. You cannot see another neighbor, and you feel like you have the jungle to yourself. We saw amazing wildlife while lounging around the villa, from monkeys to toucans to a million butterflies. Though we did not get to see a sloth, there was always a parade of wildlife to keep us entertained.

The layout of the house works very well. The kitchen, outdoor living area and pool are seamlessly integrated. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking and preparing cocktails of choice. The bedrooms are upstairs and each is large with an amazing bathroom. There was no need for us to “flip” for the best bedroom, as both were great.

The view is unbelievable from anywhere. Yes, you will find yourself staring at it, completely lost in your own world.

Darryl and Donna were great. They helped us with everything we asked for and provided us with great tips on what to do, see and eat.

We didn’t venture out much, so I am really not one to comment about excursions and such. We just hung around the villa and enjoyed the view, each other’s company and the wildlife. That being said, Café Exotica was great, and Road Shack has amazing sandwiches.

We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Thanks Eric and Stephanie for choosing Flying Toucans. We are always excited for our guests when they book knowing what they will find and then hearing that they found it even better than they thought! Hope you can visit again some day, :) John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint Idaho
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2014
So glad you guys finally made it to CR after waiting so many years! Now you know why we prefer it over other tropical destinations we've been to. I thought that was so interesting that you said in an email that your diabetes count went down so much by just being relaxed at FT., Hope it stays down now that you are back home.
:) John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed December 27, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2013
Thanks Winston and Catherine for staying with us. You are so polite and respectful and young! Wish I had first seen Flying Toucans at your age. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed December 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2013
Thanks Jonathon for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words. When we lived in Dominical we enjoyed meeting our guests in person, but now living back in the US we miss having that opportunity. It too was a privilege to meet you wonderful Texans (my wife's family is from there) and we're so glad you enjoyed the beauty of Flying Toucans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing