We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good people, Cold Beer, and Great Surf”
Review of Que Nivel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Que Nivel
Ranked #10 of 13 Dominical B&B and Inns
NaecoSurf7
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good people, Cold Beer, and Great Surf”
Reviewed March 21, 2009

If my heading doesnt explain it, i dont know what else you could ask for in a place to stay. Que nivel was one of highlights of my two month backpacking excursion through Costa. The rooms were clean, with great beds, hot water, great food in the restaurant, and best of all surf racks in every room. The Bar is one of the hot spots in town with its weekly DJ and live music performances meeting people was not a problem. Its a great place to stay traveling alone or in a group. Not only were other guests awesome, but the staff and hotel owner herself could not have been cooler and more helpful. Located across the street from the infamous heavy wave of Dominical beach break it is truely paradise. If you are heading to Dominical you have to check this place out!! Safe Travels and Pura Vida.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaecoSurf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    2
    1
    7
See reviews for
2
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liquidsilver96
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed in Dominical for 4 days at the end of our Costa Rica Trip. We came in a Bus from Quepos and had a bit of a hard time finding the hotel until we asked a local. In reality Domincal is so small we could have walked the entire town in 5 minutes and found it ourselves.

We had the Green room at first, but he toilet broke, and we were switched into the Blue room at the far end of the hotel. We would later be very grateful for this move. The rooms were great, nice beds, lots of storage space. The shower is definately the nicest feature, wish I had on in my house. We had one of the NON A/C rooms but with the windows open at night the room was plenty cool.

During the day we could hang out on the porch and we had a hommock next to our window. The staff could always be found, though they were in Thruster most of the time and not the office.

The reason we were glad we got the second room is thrusters generally plays music from around 11am until 1am. It is a bit loud and with the windows open could get annoying to someone. It never bothered us much, but could be a problems for families with kids.

Overall I loved the place and would stay there again in a second.

  • Liked — The rooms where great
  • Disliked — Some loud music
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Liquidsilver96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

I go to Costa Rica once a year to surf. I always end up in Dominical. I thought I had stayed everywhere there, until I noticed Que Nivel. I stayed there and found out that not only do they have affordable prices but they are the best place to stay in Dominical.
I found brand new everything, from mattresses to bathrooms. The showers are really cool its like showering outside. They even have a water heater and not those tico death showers. The rooms are done by color. I stayed in the Blue room. They also have surfboard racks so my bros and I had a place to put our boards.
This place has the best food too! I had almost everything on their menu and it was all awesome.

  • Liked — The unique style
  • Disliked — That they were not around last time I was there
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ECsurf39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I was backpacking through Costa Rica and came across a newly renovated hotel/bar/restaurant called Que Nivel. Formerly known as Thrusters, the rooms were completely renovated. The beds were the most comfortable I experienced in Costa Rica. The room had a board rack for surfers like me, and the bathrooms were incredible. It was different, well thought out, and a great price.

  • Liked — The style of the rooms.
  • Disliked — Realizing I paid the same price for lesser accomodations on my trip.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chaser44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Que Nivel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Que Nivel

Property: Que Nivel
Address: Dominical 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Que Nivel - The coolest restaurant/bar/hotel in Dominical, Costa Rica and probably the entire planet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Que Nivel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing